Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dan Mills Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 470 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2013

There is no way this school only has a 5. Dan Mills is a wonderful school! Every teacher he has had, including the Programs teachers have been awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

I have two children attending Dan Mills, one in fourth grade and the other in third. They have attended since the youngest one started 1st grade. We absolutely love this school! We live in Inglewood and are excited to have such a family oriented and involved elementary school. The principal and teachers are just plain wonderful! The PTO is well organized and very active.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

I have 2 children at Dan Mills, Kindergarten and 2nd grade. This was our first year here, and we absolutely love it. All teachers and staff are very friendly and seem like they actually love their job! I have been impressed with the PTO and extra curricular activities offered. We are happy to be a part of such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

We live in Inglewood and our child attends Dan Mills Elementary School. I am very impressed with the school. The teachers are excellent. My child's teacher has a Master's Degree from Vanderbilt University. My child's art teacher has a PhD. This is a very good neighborhood school. The parents are very involved and volunteer in the school which is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

We have been very happy with Dan Mills and the community of hands on parents that volunteer so much time. The teachers are great. Dan Mills is an awesome school all around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

There is no way this school should only have 4 stars. The teachers and the principal are amazing. The parents on the whole are very involved. The school not only focuses on academics but also character and interpersonal skills. Although there were public schools in Davidson County that had a focus on Academics none of them had an equally weighted focus on character. This is essential for success in my opinion. Visit the school. You will immediately feel and see the charm of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

My child will be attending Dan Mills in the fall of 2012 for Kindergarten and although I cannot base this review on activities or curriculum just yet, I can say that everyone I have met has been fabulous! The office staff and the few teachers that I spoke with all seem to really love their school. The neighborhood is great as well. I will update my review when my daughter has more experience with the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers there are so giving of their time, the curriculum is fun for the students, their art and music programs are amazing, and the teachers and staff truly care about each individual student and do all they can to help them succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

Dan Mills is a great school with a great principal and great teachers. And that leads to a great school with great kids. My oldest just went to middle school and the teachers and staff there told me that they can tell 90% of the time without asking the child if he or she went to Dan Mills. I think that is a great compliment and im proud to be a parent of Dan Mills kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

I am proud to be a parent of 2 children attending Dan Mills Elementary School. Both of my children love going to school! I don't have to bribe, nor fight them to get them to go. They are sad if they have to miss, and all the Teacher's are exceptional! The pricipal is hands on. You don't feel as though she is someone that is just there, she will speak to you whenever you need her! That is a new concept to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Dan Mills is one of the few schools that gives you a feeling that the teachers are very dedicated to you child. The staff is friendly,dedicated,and all around great to deal with.My onl;y problem with this school is I wished it had higher grade levels so my child could go there longer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Dan Mills is a WONDERFUL school! I am a parent of two Dan Mills graduates - one in 2002 and one in 2005. My experience with the Dan Mills, including the students, principal, teachers, and all other staff members has truly been a very positive one. My youngest child spent 5 years at Dan Mills (K-4th), enjoyed going to school, loved and respected all the teachers, and loved the principal. The school has a very warm atmosphere and welcomes parents, volunteers and family members with open arms. There are always parents volunteering at the school and the PTO works very hard to establish parental involvement through constant communication between school and home. I have heard substitue teachers say that when they get a call to sub, they hope it's at Dan Mills! Dan Mills is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2004

My grandson lives in my home and is in the first grade at Dan Mills. He has an excellent teacher. We have been amazed at how much this child has learned this year! He can read very well and he understands what he reads. I have found that most children will do their best to live up to the expectations of the adult in charge. This teacher is firm, gives a lot of homework and expects it to be done on time and to the best of the student's ability. At the same time, he is a very kind man and is good to the children. Because my grandson's first-grade teacher believes in him, encourages him, and praises him, he has learned to love school and looks forward to going to school each day. This is the foundation every child needs for success in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2003

Dan Mills has a nice facility, extra-activities, and great ideas. However, there must be a shortage of teachers. Because the teachers are frustrated and stressed which causes the students to become frustrated and stressed. So the students are not getting what they need on a daily basis. The lessons are too rushed. So how does a student get the education they deserve??
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
26%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
42%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
39%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students52%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students72%
African American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students86%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students46%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students55%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 67%
Black 33% 24%
Hispanic 7% 6%
Asian 2% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Patti Yon
Fax number
  • (615) 226-4796

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4106 Kennedy Av
Nashville, TN 37216
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 262-6677

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Gra-Mar Middle School
Nashville, TN


Cora Howe School
Nashville, TN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT