Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Pittard Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
Having 2 sons that attended JPE over an 8 year period and both with learning differences, our family's experience has been and continues to be positive. In most schools, there are educators and staff that have challenges interacting with parents and students. As a parent, I gave respect, demanded the same for my sons and received it in return from some of the most challenging personalities on staff. At JPE, I've consistently had advocates (Angels) willing to petition for my children's well being and care for both in my absence. My interactions with Mrs. Barton have greatly improved and I give her credit as one of many JPE team members that tailored successful educational plans for my sons! Both boys are excelling, knowledgable and confident thanks to the John Pittard Elementary staff.

John Pittard Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
The majority of the teachers are effective, though there are 2 teachers, new and tenured that have difficulty stepping out of their teaching boxes and needed my infuence or accountability. The others are phenominal!


John Pittard Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
The amount is manageable and allows my child to have time in the afternoon. The amounts vary per semester.

John Pittard Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
In grades 3 to 6, teachers encourage determination and stamina that last beyond elementary school. My older son leaped from Cs and a few Bs in the 3rd grade to all As in the 7th grade. Now that's a turnaround based on JPE encouraged stamina!

John Pittard Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
My child has autism and his teachers/staff encourages inclusion by his peers. My son feels loved and supported by his classmates. When issues arise, usually they are addressed by the staff.


John Pittard Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 22, 2016
- a parent
I've not had an experience that encourages dishonesty and questionable action s of integrity. There are challenges at times, but noneven that influence negative behavior or decreased trust.

John Pittard Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2015
- a parent
This is an excellent school. I've lived and had my son in schools around the country. They are great at welcoming everyone and incorporating all kids into the class rooms. I love the teachers

John Pittard Elementary School 1

Posted November 25, 2014
- a community member
This school isn't that bad it's just ran by an unprofessional Principle who don't have any respect for parents. Ms. Barton needs to be fired.


John Pittard Elementary School 1

Posted November 06, 2014
- a parent
This school is very nasty and dirty, look at the doors as you enter the school they haven't been cleaned for months. When I take my kids to school at 8 am these doors are filthy their not being cleaned and my son is constantly getting sick. I'm calling the Health Dept.

John Pittard Elementary School 2

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
My son attended kindergarten and half year of first grade. The kindergarten year was awful, mostly due to an inexperienced closed minded teacher and a principal that does not respect parents. I had to file a complain with the department of education, because they were threatening with retaining my child if I did not do as they say, even though my son was academically on target for his grade. I got a call from the Murfreesboro city school district, I was told that the teacher and principal didn't follow the school district retention policy and that they could not retain a child based on social skills. First grade experience was different. This time he got a great teacher with 20 years of experience and who truly enjoys teaching and thankfully we didn't have to deal with the principal. Another reason I give this school such a low rating is because the ladies at the front office are rude to parents and as other reviewer said, you want to appear upper middle class, other wise the school staff wont show any respect for you.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Pittard Elementary School
745 Dejarnette Lane, Murfreesboro, TN  37130
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (615) 893-2313
Last modified John Pittard Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top