Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glendale Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 435 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Glendale is where I would want to send my own children. The teachers are caring, highly qualified, and full of high expectations for all learners. The staff work together to form a cohesive, loving environment for students and families. The PTO is the most hands-on PTO that I've ever seen. The Spanish Immersion enriches the curriculum, stimulates the learning and language centers of the brain, and helps these students form a solid foundation for being bilingual. Everyone at this school, the principal, teachers, school counselors, school psychologist and the custodians all genuinely care about the students. You can't ask for better!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 10, 2014

Glendale is a wonderful public school because the teachers are so dedicated, the parental involvement is tremendous, and the funds from the PTO greatly enhance the curriculum. My son is what they call "twice exceptional" - I couldn't imagine him at any other public school. Although he does not qualify for an IEP, appropriate accommodations for his needs have been met. I LOVE Glendale!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2010

Great teachers, principal, and community of parents! Spanish Immersion program. Very active and supportive PTO!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

School year has just started and we are VERY disappointed. This is our first year and there have been so many disturbing things I cannot even begin to detail. The teacher we have will not even look at emails. The principal is condescending and patronizing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

the parents and teachers do not fool around. Everyone is involved and all the kids are loved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Love the Spanish Immersion - parent involvement is wonderful - Principal is VERY hands on - she really cares
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

The teachers are genuinely interested in the children, both academically and socially. The support the students in extra-curricular activities. The parents' commitment to the school is beyond any that I have ever seen. This is a first-rate school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

This is the school you imagined when your child was still a toddler---it absolutely resonates with an atmosphere of happiness and excitement. Great academics, enthusiastic parents, joyful students are just the beginnings. The spanish immersion is a great bonus to an already excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

A truly great 'public' school in every sense of the word. Community spirit involved in everything they do. A wonderful village in which to educate our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Glendale offers a wonderful sense of community, an excellent teaching staff and progressive academic ideas. We couldn't be happier at our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Glendale has a beautiful community spirit with an exciting Spanish-Immersion curriculum. We're so thrilled to be a part of it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Glendale is a wonderful school with a global feel to it. Our children thrive here and have developed a strong sense of community thanks to the great learning experience Glendale provides to us all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Fantastic place. Lovely school, great teachers, fantastic community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Glendale has a great community atmosphere while teaching our children not just the basics but Spanish,music, and art as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

I volunteer there and have witnessed the level of commitment the scholl has toward its students and curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

5 years ago when we moved back to Nashville we specifically chose to purchase our home in the Glendale school district. We have not been disappointed! Our 3rd Grader loves it and our son can't wait for Kindergarten to start. The faculty and families have made it a feel like home. I feel lucky to be apart of such a great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

unique curriculum in nashville, strong staff, and committed community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Unique opportunity to receive a different (bicultural) education. Great PTO!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Glendale is a great community that not only invests in the school and students but also looks for opportunities to invest in Nashville and beyond. Through programs like the school garden and Glendale Gives, Glendale makes a genuine effort to demonstrate what it means to the students to give back! I also love the opportunity to learn a second language.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

I love the community of dedicated and caring parents and teachers who patiently work to teach and nurture the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 67%
Black 8% 23%
Hispanic 6% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 Thompson Ave
Nashville, TN 37204
Phone: (615) 279-7970

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lipscomb Academy
Nashville, TN


Franklin Road Academy
Nashville, TN


The Oak Hill School
Nashville, TN




Linden Waldorf School
Nashville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT