Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harpeth Valley Elementary School

Public | K-4

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, July 30, 2014

school and teachers are great but principle Kimber Halliburton is awful. Never replied calls or emails
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2014

Excellent school. Good education. Nice teachers and staff. The buildings and the grounds are well-maintained.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Excellent school. Nice library. Good cafeteria. Someone in an earlier review complained about the restrooms, but I strongly disagree. Currently they are being well maintained. Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

My daughter will be completing her 4th year at this school; however we still have our 1st year son attending, currently. This was great for my daughters education. The advance classes has challenged my daughter in many ways and help her to excel in her education/knowledge where I don t believe other school in the surrounding areas could have. She has been selected to enter Meigs for her middle school education next year and I believe her study at HVE was a great asset in her preparation for Meigs. And, as I understand, it too, is an academically challenging school. Thank to all the HVE teachers and its PTO for their contributions!! Go Houndogs!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

It's ok but the bathrooms are nasty and some of the teachers are mean ok.


Posted March 8, 2011

I am very pleased with this school. I think it says a lot about the community as a whole!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2011

My little boy has a teacher who is terrific; she is smart, supportive, and he is learning and enjoying it. She is challenging him in areas where he is already ahead of his grade level. The principal & office staff have been great too, they are available and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Our child transferred as the result of being re-zoned from another school. As the result, our child had a 'rocky' start. It would have been better if our child would have been zoned for this school from Kindergarten. This is part of Nashville's 'ugly' 30+ years of busing history. Thank goodness this is improving. However, overall we have been pleased with school once our child's needs were identified. We haven't been pleased with the library. It appears that children don't receive a lot of guidance from the librarian in terms of appropriate 'level appropriate books' that they need to choose. This responsibility appears to be left to the classroom teacher which already has 'enough on her plate'. We have NEVER seen the Principal. She was MIA from the Christmas program which we thought was not in appropriate. The VP is Awesome!!. The VP should be appointed as the main Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

We have had 2 teachers here so far, and both have gone to considerable lengths to hold back a gifted child. Our first grader was reading 3rd grade level, yet spent three months in AR reading 1.5 level, while testing 100% on 20 tests in a row and not being allowed to advance. Not a great school if your child is advanced or gifted. Too much focus on sit down and shut up. Given Study Island over Christmas vacation, completed entire first grade math and reading in two weeks - it took over 2 months and numerous phone calls and emails to get permission to advance to 2nd grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

This school is fantastic and has a very involved PTA. I loved that the teachers invited parents to be involved and found things for us to do. My son had a difficult transition into Kg and had a tough time with his teacher, but the school counsellor was great. My daughter had the best 1st grade teacher, Dr. Stewart and we would highly recommend her to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

Overall, my daughter had a wonderful experience. All of her teachers (with the exception of one) set high expectations for everyone. She really learned a lot. The art and music programs are wonderful. I would love to see the P.E. program every day with more of a focus on learning new sports skills, etc.. Although I do believe the P.E. teachers do the best they can 2 days per week. I would also have loved for my child to learn some foreign language. This school is more truly diverse than most in Nashville. My daughter's good friends had parents from Russia, India, Jordan, China, and Iraq. All of the parents expect great things from their children. The principal, however, is not my favorite person. She can be very sour and unfriendly. The only time I went to see her in 5 years she was not helpful or understanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

My daughter attends Kindergarten at HVS and has had the best experience. The school community is like a large family. The teaching staff is amazing in their ability to reach out to their students and get results not only in reading and math, but also higher level thinking skills and character education. I would trust my children to any teacher in the school and I know my daughter will flourish at HVS. There has been some school construction lately to add a wing to the main building, so look past the portable classrooms in the front yard, they are temporary. This school is great, and my daughters and I look forward to many happy years at HVS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

I have 2 girls in this school and 2 that are now in middle and high school. I think that this is likely the best elementary school in Middle Tennessee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2007

Gym is small. Limited playground area. Very unkept. Bathrooms were smelly and dirty. About disappointment with curriculm our child will be enrolled in a local Christian school in the Fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2006

Playground is large, with two-year-old wonderful equipment. There is a separate, fenced, kindergarten playground. The school is brick, with new paint every few years on doors and inside. Entry area is huge, with an indoor garden and seating. Beautiful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2006

All three of my children attended about 9 years ago. As a family being part of this school, our experience was wonderful. The parent envolvement, teacher-parent enteraction, even the environment was a pleasant setting for my children to gain the education they deserved. My oldest has now graduated High School and has enlisted in the US Marine Corp. To this day she talks about her elementary school. Thanks for everything. I'm glad to see the school and staff still hold up to the very best standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

My two children, first and thrid graders, attend HVS. I am a VERY busy single mom, and the teachers and staff have gone out of their way to accomodate me in terms of school meetings. My children love their school and all of the activities offered. HVS is the highest ranked school in Nashville and it is easy to see why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2004

This is the best elementary school in the Nashville metro area. It has the best test scores, has nice facilities, a great staff, and great parent involvement. My two children both attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2003

Awesome school with a great principal/vice principal team. Very involved parents and great teachers. Our 3 kids have had wonderful experiences so far. Only drawback: needs more of a racial and ethnic mix.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students82%
African American75%
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students85%
African American44%
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students72%
African American50%
Asian81%
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students70%
African American45%
Asian94%
Hispanicn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American95%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 67%
Black 11% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 2%
Hispanic 1% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7840 Learning La
Nashville, TN 37221
Phone: (615) 662-3015

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ensworth School
Nashville, TN


Casa Dei Montessori
Nashville, TN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT