Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wilson Elementary School 2

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
- -Issues are not followed through -lack of administration leadership -focus for help is more for the teachers than the children receiving needed help -It is a teacher ran school -teaches are pampered too much and are not made to push for higher teaching standards -The school is very cliquish and your child will be bullied if you go against the grain of what the teachers want

Wilson Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
IT COULD MAKE MORE OF AN EFFORT HAVING ALL CLASSES PARTICIPATE IN VOLUNTEER WORK FOR THE COMMUNITY. THAT DOES NOT MEAN CLEANING THE CLASSROOMS FOR THEIR TEACHERS. FOR EXAMPLE GOING TO AN INDEPENDENT SENIOR LIVING HOME AND SINGING SONGS FOR THE ELDERLY.THERE ARE MANY WAYS EACH CLASSROOM CAN GIVE BACK


Wilson Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and administration are not demonstrating these qualities highlighted in yellow. Lead by example..... They need to work on their appropritness and ethics. Very immature staff at WCS

Wilson Elementary School 1

Posted November 07, 2014
- a parent
Our child is in fourth grade at Wilson. Her main teacher sounds great, the reading teacher has all but destroyed her love of reading. Undocumented rules are in place with an "do as I say," approach to teaching. Policies are contrary to what WE are teaching (yes, we ARE the parents, you ARE tax-paid employees, and our concerns DO matter). My daughter has been told she cannot read books over 250 pages, they have to be her "approved" reading level (LOWER than her 2nd grade level)-even at home! We were not allowed a parent-teacher conference (they were too busy for us). We reported the teacher to the office, it took multiple days for them to respond. Frankly, when we come to you with our concerns, and it takes nearly a week to respond, and you deny our parent teacher conference--we are left worrying. For providing counter-point example on how "not" to act, thank you; however: with the shoddy policies, lack of organization, and poor treatment (yes, I hear the stories of children yelled at in the classroom--another first for my family), I fear you may be causing more damage than good. I am praying that next year goes better.

Wilson Elementary School 4

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
We are fairly new to the area and have overall been happy with WES. Last year's teacher was okay. Her attitude with parents was not great (not warm, friendly, or receptive), but her attitude with our child was acceptable. Our teachers this year are fantastic, we couldn't be happier! We live about 5 minutes from the school. School starts at 7:30 a.m. The bus picks up at 6:20 am. Because of the early pick up by the buses, the majority of children are 'car riders' and are dropped off and picked up by parents. This makes congestion during these times insane, but the school is fairly organized to handle it. Buses are subcontracted out by the county. If they hire more buses it would help alleviate over-crowded buses and ridiculously early pick up times. This is more of a county issue than a WES issue. Other than that, we've experienced some culture shock. We've experienced name calling, bullying, and inappropriate targeted aggression from other children at this school. Much more than we are used to. We have addressed the issue and received the support of WES admin and staff so far. Activities offered are excellent and there is a sheriff on the premises everyday.


Wilson Elementary School 5

Posted January 01, 2013
- a parent
A school needs four elements to be a successful school and this one has it. A strong leader, great teachers, supportive parents and children willing to learn. This school has the best principal in Rutherford county, he supports his teachers and makes sure they get the items and training they need. I have seen him come in over his summer break to paint the schools so that the school could have extra money for other items. All students are treated equally, some say they do but this one makes sure they are. I wish my kids could go there until they graduate high school.

Wilson Elementary School 5

Posted August 21, 2012
- a parent
This is our second year at WES. And I just love, love, love this school! the staff is very involved and friendly. Rather it be by newsletter, phone, email, or face-to-face, the staff and principal are highly communicative. The teachers communicate the curriculum and activites weekly through newsletters. We re-located last school year (1st grade) and switched our daughter from private to public school and I could not be more pleased with our experience. The PTO is highly involved with parent meetings, family nights, and teacher luncheons. I feel like my child is "stretched" not stressed. She is challenged with the academic program. WES offers wonderful reading programs and assistance. I feel that they enteract with the children individually, as well, as group setting. Overall, really great school and good community spirit.

Wilson Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2009
- a parent
We moved to this area 2 years ago after hearing rave reviews about Wilson...boy are we glad we did! Our son is in Kindergarten and is excelling by leaps and bounds! His teacher is patient, caring, and very communicable with us as parents making his education a TEAM effort! Kudos to Ms Levi!


Wilson Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2006
- a parent
Our son was rezoned to attend Wilson, from 3rd-5th grade. We could not have asked for a school with the complete package. The entire school staff is excellent not only with the students but with the parents. Unlike the school he attends now, the Wilson teachers and principal encourages parent participation. We wish Wilson would extend through the 6th grade. Our son misses the teachers he had and so do we. Any issue that we had (which were very few) was addressed with respect and in a timely manner. Every school could use a few lessons from Wilson regarding the way they treat their students as well as the parents. It is a terrible breakdown in our education system when a school does not have enough textbooks to accomdate their students, such as the school our son now attends. Polly Owens

Wilson Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2004
- a parent
Both of my children attend this school and we have been so pleased. We took our oldest out of a private christian school to attend Wilson Elementary, and am thankful for everyone there. The principal is terriffic with the kids and knows alot of them by first name. The teachers are so supportive and the PTO is a wonderful organization. Everyone gets involved in the kids and their progress. They really make you want to be involved with the caring attitude and the team work atmosphere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wilson Elementary School
1545 Cut Off Road, Murfreesboro, TN  37129
(615) 904-3840
Last modified Wilson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wilson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top