Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Blackman Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 1009 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2014

I like the following about Blackman Elementary: *It's clean, both inside the building and outside area. *The teachers project friendliness and professionalism at all times (when I've been there visiting or at an extra curricular event). *They seem to be technologically with the times. Projectors, computers, emails, etc for example. *They have a nice library system, where the students use a UPC bar-code system. It makes checking out books quick and easy. *The administrators have a policy where they hold parents accountable for the students. This makes sure that students both learn at the classroom and reenforces what's been taught at home as well. What I don't like about Blackman Elementary: *Art, PE, other programs that I had as a kid are not offered everyday. *The technology is present, but seems to be dated. CRT monitors, seriously? *Constant fund raising. It feels like there's one every other month. *Other than federal holidays, it's seems that there are always in-service days and a half day EVERY month.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2014

The principal Mrs.Ford is not a great principal. She is more concerned about punishment vs. guidance. Test scores vs. emotional security. The whole vs the individual. I wanted to make sure I was comfortable in who I was untrusting my 6 year old to, however he came home everyday discouraged and down trodden. Punishment like taking away recess were given away liberally instead of helping him change his behavior through other avenues. We moved here from the capital region of NY, from the best school district out if 84 school districts, from the best elementary school in the district. I realizing now why that previous school was so great because they treated each child as their own and really wanted each child to succeed. I am very disappointed, especially since we moved to this area for this school. Even the teachers don't agreed with a lot if Mrs. Ford's rules and look scared of breaking them, almost like deer in the headlights. On the other hand we are dual zoned and Overall Creek has been a Godsend. They are the exact opposite and tell you that they treat each child as their own and really love them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2014

I have visited with and had conversation with this school district staff and members of the community multiple times. I am moving from a top ten dying city in Ohio to here a top 10 growing city in multiple facets. My current school ranks a 4 from a 6. This is Suppose to rank a 9. This is our families future and last hope. This is be the right decision. Follow our progress on multiple medias. We are The Fox Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2014

Blackman Elementary is an excellent school. My children have excelled in every area of academics and they are continuously challenged to do their best. Mrs. Ford is an outstanding principal who goes above and beyond consistently. The teachers are dedicated, supportive and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2014

While our teachers have all been amazing, our experiences of Blackman Elementary have been very unsatisfying. Double standards are the norm. The school sends home generic publications about your child's healthy eating and exposure to electronic games, but apparently it's okay for the school itself to reward the children with candy (which I never have at home), Krispy Kreme donuts for A's on report cards and gift cards to eating places like Zaxby's for good behaviour - not exactly known for it's healthy choices. During TCAP, students were actually encouraged to bring electronic devices to school - why is this a good idea? This school does nothing above and beyond for your child's education. Where are the science fairs and homework projects that are standard in other schools? Parent volunteers have to leave the building by 10.30am. This is not enough time to be of much help to the teachers and it doesn't justify taking time off from other commitments only to be finished by 10.30am - by which time it is too late to do anything else of use anywhere else. Sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2014

Ms.Ford, the principle, is one of the most caring, efficient, and her staff at Blackman Elementary follow suit, I am please with the level of education my daughters have experienced since we moved into this school system 4 years ago, I would recommend this school to anyone who cares if their child is receiving a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

My grandchildren attend this school. The teachers have been great and really interested in teaching my girls. They are both well read and ready for the next grade. I was an elementary teacher or 10 years and am very pleased with this school, it's teachers, and its administrators. ,


Posted October 16, 2012

Nothing but negative to say about this school.. Principal overreacts to situations. She makes decisions based on a determination to prove a point to the parents. Wants everyone to understand (as if we don't) that she is the one who is in complete control of the school. Communication is not encouraged between parents and the school. Parents do not feel welcome. Children are treated like little robots. They are not encouraged to be themselves but rather made to feel that they must conform and fit into the mold that the school has set for them. Overall, I would not recommend this school to my worst enemy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

fantastic academic program good teacher/principal student relation.Good academic performance
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

The very best school in rutherford county led by the very best principal mrs.Ford.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2008

Nothing but positive to say about this school..If there ever is a problem,it is resolved quickly and satisfactorily. The teachers are the best...and Ms. Ford does a great job especially since it has doubled in size in such a short time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2007

Our children can't wait to go to school every day because they love Mrs. Ford. No other principal takes the time to read and answer every letter that the kids write to her. She also is the reason my kids can read almost 2 grades above grade level because she makes reading fun with the A.R. Store and Carnival. My score is A+ for Mrs. Ford.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

My children love going to Blackman because the principal is always doing things for the students. The principal really loves and cares for the students and makes sure they have a safe and good learning place. The principal hires only the best teachers. If you get a chance to have Mrs. Witt or Mrs. Wray your child will love school. They are the two happiest teachers in the school and they make you feel like school is the best place on earth!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2004

We love all the Blackman Schools! We moved to our subdivision so our girls would go to Blackman Elem. and we have been nothing but pleased. The grades have gotten better, the teachers seem to care more and the principal is great. Unfortunately we have just been re-zoned and just found out this week. Word of mouth and still no letter from the school board. We live 3 miles from the school and we have to send our children farther away to go to school next year. We are devestated. I can not begin to tell you how upset we are. The school they are zoned for now doesn't even have enough books or desks(they went there early last year). To make it worse, we can't even get a zone waiver to drop them off. 3 miles! Thanks school board.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
African American69%
Asian83%
Hispanic70%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students83%
African American74%
Asian75%
Hispanic80%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students90%
African American89%
Asian83%
Hispanic80%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African American95%
Asian83%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
African American48%
Asian72%
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students69%
African American43%
Asian61%
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students77%
African American52%
Asian67%
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
African American68%
Asian80%
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students72%
African American68%
Asian73%
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students83%
African American77%
Asian87%
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 67%
Black 12% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (615) 904-3796

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

586 Fortress Bl
Murfreesboro, TN 37128
Phone: (615) 904-3795

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cason Lane Academy
Murfreesboro, TN


Scales Elementary School
Murfreesboro, TN




Mitchell Neilson
Murfreesboro, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT