Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Murfreesboro, TN
Students enrolled: 1,014
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Blackman Middle School 5

Posted January 27, 2015
- a parent
I am a very proud BMS parent. This school has an amazing and caring faculty and staff, my kids are doing great. Thank you BMS faculty

Blackman Middle School 3

Posted October 05, 2013
- a community member
This was just shy of a four star. One teacher made a joke about applying corporal punishment to all students even to those who's parental signatories disallowed it. And the other actually hits students on the head with a magazine roll, which is not even allowed under the CP protocol. This is out of line behaviour.


Blackman Middle School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a community member
Excellent Science teachers, esp 6th grade!!! Teachers are excellent and maintain very good class discipline.

Blackman Middle School 5

Posted October 27, 2011
- a parent
We moved to Murfreesboro from Lorton, Va. I have been very impressed with the quality of instruction from the teachers at BMS. They are demanding and set high expectations for the students. THEY WILL NOT "BABY" YOUR CHILD. If your child is willing to put forth the effort, then they will have a wonderful academic experience.

Blackman Middle School 5

Posted October 21, 2010
- a parent
This is school is excellent very caring teachers and excellent principal .My son is very happy !!! One of the best in middle Tennesssee.


Blackman Middle School 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
Absolutely wonderful music program! Anyone who can teach my children how to play an instrument they never touched before, is amazing in my book.

Blackman Middle School 3

Posted August 14, 2009
- a parent
In my opinion, BMS needs serious help with communication. Parents expect a response to phone calls, emails and letters. On top of that, new children to the area are not accepted in activities. They are turned away and expected to be up to par with only there program or stay away! They do not hold tryouts for band by the way. If you don't already know how to play instrument, they won't teach you and they won't let you in the band.

Blackman Middle School 5

Posted January 18, 2009
- a parent
bms is the best 6-8 school in the state of tennessee. unlike lavergne which is non-successful in any sport. Bms has the best sports teams.


Blackman Middle School 3

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
In my opinion, BMS is an excellent school for children who are already excellent students that are on the right track - As a parent who has a child attending this school who is a challenge and/or needs more attention - this facility is not capable of identifying the problem and the results are only punitive (which typically takes the child OUT of the classroom)... which in turn now has the child doing make up homework without the benefit of the 'learning'. The administrators and teachers all SAY the right things, but I often wonder if the education is the first priority for anyone who is less than stellar.

Blackman Middle School
no rating

Posted December 15, 2008
- a parent
I am very disappointed in blackman middle school! I am new to murfreesboro, and have 2 straight a kids that attend bms. I read all the reviews before picking bms for my kids, only if I new then what I know now! if ever a question and need to talk to the asst. Principal, you can call many times, and never get a return phone back! She is not concerned in any way shape or form, of any questions or problems you may have! She was also very rude,on her ipod and cell phone, and had no time for me when I confronted her at school! I also agree with the parent about the baseball team!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blackman Middle School
3945 Blaze Drive, Murfreesboro, TN  37128
(615) 904-3880
Last modified Blackman Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Blackman Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top