Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Barfield Elementary School

Public | PK-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2014

We are finishing out our third year at Barfield and I have zero complaints. Our teachers and faculty are absolutely the best in Murfreesboro. I am lucky enough to be able to volunteer in my children's classrooms and see first hand the respect, genuine love and attention each child receives. Not only by the teachers, but the EA's, and each adult who works at BES. Mrs. Goodwin is amazing at what she does and she runs a tight ship - she backs up her teachers and supports them, but also holds them to incredibly high standards and holds them accountable if needed. I am thrilled with Barfield, and my two daughters also love their school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

i am a student that went to this school and i am now a freshman in high school. honestly, there is no other school better than this one! this school is the most amazing school you can go to! the teachers will guide you and help you through anything and everything, that you need assistance with! the principal is excellent, in every way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

This school has been a major disappointment! My children transferred from an excellent Murfreesboro school where they both excelled with very competent, engaging, and caring teachers year after year. This year we have Barfield teachers who show no concern for the children, don't acknowledge "above grade" work, and generally fail to offer any meaningful encouragement. However, they are very quick to discourage by distributing "marks" for even the slightest infraction. In fact, the whole school culture is oppressive in that absolutely anyone who has ANY interaction with a child, no matter how brief, also distributes "marks". Efforts to communicate with these teachers and the principal have been fruitless. My daughter, who came to this school reading 3 levels above her grade and attending every "good behavior" party at her previous school, is now begging to return to her previous school. I've spoken to a number of dissatisfied Barfield parents - I wish more of them would post so others would have a more balanced view. I'm sure this school has a number of caring, competent teachers, and I hope we are fortunate enough to get them next year, but school shouldn't be a carp shoot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

Me and my wife love this school. The staff is top notch and the communication is above and beyond. I only wish I had this when I was a kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2013

This school is awesome! My daughter is in the kindergarten readiness program and I can't say enough about how great this school is. There is daily communication from the teacher and the school, Mrs. Goodwin helped my daughter through a difficult time with her behavior and now she is doing great! I can't recommend it enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

Barfield, in my opinion, is not the school for your child if he/she faces special challenges outside of the plain and obvious. Their challenges may render this response: "these concerns are dealt within the classroom by the general education teacher"...the one who didn't study speech/ language disorders and pragmatics, the one who didn't study attention problems, learning disabilities, autism spectrum disorders, ADHD/ADD, dyslexia, how to help a kid that can't button their pants, hold a pencil correctly, etc. (SPED folks who did study are lacking in providing the right help). A teacher who isn't knowledgeable to accommodate your child's specific needs is the one left to address such concerns, without much guidance. Not teaching children how to apply what is learned isn't true teaching. Helping a kid make a good grade or score isn't teaching. Helping a kid learn something that they can apply in everyday life, and teaching to their specific learning style and needs is true teaching. I'm very disappointed in this school because I don't feel that the administration and the majority of it's teachers have come close to meeting my child's needs. Good luck if your child is being bullied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

My child is enrolled in this school. I am told there are 500 out of 1100 students in the Tier II program (K-5). How can this be a competent school of teachers and leadership? Basically, what children were taught last year (and so far this year) was not taught properly if almost half of the school is in Tier II in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

This is a wonderful school full of people who genuinely care about each student. Ms. Goodwin should get principal of the year...every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

Great school with great teachers who truly care about your child. Love this school. Ms. Goodwin, the principle, is wonderful. A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2011

BARFIELD is an excellent school. I have 2 boys that have been in this school, one for 5 years and one for 2 years. My oldest son is a straight A student that was part of the Spectrum program. My youngest son has food allergies and ADHD. The principal, asst. principal and all the teachers we dealt with were wonderful. They challenged my oldest son and kept him interested, and made sure my youngest had a safe environment for his food allergies. Also, if it wasn't for the help of the principal/asst. principal/teacher, we would not have been able to diagnosis, his ADHD and have a clear plan on how to provide him with the best education possible. I can't say enough about how wonderful Barfield is. We had to move to North Carolina are saddened to have to leave Barfield.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

My child has Asperegers syndrome and the staff at Barfield Elemetery couldn't be better! They have my childs best in their hearts! They have done everything they can to help my child! I had my child in a city school for kindergarden and was very unhappy! I rate Barfield 5 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

Principal Goodwin and her dedicated staff promote learning in a fun and interactive way. I have a child who competed Barfield Elemenatry last year and one who began Kindgergarten Readiness this year. We will have been at Barfield Elementary for 13 years straight when the youngest one completes 5th grade. I am thrilled with the quality of teachers and their inspiring methods of teaching as well as the administration's expection of personal responsibility and respect for all. I am proud that my children are reiceving an excellent education in a creative and safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2008

Awesome! The children are actually loved and the staff are held accountable. I believe it all starts at the top with Mrs Goodwin and her genuine love for the children and the teaching enviroment. Our daughter is/was held accountable to the curriculum and to her behavioral skills. Just when I thought that I was done with 'school', I was informed that it was noticed that I hadnt participated in a teachers conferance and a school activity! I love that the leadership believes in and is committed that the teaching process also extends into the home and that both parents should be involved. Keep up the great work!! MAKE IT a great day, Jeff and Kim Jenkins
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2008

My granddaughter has been a student at Barfield for three years and we could not be more pleased. Daily communication, webpages, and newsletters (both classroom and total school) keep parents in the loop and give them many opportunities to be involved. Barfield is the model for collaboration and creating a nurturing environment with high academic standards. Any parent who wants to know more can volunteer in the school and you'll get a whole new appreciation for what goes on there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

We moved to the Barfield community right before our son started Kindergarten. I was a little intimidated by the size of the student body, but quickly realized that the administration does a great job of making it feel more like a close-knit community than a large school. On top of that, we had a teacher who very much cared about all of her 'kids' and paid close attention to their development (thank you, Mrs. Pittenger!) We ended up putting our son in kindergarten for a second year because he needed more time to mature. Without our teacher's insight, we would not have thought to consider an extra year. It has been the best decision we have made for out son! He is in first grade and doing fantastic, and we can't thank the people at Barfield enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

I think that Barfield is a wonderful school. My son attended Kindergarten there. We are now moving and selling our home in Indian Hills and we will miss the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2007

Barfield is the best school for your children. They have many activities,programs,and all the fun stuff for your kids to be educated. Whenever my child comes home from school at Barfield there is always a smile on her face.Making my child happy is the best thing that can happen to me.Barfield is where my child had the most friends.But even though now that she is in 5th grade going on 6th,we'll never forget that school no matter what happens.All that I'm saying is Barfield is the best choice of school for your children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2007

Barfield is an overcrowded school. The parking lot is horrible and dangerous to the kids and parents picking up. I have two children that attend. Teachers are very hit and miss. Two have been pretty good but three have been horrible. Academic programs are standard for a public school but you get very little communication as to what your kids are doing or need to do. Extra activities are good for a public school like music, art etc. Parents seem to be very involved and for the most part are impressive in regards to helping. Safety and discipline are a joke half the time. People can just walk in without being stopped. The school and Principal depend too much on what little kids say and do instead of communicating with parents. Be prepared to provide and pay for just about everything that your child needs,apparently some schools won't take responsiblity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

Ok school if your child does not need any special attention/special education services. Classrooms are large and teachers can not pay attention to individual students. Special education services are severely lacking. If your child needs special education services, you would be better off with the Murfreesboro City schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2006

I think Barfield is a wonderful school!It is very safe with dismissel.Both of my kid's teachers are absolutly great.My kids attended private school until recently.This public school feels like a private school.I would reccomend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students66%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students85%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students72%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students80%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
African American58%
Asian83%
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students77%
African American68%
Asian75%
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students82%
African American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 67%
Black 9% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

350 Barfield Crescent Rd
Murfreesboro, TN 37128
Phone: (615) 904-3810

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Rutherford Academy
Murfreesboro, TN





Cason Lane Academy
Murfreesboro, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT