Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northfield Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2014

My son transferred from John Pittard to Northfield. I would rate Northfield 10 out of 10. I love their teachers, principal and ESP staff. The school is more like a small family than a school. My son got so much help from his 2nd grade teacher Mrs. Miller who went above and beyond to get him on track and partnering with me to ensure that he got everything he needs. Dr. Lloyd the principal is always out greeting parents in the morning, EVERY Morning and the kids love him. I have seen my son run up to him and hug him some mornings. I am so sad to leave Northfield due to the rezoning but I feel they are the best school my son has ever attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2014

My sons transferred to this school last fall, & overall we've had a great experience. They both had excellent teachers & are excited to return in the fall. The principal is welcoming & seems to have a great rapport with the staff. My only complaint is the communication, as there were times I was unaware of events in the school. However, this may be a result of my son "forgetting" to get notes in his bag/folder.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

My son absolutely loves this school. The faculty and staff are very friendly and truly care about the students. They are strict on rulesof entering the building, which assures me of my child's safety while he is at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2013

I have had children in Northfield Elementary school for 4 years. The school population diverse, a snap shot of "real life." My young children have quickly learned how not everyone is alike and that differences are okay! The teachers are kind and hardworking. The principal is accessible and is often seen in the halls or working the car rider line. I feel safe with my children at this school and know that they are in wonderful hands when they are away from home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

These people do not care about children. When trying to enroll my children in this school, I had to keep my children home for a few days instead of letting them attend because the school informed me that they cannot enroll children without physicals from the doctor's office. I was told that they couldn't admit them while waiting on the paperwork to be faxed because (and I'm quoting school officials), "we need those papers, what if there's something wrong with your kids? We could be sued, if they get hurt. We can't let them attend without having seen a physician's physical. It's school board policy." That doesn't sound like a place "where kids come first". That sounds like all they care about is a lawsuit. I have a 30 year mortgage within walking distance of the school, and I dread the next several years of sending my children to this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

I have nothing but great things to say about this school. Starting with the leadership of the principal, then the teachers, and the after school program as well. Northfield has shined with great promise. I would suggest that parents allow their children to take part in the ESP program for their children to help nurture the child even further in their learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great teachers, and a good learning enviroment! kids love the scholl
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2009

Unfortunately, our experience was not very good. A multitude of behavior problems in our class made learning difficult and our teacher frustrated. The curriculum levels were geared towards children at the bottom. There are no gifted identified at this school; those identified and many high achievers have moved to Discovery School. We know many families who have become frustrated with this school & moved to Erma Siegel zone or choose private, home school, magnet, or county over Northfield.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2009

Unfortunately, our experience was not very good. A multitude of behavior problems in our class made learning difficult and our teacher frustrated. The curriculum levels were geared towards children at the bottom. There are no gifted identified at this school; those identified and many high achievers have moved to Discovery School. We know many families who have become frustrated with this school & moved to Erma Siegel zone or choose private, home school, magnet, or county over Northfield.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

My son is in 2nd grade and loves this school. The teachers and principal consider each child when deciding what class and teacher will work best for the child. Our experience at this school has been great!!! My son loves going to school and is excited to learn. I can't speak highly enough of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

We are more than happy with Northfield's admin, educators & staff! Their admin, educators & staff are top-notch! Go Knights!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I am very impressed with this school. The children are exposed to special needs students as well as gifted students. In addition, the student body is multi-cultural. This constant exposure has helped my child to be very well rounded. The teachers and administration put the children first. My child's education at Northfield Elementary has been 2nd to none!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

i have 2 kids my oldest started ther in the 1st grade and she loved it she loved all the teacher and every thing she said it was a great school and she is so happy that her lil borther is following in her foot steps they both love this school and i also do to this is 1 of the best elementary schools ther is the pirncipal is so great and so are the teachers and my kids hve and had so much fun at turkey trot and i and my kids feel safe there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

As a parent I have been disappointed in this school. Many of the teachers seem to not care if a child lags behind. The teachers & staff seem very negative towards the children & parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2004

My son attended this outstanding school for the first seven years of his academic life. Northfield is the school to send your child to if you want excellence. Children truly do come first! The very needy to the academically gifted and all children inbetween are nurtured at Northfield. The administration and the teaching staff are outstanding. We had a truly outstanding experience here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
34%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
38%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
14%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students61%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students88%
African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students56%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students62%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students87%
African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students62%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students67%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students57%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students51%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 67%
Black 26% 23%
Hispanic 8% 7%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (615) 898-7158

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

550 West Northfield Bl
Murfreesboro, TN 37129
Phone: (615) 895-7324

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mitchell Neilson
Murfreesboro, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT