Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
2-6
Public
Murfreesboro, TN
Students enrolled: 379

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mitchell Neilson 5

Posted August 09, 2013
- a community member
Mitchell Neilson Elementary is a great place to learn new things. My experience there was great, and the teachers were very good at getting to know the students. I surely do miss my years back at Mitchell Neilson Elementary. Now it is time for my younger siblings to enjoy all of what Mitchell Neilson Elementary has to offer.

Mitchell Neilson 5

Posted October 15, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attended this school from 3rd to 6th grade. The principal, Mr. Lyles makes it a point to remember every childs name. My daughter is now in 11th grade. While registering my son for 3rd grade, Mr. Lyles asked my son if he had an older sister, named Hannah. When a principal takes the time to know every child's name in his school, tells me he is interested in every child's progress. I'm confused as to why one would feel they treat black students differently, being that Mr. Lyles is black.


Mitchell Neilson 4

Posted November 10, 2008
- a parent
I really like mitchell neilson and my 3rd grader loves the school teacher and what the school has to offer.

Mitchell Neilson 5

Posted May 04, 2005
- a parent
I am not sure what the other person meant by 'black parents' being treated differently since the principle AND vice principle are both black. Anyway, our son started attending this school this year and we love it! His teacher is a God-send. She has a genuine concern for her class. They have a wonderful music program with an awesome teacher. The ticket program is a great idea and really works! Our son has flourished at this school because of the guidance of the teachers and other staff. We are very happy with this school and plan to allow all of our children to attend here when they are old enough.

Mitchell Neilson 2

Posted February 28, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mitchell Neilson 1

Posted January 24, 2005
- a parent
We do not like this school. We throught that it would be student and parent centered. The parents are not welcomed. The principal seems to have no intrest in parental involvement. Teacher look down on you if you do not have what they think you should hve. We are very dicouraged with this school. Our child will not attend next year and our other children will never attend.

Mitchell Neilson 1

Posted January 21, 2005
- a parent
this school does not care about the parent. I feel that the principal is not fair to all parents. I am of the white race and i have seen blacks get treated less than they deserve. I feel that this school is going down hill. the ticket program has made my child hate going to school. She has never been in trouble for anything and this school has torn down her self esteem. I will not allow my child and others children to attend next year

Mitchell Neilson 5

Posted December 16, 2004
- a parent
This school is small, well-disciplined and lead by a wonderful principal, Mr. Lyles. The faculty are dedicated and caring. My child gets a wonderful, small-school experience. Food is terrific, too. It cares for every child as if he or she were the only child. I love this atmosphere of learning. And, the office staff always has a kind word and a quick hello for me.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mitchell Neilson
711 Clark Bl, Murfreesboro, TN  37129
(615) 890-7841
Last modified Mitchell Neilson is a Public school that serves grades 2-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mitchell Neilson Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top