Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Blackman High School

Public | 9-12 | 2199 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2014

Ms.Ford, the principle, is one of the most caring, efficient, and her staff at Blackman Elementary follow suit, I am please with the level of education my daughters have experienced since we moved into this school system 4 years ago, I would recommend this school to anyone who cares if their child is receiving a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

Amazing. This school gave me the best learning expirence I have ever had . .
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2011

I graduated from Blackman in 2005, and I am so thankful that I received an education that prepared me for college and the real world! I went to UT, and am now a grad student at MTSU getting a Masters in Teaching foreign language, and I have realized more and more how fundamental my high school education was. The sports and programs were also fantastic! I was a cheerleader and that was a great way to connect with people and it was something I was passionate about. Not to mention, it instilled discipline. Another wonderful thing about Blackman is the cohesiveness of the different groups of people.


Posted July 31, 2009

Blackman High is such a great school to go to! There are so many different clubs and extra curricular activities to chose from that allow us to make friends. The teachers are willing to help and do a fantastic job of making things clear. There's a place for everyone here. I absolutely love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2009

Well, I moved there in the middle of the year and it was not the best time..The students there have no respect for eachother.The teachers only care about TCAP and thats what they talk about all year...And the school is to caught up in there sports they for get about our education..It's not the most friendly place..
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

I love the Blackman schools! My daughter graduated for BHS in 2008 and she had lots of help from caring teachers,especially from Mrs. Stewart. Thank you to the staff at BHS you are Great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

I go to blackman its an awesome school. Its safe and fun. But at the same time educational.Without being super uptight!! lets go blaze!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2008

I love going to Blackman. It is a very nice school with a great facualty and staff. They really care about acedemics and helping each student develop a future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2008

Great exracirricular activities. Principal and staff are good. Vast majority of teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

I go to Blackman High School and its safe, fun, and educational.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 10, 2007

The AP courses offered are all taught by excellent teachers. I always look forward to the fun and different things our school offers us. And the new G-hall and band room are awesome. Plus one more minute between classes really helps. Mrs. Vick is such a hard worker and the principals all work together and get their job done! I could not have asked for a btetter high school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2007

I love Blackman High School. Everyone's great. The extra minute between classes really helps.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2006

Administration has forgotten that kids are kids. They are much too focused on punishment rather than guidance. They are unwilling to discuss circumstances and work out a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2004

While there is a double standard in how they enforce the rules in the student handbook, the teacher's are excellent and the subjects are well rounded with a wide variety of choices. The best part is the career path classes that give the student's hands on education in areas they might be interested in. This enables the students to see what that career area maybe like and if that is an area the student may want to follow up on after HS. The guidance counselors are the best and are very in touch with the students. This is a very good HS and one worth checking out for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2003

Principal doesn't relate well to students. Sometimes administration gets focused on rules rather than the students. The honors program is loaded with excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

602 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
66%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

598 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
52%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

686 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
77%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

649 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

593 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
51%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students79%
African American71%
Asian86%
Hispanic75%
White81%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities49%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students67%
African American53%
Asian76%
Hispanic53%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students79%
African American65%
Asian83%
Hispanic65%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students83%
African American73%
Asian85%
Hispanic77%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students76%
African American57%
Asian67%
Hispanic67%
White81%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities49%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students50%
African American37%
Asian33%
Hispanic50%
White53%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 67%
Black 12% 24%
Hispanic 6% 6%
Asian 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (615) 904-3851

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3956 Blaze Dr
Murfreesboro, TN 37128
Phone: (615) 904-3850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Riverdale High School
Murfreesboro, TN



Stones River Academy
Murfreesboro, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT