Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hillsboro High School

Public | 9-12 | 1150 students

International Baccalaureate World School

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 29 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

Truth be told Hillsboro High School is my Alma matre. Todays Hillsboro has significantly higher academic rigor. The IB diploma is second to none. The student body is spirited and socially aware. The teachers are challenging and inspiring. The fantastic administration can balance the safety of the students and teacher accountabilty with the breadth of student life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Hillsboro High School has been amazing for our children! We bought our home 11 years ago to specifically be zoned for Hillsboro! It has gotten better and better every single year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Hillsboro High School - great options for different kinds of learners; good AP choices, Vanderbilt Interdisciplinary Science and Research option, many excellent teachers who are invested in the students, the IB Programme all work together to make HHS a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

The students at Hillsboro are being accepted to well respected colleges and universities. The Class of 2014 seniors have been accepted to schools including: Vanderbilt University, Wake Forest, Emory University, University of Virginia, Sewanee, Rhodes College, Auburn University (including its Honors Program), University of Tennessee (including its Honors Program), College of Charleston, and Furman. Football players have signed full scholarships to University of Tennessee-Martin and basketball players have signed at four different schools so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Hillsboro International Baccalaureate World School is the best school in the Metropolitan Nashville Public School system. Hillsboro serve a diverse student population and earn honors at the level of the academic magnet schools in our system. Hillsboro was recently rated by the Washington Post as the 8th most rigourous school in Tennessee placing the school in the top one tenth of 1 percent of schools in our state. The International Baccalaurate Diploma, Middle Years, and Career Related Certificate Programmes make Hillsboro uniquely qualified to serve the needs of all students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2014

This is a great school! The large diversity among students allows every individual to interact with people unlike themselves. This, along with the coursework and incredible teachers, encourages students to be more well rounded and successful in the real world.


Posted April 28, 2014

There are two things which make Hillsboro a fantastic school. The first are the teachers. Hillsboro's culture is one of always improving- it's a place where successful teachers want to come, and it's a place where teachers help each other improve. That's something which can't be said of every school. The second is everything that goes on outside of the classroom. Hillsboro has fantastic extra-curricular opportunities- in the theater department, with music, with academic competitions, with athletics- students have a chance to develop as a complete individual, which is something which can't be said of most schools in the Tennessee. That's what makes Hillsboro special- not only does Hillsboro have a solid academic foundation and pathway, but students have the chance to be whoever they choose to be. There are places Hillsboro can improve- It's come a long way in the past 4 years, and there are still improvements to be made. But it has everything in place to continue to become an even more impressive institution.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2014

Hillsboro High School is a wonderful high school in Nashville. It is an IB recognized school that also offers a science and business academy. The administration and teachers care about the students and the diverse student body collaborate through the arts, sports and other events throughout the year. I believe Hillsboro High School's best days are ahead and if your student has the opportunity to visit and see what Hillsboro is all about, I believe they will agree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

hillsboro is a great school, im a foreign parent and i didnt know what school would be good for my child, i didnt know anything about the schools here, i didnt know what was bad, what was good. i wanted the best for my child. i wanted her to have the best future. there were so many options for us like overton, cane ridge, hillwood, but out of all we picked hillsboro because they have all the classes my child wants to take and its honestly not that bad of a school that everyone makes it seem like the tecahers always call me when my child is failing something and im always involved in my daughters school . take your child to hillsboro you wont regret it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

I have attended private school my whole life and really needed a change into something more realistic. I felt unique and like someone that could be anything they wanted to be. I love Hillsboro and plan to stay there till i graduate. It is public so it does have its problems but so does every school. I highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2012

As a private school convert from Nasville's best private schools, I reluctantly let my daughter attend Hillsboro as she had asked so that she could experience a more "normal, less elitist" environment. 3 years later we are happy with her experience, with the academic rigor(all college level courses and IB program), as well as the fired up faculty and of course Dr Terry Shrader. Now we have our kids in Percy Priest, JT Moore, and Hillsboro High School and the experience has exceeded our expectation. For those looking for a great school, offering rigorous academics, an engaged faculty and high parent involvement, be assured that you need not spend 20,000 a year...been there, done that. You will definately get a prettier campus... but, thankfully, that is not the measure of the best educational practices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2012

I have a junior at Hillsboro who, along with his eclectic group of friends, is experiencing a rigorous academic environment along with great teachers and extracurricular activities. He will graduate with college credit. The Interdisciplinary Science and Research (ISR) course he is taking can easily be compared to a college-level lab. The energy in the school is upbeat. Teachers are motivated and excited to come to work. Dr. Shrader is passionate about Hillsboro, has high expectations of his teachers and leads by example with an incredible work ethic. If you are lucky enough to have the chance to have your kids at HHS, don t pass it up. Our kids, and those from privates and magnets will be attending the same univerisities!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2012

Hillsboro HIgh School has new leadership the past two years and is poised to show even greater success in the coming years. The new principal, Dr. Terry Shrader is striving to put great teachers in each position at the school whether it be in the esteemed Academy of the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme or in the Freshman Academy (which has a new principal who is a former fabulous science teacher at JT Moore) or in the Academy of Global Health and Science or the Academy of Business and Communications. Vanderbilt has two programs in which students may participate either on or off campus. The Confucius Institute has a Confucius Classroom at the school. The Academy of the IB Diploma Programme had a 100% graduation rate for 2011's graduating class, an average ACT score of 25 and an average of $46,000 per student in scholarship monies for college. This is quite impressive in light of the fact that anyone may enjoy the benefits of this academy without any type of entrance testing. A student who will work hard is welcome to be a part of this program. The school has students who turned down magnet school spots as well as transfers from private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2012

My daughter attended her freshman yr 2011/12 here and it was a nightmare! Only one teacher, biology seemed to know how to teach. The office was unprofessional, teachers cuss,students are out of control and when sent to in school susp. They hang out in the auditorium listen to iPod and on phones. Dr Schrader, all talk along with 4 other principals for each grade, yes it takes 5 to run this disorganized school. When tried to get a new book for my daughter, after stolen I had to argue with them to get pay for another. They first refused due to it being the last semester, really umm have they heard of studying for finals!! If you have an option don't send your child here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

Hillsboro remains at the very top of the academic ladder and has remained there for years....Very high percentages of graduates go on to college, many alumni are disinguished citizens priviledge attending here. To that parent: I'm sorry to say, but Hillsboro is not the best who gave the negative, it is principals NOT principles!


Posted December 3, 2010

My daughter is a transfer student from Harpeth Hall Girls School to the Hillsboro International Baccalaureate program. I volunteer in the Visual Arts department and am in regular communication with school administrators. Teachers and department leaders participate regularly in continued IB training. I am in the classroom 1-4 times weekly and can assure you that students who participate in the AP and IB programs can stand up to any program in Nashville. Our school and families are working hard to gain the same positive attention locally that we enjoy nationally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

As a parent of two recent Hillsboro graduates, I was very impressed by the level of education that they received. As one of the countries few IB accredited schools, the school stands above many of the private schools in the area. My children both flourished and have grown into wonderful young adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2009

I'm sorry to say, but Hillsboro is not the best school for children who actually want a good education. The teachers do not put their all into teaching, the safety issues are always being worried about, the principles do not care much about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2008

I love hillsboro high school. I have been there since my freshmen year. I am a senior and hate that im leaving. The teachers are so concern about every student and put their all in their job... Hillsboro is a home away from home and i enjoy going to school everyday!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2008

Hillsboro is an excellent school; I did my student teacher at this school and was voted the Student Teacher of The Year. My grandson enjoys the curriculum and the teachers. I visit the school frequently and I know some of the teachers and have taught some of them. The principal' strategies for discipline is excellent; some students do not like him, but he well-liked by most of the students that I know at the school. Teachers are on task for students to learn. Great school. Kathy Pleas - retired teacher
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
22%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

232 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
15%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
53%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
53%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
59%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
19%
U.S. History

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students43%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
White59%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students31%
African American11%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students44%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students64%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students57%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students25%
African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students92%
African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 55% 23%
White 38% 67%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school J T Moore Middle School
West End Middle School
other Magnet Middle Schools in MNPS
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 18% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 65% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2012)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 8% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 8% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Tennessee
Middle Tennessee State Univ.
Tennessee Technological Univ.
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Vietnamese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Newsweek Top American High Schools (2012)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Medical
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Dance club: Hip Hop
  • Drama club
  • Flag girls
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Health & athletics

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical
Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Special olympics

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:05 am
School end time
  • 2:05 pm
School Leader's name
  • J. Terry Shrader, Ed.D.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (615) 298-8402

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Internships
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Business
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Medical
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Business management

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Credit Recovery
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Vanderbilt University Medical Center
  • Vanderbilt Center of Science and Math Outreach
  • Belmont University Center for Health Sciences
  • Cheekwood and the Frist
  • Averritt
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • DECA
  • Dance club: Hip Hop
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Flag girls
  • Forensics club
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • Gardening
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Marching band
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Special olympics
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Academic Tutors
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
J T Moore Middle School
West End Middle School
other Magnet Middle Schools in MNPS

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Tennessee
Middle Tennessee State Univ.
Tennessee Technological Univ.
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 18%
4 year college - 65%
Military - 1%
Vocational - 8%
Workforce - 8%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3812 Hillsboro Rd
Nashville, TN 37215
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 298-8400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lipscomb Academy
Nashville, TN


Harpeth Hall School
Nashville, TN


The Ensworth School
Nashville, TN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT