Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riverdale High School

Public | 9-12 | 2134 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Riverdale is a decent school. I went to Oakland before hand and switch to Riverdale my junior year. People wise, RHS is great. Everyone is friendly and so is the faculty. It is very laid back, unlike Oakland. I enjoy is here socially. But, on the academics side, it is very very lacking. I took IB at Oakland and am now in AP at Riverdale, and I can say AP is a huge joke. My Advanced Honors classes are more educational than AP. The Spanish department is great. I can say at Riverdale my education has down graded from Oakland. I have not learned much here and I feel that has greatly impacted my feelings towards public highschool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2012

Currently, I am a senior at Riverdale. I have been attending this school for 4 years and am very impressed by it. Yes, the school helps fund athletics, but it has also helped to improve the school throughout. You can actually get a fantastic education while having a lot of school spirit. They offer so many accelerated classes that prepare students for college and all the teachers I have had have actually wanted to see students succeed and learn. I highly recommend that students attend this school, take several of the advanced courses, and participate in a few of the many clubs/sports they offer. Personally, I have been in 7 different clubs/sports, taken at least 14 Honors/AH/AP courses, and will have around 14 college credit hours when I graduate. Truly, the people who are saying the school is just about sports are wrong because I am walking proof that you can get a good education out of going there if you just sign up for the right courses.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2009

I went to Riverdale for two years, switched over to Blackman and realized I did much better academically at Riverdale, so I came back for my senior year. Plus, I had a tight-knit set of friends I wanted to keep here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

The facility there makes the school amazing. Mr Nolan is the best principal becauses he's nice and acts like your best friend. The school itself wasn't strict which is what makes student enjoy it more. I never had a teacher I didn't like and every teacher I had, I loved because I was able to connect with them. The athletic department is one of the best! all the teams are competitive and amazing at what they do! Overall, I loved my time at RHS and the programs they had to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

We have a great student body and a wonderful principal who really cares about our students. The pep rallies are the best in the state, possibly the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

I had four kids graduate from Riverdale in the past 10 years. None were athletes. All did very well in college. It's much more than just a football school. The arts programs are improving each year. Academics are somewhat teacher dependent but with parental involvement a great education can be obtained.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

Riverdale is the best. I'm a freshman and i love it there. the teachers are amazing! go Warriors!! :D freshman cheerleaders ROCKKK! ;P i would say if you want your kid to get a good education; send them to the home of the Warriors! but i have to say it is a very sports oriented school. but i love my sports! so.. GO WARRIORS!(:
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2009

Riverdale is home to the mighty Warriors...which, unfortunately, are no longer so mighty. It is an old, run down campus with ineffectual academics and a downright scary lack of security or discipline. The one exception is the French teacher...children actually learn French, if nothing, else in this school. If you are moving to Rutherford County (the home of the good ol' boy no diversity school board), I suggest checking out Blackman or Siegel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

Riverdale has become a much better school. The gym now has air conditioning. (thank goodness) the band room, JROTC room, and choir room were seperated. The cafeteria is much larger. RIverdale is becoming more of a sports school, instead of a football school, with help to the lady warrior basketball team in 2007. (state champs!)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2008

My son was homeschooled right up until the 9th grade. I was concerned that he would have problems in public school, but he has not because Riverdale is an outstanding school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

It is true that the school gives a large majorityof there money to the football team. The school is in high need of renovation. The cafeteria is not big enough. The Band Room is not big enough and their is no air conditioning in the gym. We like Riverdale but these are the facts. It is overpopulated. Parking is terrible disrepair. The band has a strong band booster program. But the football team and there needs come first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

I loved this school when I attended here from 2002 to 2006. The school spirit is amazing! It is an old school though, and needs improvement. The band room is not big enough(or wasn't when I attended), the auditorium isn't big enough, and the choir and JROTC rooms need to be in seperate areas from the Band room. Neither are good where they're located for practicing purposes. Also, more money is spent on the Football team than anything else. The Football team does not need new uniforms every year. What about using some of their money for the band or something else? Most teachers and Mr. Nolan are great! There are so many oportunities for learning and Mr. Nolan seems to really care about and love this school. But maybe instead of the county spending money to improve Blackman and Siegel(newer schools), they renovate Riverdale and Oakland instead.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 7, 2007

Riverdale is a wonderful school. It is famous for its school spirit for good reason. If you want a school with impressive academics, diverse classes, many extracurricular activities, and a supportive student body, then Riverdale is for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2006

Riverdale has great school spirit, wonderful leadership and an outstanding student body. As a parent, I am proud for my child to attend RHS. For those who are unaware, the football team requires each player to raise a rather large sum of money each year. In addition, the parents and grandparents, etc. who support the team, continue to raise funds all year by working the concession stands, selling ads, car washes, etc. The parent support group tries to provide for the needs of the team so they can concentrate on being the best they can be on the field and not worry about money. It is not true that the school only supports football. The school focuses on academics as well as other extracurricular activities. It is a very winning and motivating environment to be in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2006

Riverdale, is unfortunately a football high school, meaning that the majority of all funds are allocated to the athletic program. While the athletes are excellent, not very much credit is given to those students solely concentrating on their studies.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2006

great teacher support,great honors courses, fantastic parent involvement and unmatched sports program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

i think that riverdale is a great school. mr.Nolan is a great principal! riverdale's athletics are also great! im a big fan of the football team! i love riverdale because the teachers are great and they give you freedom but also they keep you in line! i highly recomment riverdale to anyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2004

This school is very good with outside of school activities. It has a nationally ranked foot ball team and other very good sports teams. The test scores in this school are great and the school spirit is very, very high. This school is a greatpart of Rutherford County and evn the state of Tennessee.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2004

I am not a parent, but I am a current student at Riverdale High. I must say that this school is not nearly the best. The faculty is mostly comprised of first year teachers who can't handle the stress of teachers who are about to retire and only come to school to collect a pay check. Do not think that I am bashing this school b/c I am a deliquent teenager, I am will in fact be graduating this year with an honors diploma. I have worked hard and alone. I as well have a unique perspective on the school b/c I moved to TN the summer before my feshman year from UT and I immeadatly saw and felt the difference and how bad the education progams were. I was not allowed to carry the high school credits I had earned in UT to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2004

This is my first year at Riverdale and I love it! All the teachers are well educated. It's a big school ,but they really have it well organized and planned. They give us freedom to be responsible ,but are still there if we ever need them. I know that I can always go to someone for help even though it's such a big school. They offer so many classes, activites,and clubs for all students. Riverdale is a WONDERFUL school and I've only been there for 4 days! Parents and kids will LOVE this school!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

505 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
51%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
31%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

569 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
64%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

556 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

505 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

410 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
41%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students75%
African American78%
Asian81%
Hispanic70%
White74%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students45%
African American20%
Asian68%
Hispanic28%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students72%
African American59%
Asian78%
Hispanic39%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students80%
African American72%
Asian88%
Hispanic61%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students69%
African American53%
Asian64%
Hispanic38%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students44%
African American30%
Asian56%
Hispanic31%
White48%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 67%
Black 17% 24%
Asian 6% 2%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (615) 890-9790

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

802 Warrior Dr
Murfreesboro, TN 37128
Phone: (615) 890-6450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rutherford Academy
Murfreesboro, TN




Stones River Academy
Murfreesboro, TN


Holloway High School
Murfreesboro, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT