Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Siegel Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
When the teachers are uneducated in regards to your child's diagnosis how can they be effective?

Siegel Middle School 1

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
If your child has special needs or learning differences, this is NOT the school for you!!


Siegel Middle School 3

Posted March 24, 2016
- a student
Although education is adaquite, the rules are biased towards females. This being said dress code is barely applied to males but females have difficulty even finding "appropriate" attire. Therefore, dress code should be rethought and unbiased. Although some teachers live up to the high standard that once was required, others fall extremely short. For one out of many examples, a teacher will treat the student based on their like ability rather than their potential. Moving on from that, the school is VERY unorganized! Some examples include fundraisers, class scheules, any general event, etc.... The school needs changes but so does every other school. Yes I do sound harsh but overall the school has a whole isn't to bad but simply has a few rough patches.

Siegel Middle School 1

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
The dress code at this school is crazy just as it is at all public school. Girls are mainly targeted for inappropriate clothing and no leggings?! If you were sitting a an uncomfortable, tiny blue chair you would want to Wear the most comfortable thing possibe. The dress code is sexist! My daughter told me that she got in trouble for wearing leggings with a shirt that reached passed her rear and a boy that wore a "KEEP CALM AND SHUT THE **** UP" Shirt was not asked to change. It did not say the direct Word but I think we all know. And if a shoulder is showing than it is so provocative and boys cannot handle it!!! They are MIDDLE SCHOOL KIDS! And if the teachers are "offended" then that is not the students problem and girls should not be shamed for what they wear!!!!!!

Siegel Middle School 1

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
I am very unpleased to know that my daughter is not Learning the material she should be learning. Especially in math because the 8A math teacher does not explain clearly. 1 star until this slacker leaves.


Siegel Middle School 1

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
My son, who has been an A student since he was in first grade, describes his 3 years here as the worst school years of his life. From my view, sending home dozens of worksheets, with very little lecture support, is for all intents and purposes making the kids teach themselves, and there are a lot of worksheets sent home requiring the kids to thumb through their texts for hours, without support of classroom notes. Hours of busy work every night with one science teacher telling them that if she knew their names they'd probably done something wrong, and others not knowing how to pronounce words correctly on subjects they were teaching, or sometimes even not knowing the meanings of words that were in their own lessons, added up to a poor three year experience. Also a tremendous lack of balance from mini school to mini school as far as work load is concerned. Poor leadership

Siegel Middle School 4

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
Siegel Middle School is considered by many one of the best middle schools in the county. Keep in mind that just because you have some angry parents that post on here, that doesn't necessarily make the statements true. That being said, we did have issues with a few teachers that were over-legalistic (ISS for no belt???- are you kidding?) and felt the need to lord over the students vs. teach them. These were primarily in 6th and 7th grade. Oh, how I wish I could name names... Overall, though, I felt my kids had a good experience and a well-above-average education out of it. (They are moving on to Siegel High now.) There are indeed some STELLAR teachers at this school and despite the strict legalistic leadership, these teachers shine and have the ability to inspire students. No school is without its bad apple teachers, and Siegel Middle is no different. Unfortunately, because of political correctness, it could take a few years for those bad apples to get transferred to D-hall duty or whatever the heck place those types go when they can't teach. :) I give it a high 4, of 5.

Siegel Middle School 1

Posted December 11, 2012
- a parent
We're 1/2 way through the 6th grade year. You've got to be kidding me? We have a teacher (female) in Bschool that intimidates the students to a point of fear of asking questions. I wonder why some students don't have awesome grades in that class environment? It has been made very evident that parent involvement is tolerated at a minimum. Teacher and principle exhert power and authority over 11 year olds,,, awesome. Why don't you pick on someone your own age?


Siegel Middle School 1

Posted November 28, 2012
- a parent
So far? I'm not impressed. AT ALL! My child has been in this school less than 2 weeks and has been in tears a half dozen times at least. She is appalled at the fact that the teachers are allowed to and do tell the students to "shut up!" They yell and criticize, not TEACH! If the students already knew the material, there would be no need for the TEACHER!! The dress code is enforced on a pick and choose basis and does not include all students. Just in case anyone was wondering, the rude language and critical comments have not been made to my child specifically so this should not be brushed off as a disgruntled student. It's across the board and I guess the long term students are just used to it. Absolutely ridiculous! I will be educating myself on this state and county and plan to see some changes immediately!! How dare this school demand respect from students and not offer the same?!

Siegel Middle School 2

Posted March 06, 2011
- a parent
school is adequate with some great teachers but principal lacks ability and vision to properly inspire staff . principal also shows poor judgement in creating/enforcing school policies

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Siegel Middle School
355 West Thompson Lane, Murfreesboro, TN  37129
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (615) 904-3830
Last modified Siegel Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top