Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Scales Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 1032 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 29, 2014

We had multiple children attend this school. When Mrs Stephens was principal, this was the best run school in the area. It dropped a bit when Mr Barch took over (Mrs Stephens was just that good). After Mr Barch left, the school has changed. Many of the best teachers have left and the administration is less parent friendly. I am glad my children were able to attend during the attend Mrs Stephens tenure as I could dramatically see changes between last year and the year before.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

This school is amazing i love it so much i have been her 3-6 and during these 4 years it has been amazing the teachers and staff are amazing i love all my teachers and if you are a parent thinking about sending your child there do it because they treat all the kids with kindness and have many great activities and events that will help others help run your childs imagination i am so glad i had gone to this school and i will never forget my expirience there


Posted February 19, 2014

Scales is an average school. It got much better once Don Bartch became principal, bit he has since become principal of the new Overall Creek Elementary. Some teachers are amazing, while some are horrible. It is kept extremely neat and clean and the grounds are well-maintained. The music program is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

My granddaughter goes to scales and she has excelled great teachers and staff . They truly care about the children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

I have 3 kids in this school. My oldest has been going since kindergarten and is now entering 5th grade. We have had great teachers, great kids. I miss mrs. Stephens but things still run close to the same as they did. I'm glad to give my kids a great education in a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

My daughter just finished her first year at Scales and I just can't say enough about this school. Our location is zoned for 2 different schools. Last October we switched to Scales from the other school. It was the best decision we have ever made. When you walk into Scales, you hear the kids laughing and talking. The environment is so happy, cheerful and upbeat. The staff is friendly and helpful. They seem to know each child by name. My daughter's teacher was very involved in helping us get her settled and comfortable. I just can't wait to see what else is waiting for us in the upcoming school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2012

My son has attended Scales from Kindergarten through 4th grade, and is about to go into 5th grade. I have been amazed that every year we have had wonderful teachers who really care about their students' growth. The principal, Ms. Katherine Stephens is amazing...I will be sad to see her leave but I know she's left a legacy of HIGH standards and that the next principal will be just as committed to excellence. Scales is a GREAT school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2011

Scales in the best school ever. My son has been going for a year and loves it. Everyone is very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

As a military family we have been in a lot of schools and Scales is at the top in my book for elementary education. In fact we are so pleased with the friendliness and dedication of the Principal and staff that we have retired here to get our youngest through grade school. Highly recommend as a school of choice. For those of you looking at private versus public, know that a top school like Scales can give your child as good an education. My two daughters went to public school, and with parent and teacher support have enrolled and graduated from top colleges, Tufts University and Case Western Reserve University. Never limit your choices but look for the best across the board - especially these days, kids need to be integrated into mullit-ethnic and cultural situations at young ages and it helps them so much down the road.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

Scales is the best School in Murfreesboro! It is second to none. My children have had the best elementary experience. We have attended since the opening 2005. Mrs. Stephens is the best Principal that I have ever encountered. She is friendly, attentive, and dedicated to the highest of standards in academics. Our teachers, Mrs. Maddux and Ms. Lawson, provide an outstanding challenge, are compassionate, and dedicated the their students. Children truly come first at Scales. Who could ask for anything more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

Our child has been attending Scales Elementary School since it opened in 2005. The Principal is awesome!! She knows every one of the children by name. That is around 1000 students. What other school can say this? The Teachers are superb! They challenge the students. If they see that a child need to be in a higher reading level, or a higher spelling level they take it upon themselves to challange the student. We like that. All the Teachers, Office Staff, Cafe workers, people who keep the school clean, Shine employee and of course the Principal are like no others!! I would recommend this school to anyone new or old to this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

In my opinion Scales Elementary School is one of the finest school I've ever set foot inside. The principal, teachers, and staff are very dedicated and are doing a fabulous job educating our children. I ve visited the school weekly since my son began in 2007 and everyday the staff is smiling and happy to be there. Happy educators make happy students who actually enjoy attending class. My son can t wait to get to class each day and he is excited about learning new things. I love seeing my child not only learning the curriculum, but excited about it. I would recommend their school to anyone moving to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

In my opinion Scales Elementary School is one of the finest school I've ever set foot inside. The principal, teachers, and staff are very dedicated and are doing a fabulous job educating our children. Everyday the staff is smiling and happy to be there. Happy educators make happy students who actually enjoy attending class. My son can t wait to get to class each day and he is excited about learning new things. I love seeing my child not only learning the curriculum, but excited about it. I would recommend their school to anyone moving to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

My daughter went to Scales for kindergarten. I was greatly impressed with the overall atmosphere at Scales. The principal was fabulous! Her specific teacher was average, but the school itself was truly wonderful! Another exceptional feature of this school was the after school care program, SHINE. Ms. Parks, the director, has many years experience in this position. She does an outstanding job with this program. My child absolutely loved Scales, and SHINE. Unfortunately we had to move out of state, but if we were back in Murfreesboro, Scales would be my our top choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

I have two kids at Scales right now and I love the staff. They are friendly and understanding. My kids both love their teachers and are very happy with their friends. My girls are advancing quickly which speaks well of their teachers. They love the after school program, Shine, and have requested that I never pick them up before after school classes have ended. They have learned dance, theater, art, cooking and how to be girly girls all in after school care. I cannot speak highly enough about staff. I am planning on moving this year and my only pre-requisite is that the home be in the Scales school zone. I look forward to a long academic relationship with them as I still have one more preschooler that will be attending in a couple of years. I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

My Daughter is a first grader and has excelled in this school. I cant wait for my preK to go next year and continue her ecucation in such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
30%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
50%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
White74%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students59%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
White60%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students74%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students89%
African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students73%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students71%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students76%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students77%
African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American95%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students67%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students60%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 67%
Black 15% 23%
Hispanic 9% 7%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2340 St Andrews Dr
Murfreesboro, TN 37128
Phone: (615) 895-5279

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Cason Lane Academy
Murfreesboro, TN




Rutherford Academy
Murfreesboro, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT