Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gra-Mar Middle School

Public | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 20, 2013

The majority of negative reviews here are outdated and from administrations when those things were, unfortunately, true. Today, Gra-Mar is a well-oiled machine under leadership which holds high expections for both staff and faculty. The teachers are there because they genuinely care about the population of students with which they work every day. A significantly high number of those teachers are considered Level 5 educators according to the current Tennessee teacher evaluation model and those educators continue to choose to work at Gra-Mar year after year. Discipline is fair and consistent and reflects the standards that the students are always held to. The facilities are clean and well-maintained reflecting the pride that everyone in the building holds for their school.


Posted November 13, 2013

Gra-mar Middle is one the best schools in the district. First, it is a great honor to have an opportunity to work with leadership as phenomenal as Gra-mar Middle. Secondly, to know that you are working with a principal, who has been honored principal of the year, gives me such gratification! Thirdly, the school is overwhelmed with professional leaders, awesome educatiors and great minds that are filled witlh knowledge(our students). Gra-mar educators have been exposed to many tools,have traveled meny miles to receive the exposure, have worked relentless hours, have tutoring before school, have made gains in our state scores, have implemented 30 minutes a day of DEAR(Drop Everything and Read) in all classes, advisory time and much more. This is why I chose to rate my school 100%, it"s not the speed of the race to the finish line. It's the progess you make each time to get to the finish line. With the phenomenal leadership, the awesome educators, and our great students, Gra-mar has any other choice but to continue to make gains and educate our GREAT MINDS(OUR STUDENTS),
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 13, 2013

Only good reviews from this school are from the teachers! This school is horrible with discipline,teaching, all around a terrible environment& the teachers are VERY DISRESPECTFUL!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

Gra-Mar Middle School has professional leadership and staff. It is an honor to work under the superior leadership of Dr. Williams, Mrs. Parrish, Mrs. Pinkerton, and team leaders of each grade level. They truly care about each students growth in education, and provide positive support to the staff. I love the 6th grade team and the positive attributes they provide the students. I especially appreciate having an awesome literacy coach, AVID coordinator, librarian and assistants that add value to the school as well as support the staff, and students. Proud to be a Gladiator!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 11, 2013

Gra-Mar is a great school to work at and a great school for students to learn. I have always said that if I can bring my own children to a school, then it must be the best. We have teachers that bring their own children to be taught at Gra-Mar Middle School. The staff cares about all of the children and will not be satisfied until all children achieve successfully. I am a part of the sensational 6 team, and this team sails successfully. So, if you want a quality education for your child, then Gra-Mar is the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 5, 2013

We are a learning academy! Our goal is for every child that comes to Gra-Mar to succeed! We have a wonderful Administration, faculty and staff! We have an open door policy so parents are welcome any time. our main focus is the students and their futhers! We have many outside activities for the students as well,We offer band and a variety of sports for the students to choose from. In my opion we are one of the very best schools in Metro Davidson County. We are like a big family that watches over and encourages all students! I am so happy to be a part of such a wonderful school, to work along side of educators that really do care and want every student be the best they can be. To help students understand that if they work hard, they can achive their dreams what ever that may be. To teach them to set goals for themselves and watch them achive those goals one at a time and celabrate their acomplishments!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 5, 2013

Gra-Mar Middle School is a great school with a kind and loving faculty and staff. I really enjoy working at Gra-Mar. Not only are the teachers my co-workers, they are my friends and they really care about the well-being of all students. We strive to make great gains every year and put the success of our students first. Our doors are always open, so if you want to come over and take a look, we welcome you with open arms!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 4, 2013

This school has a very dedicated staff and focused leadership. There is an exceptionally high proportion of Level 5 and Level 4 teachers compared to other similarly situated middle schools in the MNPS system. Student achievement has increased steadily over the last several years. Academic instruction is data-driven with teachers able to identify the needs of individual students in order to tailor classroom instruction to meet those needs while maintaining a high level of rigor. A culture of collaboration and school pride is constantly being fostered and nurtured. There is also a constant effort to keep the school atmosphere friendly, accepting, and inviting for all students and faculty.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 4, 2013

Gra-Mar has a wonderful and innovative learning style that takes learning further than just the common core standards. The teachers implement things that the kids can related to to achieve more learning(rap type songs to help with math skills and vocabulary skills). I have three children that attend; and they are very excited with the different teaching styles. The Principals are friendly and fair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2012

My boys have been in Nashville City schools for four years. If you want your children to get an education do not send them to this school!!!!!!!!! I'm taking my boys back to ohio with a can get an education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2011

This year we have a whole new administration and we are striving to make Gra-Mar the best middle school in the district. We have a dedicated staff that is eager to teach children everyday. We have gotten a handle on the discipline problems of the past. We welcome parents to visit and volunteer in out parent center. We also welcome our community to become involved at our school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 5, 2010

Most of the teachers at this school are highly qualified and motivated. The many problems of this school are a result of poor administration. if you fail as a principal at other schools, you are banished to GraMar. Teachers treated with little or no dignity and students are allowed to curse and threaten administrators. Walk the halls of this school. Sit in the office. you will be shocked. A school's atmosphere is set by Principal.Enough said. GraMar is out of control. Not teachers fault!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

This school is not goo at all. The kids act bad and the teachers i see dont do anything of it. They do not teach good enough to the kids either. The kids is disrespectful and its so gangster. This is for you and your child sake do not i repeat do not go to this if you had a chance to pick your school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2010

I am a Big Sister with Big Brothers/Big Sisters of TN. My Little Sister attends Gra-mar & I have been completely disappointed with the standard of education Gra-mar provides for their students. Frankly, I believe that a vast number of the teachers see these children as lacking potential & give fluff assignments with very little to no homework. The staff is inadequate, unable or unwilling to control the classrooms and refuses to challenge these children on a proper level. As in all situations, I have no doubt there are exceptions for some teachers and I'm sure there are some wonderful staff present. They are, however, the exception and not the norm.


Posted February 5, 2009

This is my son's first year at GMS, this scool is not what I expected I would not recomment this school, the teachers and staff seen to not be able to get control of their class rooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
16%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
14%

2010

 
 
19%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
18%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
7%

2010

 
 
6%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
25%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
8%

2010

 
 
8%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
5%

2010

 
 
1%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
13%

2010

 
 
8%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
1%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
2%

2010

 
 
1%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
14%

2010

 
 
11%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
14%

2010

 
 
13%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students27%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students23%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students66%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
African American34%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students35%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students53%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students73%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students22%
African American19%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students18%
African American16%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students10%
African American7%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White17%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students50%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students25%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students24%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White24%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students32%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students54%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
7%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
7%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 71% 23%
White 18% 67%
Hispanic 9% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3:45
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Barry N. Potts

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • We are constantly examining ways to keep parents involved within our school. through title i, we have "the parent's place," a welcoming space dedicated to parents and community members for various meetings, workshops, as well as computers and additional resources.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Chadwell Elem
Caldwell Elem
Hattie Cotton Elem

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Maplewood High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

575 Joyce La
Nashville, TN 37216
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 262-6685

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Clara Muhammad School
Nashville, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT