Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hillwood Comp High School

Public | 9-12 | 1200 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

One has graduated (with honors) and another child is currently enrolled at Hillwood. It is full of excellent teachers and administration. They will go the extra mile for you. They have prepared my children for the real world. I wish more parents were involved with the PTA. It is the only thing lacking at Hillwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2014

I have been a teacher at Hillwood since 2010 and I couldn't ask for a better school to work at or a better group of students to teach. Since 2010 Hillwood has made major progress with end of course test scores, ACT scores, and has the highest graduation of any non-magnet MNPS school. Hillwood also offers three nationally recognized "Model Career Academies" and 17+ Advanced Placment courses. I would send my own kids to Hillwood!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 17, 2014

I am proud to say that my daughters attend Hillwood. Since leaving Nashville School of Arfs their grades have skyrocketed!!! Thanks Hillwood!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2012

This school is the worst school I have ever been to! I have switched schools three times and none of the were as horrible as Hill wood. The kids call their own school Hill weed instead, which tells you what is going on in there. I am now attending an international school which is requiring me to study pre-calculus. I am behind in math because I was not taught well in Algebra 2, which deals with pre-calculus in some ways. I recommend to any students that are in this school and want to prepare for a university to get out while you still have time; unless if you are past the 10th grade. You will regret this school for the rest of your life if you want to attend a decent university. Oh and there are lots of gang members in the school. If you want to know who they are, all you have to do is just attend the school for about two years. They brag about themselves being in gangs apparently.


Posted October 5, 2012

My daughter is about to graduate in 2013 and has attended Hillwood all four years. Despite many negative comments and rumors we had heard prior to her enrolling as a freshman there, we chose to send her there because we felt strongly about the need to attend public schools. We were extremely pleased and surprised to discover that the school has been and is still continuing to improve it's acadamic stature among metro's finest schools under the leadership of Dr. Chauncey and many of the great teachers there. Hillwood may look like and old has-been great school in the middle of white suburbia, but it is definitley enjoying a rennaisance scholastically with a brand new state of the art library, excellent teachers who really care about the kids graduating and a comprehensive academy of five schools of focus for young adults to choose from to prepare them for college or immediate employment. Like many longtime Bellevue residents and avid supporters of Harpeth Valley and Bellevue schools, we are glad we chose Hillwood for our daughter and she is too. She has really enjoyed her four years there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2012

I've been attending Hillwood High School since freshman year. I'm currently a junior and my experience at Hillwood have been wonderful! The teachers, as well as the students, are very friendly and helpful. Some teachers may be strict but it is your education that they are working on. I'm looking forward to the rest of this year, especially my senior year. I have friends from other high schools that wish they could attend Hillwood, because of the negative environment exposed. You never know how good or bad a school is unless you have a personal experience, and this is mine:Hillwood High School has a very positive environment and no matter how much the students say they hate school, they admit that Hillwood is a lot more better than most other schools. -Class of 2014
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2012

I'm an incoming junior at Hillwood, I've been at Hillwood since my freshman year. Like all schools there are good days, and bad days, some teachers you like, and some teachers you don't like. I have to say out of all schools I have been to Hillwood is the best. With a grant all Freshman and students in the Art/AV academy were issued free laptops. The people are very nice, and all those stereo types like Hillwood having a lot of gangs and drugs is just not true. If I had a child I would enroll them at hillwood!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2011

NCLB Status by School School Name Hillwood Comp High School Met AYP2011 No Prior Status (2010-2011) Target New Status (2011-2012) Target HS ACT Summary/Percent of Class of 2010 scoring 21+ on ACT in Metro Schools. Hillwood 21% Hillwood only offers 3 of 6 Academies available The Academy of Art, Design & Communication The Academy of Business & Hospitality The Academy of Health Sciences


Posted May 23, 2011

Highest graduation rate in Nashville (next to Hume Fogg) Highest AYP in Nashville, Best Faculty in Nashville and the BEst Principal by far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

I am in AP English and Science and I can tell you that is a lie about combining AP/Honors classes with the general Populatio! I am a junior and have yet to see gang or drug activity. This is the best HS in Metro!


Posted May 16, 2011

I am a 9th grader this year and I can most definitely say Hillwood has been an eye-opening experience, in a good way. I'm taking a 12th grade level AP class as a freshman and find it extremely challenging, very engaging, and I can easily say it is my favorite class. The current head principal has made so many improvements to this school including Hillwoods overall reputation. I'm honored to be a student here. 9 out of 10 of my teachers are young and committed to their classroom and students and are what make Hillwood an amazing school. Basically, the teachers are incredible. Its many up sides are over looked because of the things that can happen at any school; drugs and violence. I have NEVER felt in harms way at this school and as long as you stay with the right crowds, other peoples bad choices will not affect you. I hope I have the chance of staying here all through high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2010

Hillwood is one of the worst public schools in the area with drugs, gangs, incompetent staff, and plenty of school bureaucracy. Lets just hope that the charter schools, which have been successful in other cities, will gain more support and funding.


Posted July 25, 2010

My son is goin this school. he is freshman. he has no problem with anything. i would highly recommend you this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

The faculty of this school is lazy at best, overbearing at worst, and there doesn't seem to be anyone in between who is actually interested in *reaching* the kids. I have a daughter in honors English who never has homework in that class or any other. As a parent, I'm disappointed in the administration, and shocked and offended at my own personal treatment by certain members of staff, which I find absolutely unacceptable. I have never in my life been treated with such disregard and disrespect. Administration subscribing to the 'old Southern guard' need to be fired to make way for advisors and staff that actually want to understand, nurture and guide the students (and respect the parents!). As for environment - no money to properly support athletic/extracurricular programs, and roaches in the classrooms. That does not say 'we care about you' to students, now, does it?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

This school is great! it has anything you'd ever want a school to have. Go Toppers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2008

I am a freshman here at hillwood high and i must say that hillwood is just not a very nice school, my first year herre and all though all my sisters and brothers attended. It has never had a good reveiew. Its the most disgusting school and im tired of all the things they say they are going to do but they dont. Its cruel and mean! 12-10-08! freshman 2012
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2008

O attended hhs for three years and I think it's a terrible school. As an AP student I expected that my AP classes would be just for AP/IB students but do to over crowding many of my AP classes had students in them that belonged in normal and some even slow learner classes. Many of the teachers are tired and don't seem to care very much about the students. I value my education a great deal but I didn't feel that the staff and administration valued my education. They need students for funding and they don't care about the individual student we all just look like dollar signs to principal Karl Lang. Two of they most loved and best staff members (Brain Mast/Mrs. Moore) were moved to another school. The only good thng I have to say about Hillwood is that Mrs. Kym Dukes, one of the guidance counselors, is amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2007

I have had 1 son graduate, I son in his third year...and another who needs special education for dyslexia, and there is no way he'll ever attend this school. My middle son brought home A's in his English course as a Junior, while never bringing home any homework, or EVER writing a paper of any significance. My son will have the shock of his life when he enters college English class. Thanks to bussing, the school has discipline problems. The counselors have been virtually incompetent, never 'guiding' the kids in their classes or holding the college bound kids accountable. The school is treading water and is the poorest excuse for education I've ever seen. I'm college educated and came from one of the poorest schools in the state. Metro should be able to do better!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

Hillwood is a good school with some bad teachers who just do not care. The 11th grade principal is do disrespectful to the parents of the students. Thank goodness for Mr. Lang. He is really great. I would recommend this high school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

My son was a Sophomore this year and had no problems out of the ordinary. He enjoyed the school curriculum and was active in sports which were well attended and supported by Mr. Lang the principal. I have a second son that will attend next year as a Freshman as well as my older son as a Junior so I would have no problem recommending this school to anyone on the west side of Nashville.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
25%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
8%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
50%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
57%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
51%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
28%
U.S. History

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students54%
African American44%
Asian88%
Hispanic38%
White61%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learners15%

Algebra II

All Students17%
African American8%
Asian31%
Hispanic17%
White20%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learners6%

Biology I

All Students42%
African American36%
Asian59%
Hispanic28%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learners18%

English I

All Students62%
African American47%
Asian84%
Hispanic36%
White74%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students51%
African American40%
Asian53%
Hispanic38%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learners17%

English III

All Students27%
African American21%
Asian33%
Hispanic17%
White32%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students89%
African American78%
Asian94%
Hispanic95%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learners50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 67%
Black 36% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 2%
Hispanic 8% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:05 am
School end time
  • 2:05 am
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Steve Chauncy

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 Davidson Rd
Nashville, TN 37205
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 353-2025

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Cecilia Academy
Nashville, TN


The Ensworth School
Nashville, TN



Harpeth Hall School
Nashville, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT