Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glencliff Comp High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2013

This school is one of the best school. The teachers are very helpful, nice, hard workers, and full of attention towards your future. The clubs in this school are one of the best because you are actually using your hands.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2011

I am a member of the Glencliff community and I can tell you that this school is unbelievalbe. They won the National Community School of Excellence Award, have the Freshman Academy of the Year, and won the Signature School Grammy Award. While their scores are not as high as some other schools, the kids learned and graduation rates continue to rise. Great administrators, teachers and students.


Posted October 20, 2010

Glencliff's student body represents over 42 unique nationalities. Located just south of downtown Nashville, Glencliff high school draws its student body from the largest and most diverse immigrant and refugee populations in Nasvhille. Glencliff is currently home to Nashville's largest school vegetable garden, an effort geared toward ensuring student access to fresh fruits and vegetables while also educating them about nutrition and health.


Posted April 3, 2010

Hi. I am currently a Junior at Glencliff High School, and I've been attending Glencliff since my Freshman year. I truly do love this school and proud to be attending it. I love how diverts it is, and how its a school that really welcomes everybody regardless of their race, religion, believes. Thats why it makes me very upset when people ask me what school i go to and I reply Glencliff and they just make this face and say 'oh Glencliff'. Thats when I get very defensive and I start telling them how much of a great school Glencliff really is. It seems like we get on the news for so many great things but as soon as one little bad thing happens, it over shines everything we've been working hard for. If it was up to me to rate Glencliff I would give it 10 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

First of all, I would like to begin by pointing out how things do change, and Glencliff is one fo them. People are you usually bias to their individual opinion,so that might have an effect on the outcome of their review. If the worst reviews given are true, then the whole Glencliff body lives in a completely different world now. This school is indeed a wonderful school, especially if you decide to make and get out everything of it. I am currently a Junior at this school and have gained so much that it would take a whole term paper to describe it. Soccer,Advanced Placement classes, after school tutoring and more are things that you can experience at this school. The current rating,in my opinion, needs to be at least put up one more star. At this school, you get out of it what you put in to it. : )
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2010

I feel that Glencliff high has a lot to offer the students who attend there. wonderful stories every day. I want to thank the administration and teachers for showing me my true potential.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2009

Glencliff is an enjoyable place to work. The administration is supportive of teachers and the success of the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 18, 2009

Glencliff High School to me, is the best school in our district. I've learned so much here that i couldn't have learned at another school. We are trying so hard to become a better school more and more everyday. I am a senior and since my sophomore year, there has been a great deal of change. There are leadership opportunities, clubs, and other orginizations here that you could be involved in to better yourself, the school, and the community. Glencliff is a great place to get your education and to learn about a diverse groups of people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2009

Glencliff Is really a good School...I think They help us see wat we are going to do in the real world and the principal Is great
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2009

we love glenclif the princalpal has made the school a better place for the student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2009

I love glencliff high it rocks i miss it and the loving teachers in it.


Posted October 25, 2008

Ok I do attend Glencliff class of 2011 and honestly this school is excenlt. I went on mnps.org and looked up the test scores and behavior for the school and the funny thing is that someone of the so called great schools aren't as great as they seem to be. And our princpal Mr. Majors is an amazing princpal and his leadership is a 5 star rating. So all these dumb reviews are just people who couldn't make it in the real world Glencliff is a slice of the real world and if you can not make it in high school then you can't make it in life. There are everyday people who cause problems it just takes a man or woman to endure such things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2008

I am a recent garduate of Glencliff, class of 2008, and I do not recommend sending your child to this school. It's really not a very safe school. While I do feel somewhat prepared for this year being my first year of college that's only thanks to about 3 of my senior class teachers, before then I wasnt learning very much. If you absolutly have to go there and plan to go to college you better study hard on your own because you will need. The violence is ridiculous at Glencliff, sometimes the fight would be almost over by the time someone got there to break it up. None of the students have respect for any others students or teachers. Thats really the reason why the school isn't the best. The school would be better academically if the students actually paid attention or respected the teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2006

I am currently a sophomore at Glencliff High. The reviews for this school make it seem awful, but it is in fact a very good school. The teachers are a little odd, I must admit, but they seem okay. A few of my favorite teachers I ever had are in this school (Ms. Bell, Coach Staggs, and Mr. Paddock, to name a few). It's not perfect. No one ever said it was. But it's got heart. The teachers, while a few are a tad boring, all do their best with all the afterschool programs and such they have. Many are willing to stay after hours and tutor their students, and that's something you won't find in many magnet schools. I know, I've been in them for a long time.... In closing, many other people claim they don't feel safe in GHS. I feel safer there then I ever have in any other school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2006

Glencliff High School was the best school,when I went there in 1998-2000. I enjoyed the music deparment, the marching band was top notch, and the sports were at it's best when I attended. Now it been a few years since I've been there, but I'm sure that the academic programs are just as good if not better then before. I feel that Glencliff is the best, and that's how I feel...
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 13, 2006

This school the worst school to attend. The violence is ridiculous. There are more fights than you can count. The principals and teachers don't enforce the rules as they should. They let people off on everything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 3, 2006

I graduated from Glencliff in 2001 and I do not recommend this school to anyone. I truly feel that the teachers hated being there as much as the students. I spent 4 years at Glencliff and I can count on one hand the teachers that I felt cared about the students. One of the principals really tried to make a difference but that school needs a whole lot more than one caring principal. I thought I was prepared for college but I was dead wrong. I would erg anyone who was thinking about sending there child to Glencliff, please reconcider.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 31, 2006

I think Glencliff is a really good school and I dont appreciate how we have been descibed it is my first year here and every teacher has encouraged me to do well especially my gudiance consular Ms.Jamie Kim. The uper classman are good about helping us out to. I not saying that there is not violence that happens because there is it is just not as much as everybody is trying to make it seem take a step in my shoes and you'll see Glencliff is the place to be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2006

I graduated in 2004 from Glencliff and im now a sophomore/junior at Western Kentucky University majoring in Elementary Education. Glencliff has not prepared me, as well as others for college. There is only one teacher that had any effect on my learning and that was Mrs. Copas. More props to her! Other than the academics not bein to par, the violence is ridiculous. The students do not care about anyone else. Im not putting down any religion or ethnicity, but by there being so many different languages spoken, teachers had to go slower while teaching and have not been able to do much. If anyone is thinking of sending there kid there, don't! They will not learn anything from the school except different cultures, slang, and how to fight more than likely.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 29, 2006

I graduated there in 2004. I am now in college, but compared to other students from other areas, I was not prepared as well as I should have been with academics.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
24%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
5%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
34%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
33%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
31%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
12%
U.S. History

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students66%
African American62%
Asian80%
Hispanic66%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learners47%

Algebra II

All Students24%
African American10%
Asian47%
Hispanic24%
White36%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners10%

Biology I

All Students40%
African American31%
Asian47%
Hispanic35%
White56%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learners24%

English I

All Students57%
African American60%
Asian68%
Hispanic59%
White48%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learners38%

English II

All Students42%
African American35%
Asian59%
Hispanic40%
White49%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners8%

English III

All Students17%
African American13%
Asian9%
Hispanic23%
White17%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students90%
African American88%
Asian92%
Hispanic90%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learners69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 35% 7%
Black 31% 23%
White 27% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Wright Middle School
Cameron Middle School
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:15
School end time
  • 2:15
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Tony R. Majors
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (615) 333-5073

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
  • bowling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • bowling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • The school enjoys a close relationship with the communities neighborhood organization. the school and community regular collaborate to address both social and school related issues.
More from this school
  • Our school has been fortunate enough to be able to provide additional leadership positions that function within the school on a daily basis. Academic leaders include a: Literacy Coach, Math Coordinator, Special Education Coordinator, Community Education Coordinator and Tutorial Coordinator. As well as a Career Development Coordinator and Parent/Community Coordinator.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Wright Middle School
Cameron Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

160 Antioch Pk
Nashville, TN 37211
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 333-5070

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

River Road Academy
Nashville, TN


Jesus Only Academy
Nashville, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT