Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hume - Fogg High Academic Magnet

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 18, 2006

This is my sons first year at hume fogg and we love the school. He looks forward to going to school every day. The Teachers are amazing. They love what they do. I believe my son will be better prepared for college because he went there. The academic program is outstanding. the diverse student body make everyone feel welcome. the extracurricular clubs are numerous and students are encouraged to take a leadership rule in creating new clubs. The school instills in their students a strong sense of community service amongst the students and goes out of their way to introduce to their students to opportunities to volunteer in the nashville area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

My son graduated from Hume Fogg in 2000 and went on to one of the most rigorous and selective schools in America. He was not even a 'top tier' student at HFA but still managed this due to the nature of the program offered. Now my daughter is entering her senior year there and is aspiring to the same type of college experience. While it is hard to know whether she will experience the same success we have every reason to believe that she will. This is the most wonderful,unique school! One of the other raters questioned whether the quality of the program had declined in recent years. I can assure you it has not. Luck plays a large part in it whether you get in because of the lottery. If your child attends, they will be challenged academically and will make friends to last a lifetime, both student and faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2005

Hume Fogg is an amazing school, and this school is where you can definetely tell yourself that grades aren't everything. To see my child come home and see what she has learned is a gift to my heart, and I am blessed to get that gift every single day because of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

I am in love with Hume Fogg. Although it is only my second year, I feel as if it is my home. My closest family is at school, and my life depends on the community of the school. The teachers excel in what they do, whether it's teaching a whole new language or even teaching the basics of the violin. Hume Fogg has taught me to be a leader. 'Don't follow me, get in front of me and be a leader, not a follower,' Mr. Ward said to me today as I was heading up the stairs. I truly am a leader here at Hume Fogg. I come to tears just imagining the all-nighters I pulled and countless hours of AP essays I have to do. Recalling the harsh B's and C's on exams, but, you see, grades aren't everything...it's what you learn. And Hume Fogg is JUST the place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2004

My daughter is a sophomore this year at Hume Fogg and I can not say enough great things about the school,the teachers, and the other students. I would recommend this school to anyone that wants to have an accelerated chance to prepare for college and to get an excellent learnig experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2004

My daughter graduated in 2003 and is now at a highly demanding college. She is handling it well due to the great education at Hume-Fogg. Very diverse and talented student body, dedicated teachers, dynamic administrators. She transferred to Hume-Fogg from MLK, which is also a great school, but Hume-Fogg was better suited to her. My son is now a sophomore at Hume-Fogg and having a much different but equally good educational experience. I teach at Vanderbilt University and always enjoy having both Hume-Fogg and MLK students in my classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Hume-Fogg is a great school. I consider it to be a college prep school. It challenges every student that walks into the door. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

It's been a while, but my son, John Jacob, graduated in 1998. I can definitely say at that time, the kids were the most diverse and well rounded individuals. However since then there has been much speculation that the school has been on a decline due to the students that now fill its halls. It might be too easy to get into nowadays. Whereas the cross town rival MLK has even been said to have won the battle of midtown magnet schools and I can't really disagree.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My daughter, who is a senior this year, has had a wonderful experience at Hume-Fogg. The teachers and the leadership are second to none. The courses are rigorous which will prepare her for college. Because of leadership provided by the guidance office, Hume-Fogg has an exceptional reputation with college admission counselors who already know the quality of students that the school graduates. My daughter will be more than prepared to make her mark on the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2003

Both my daughters graduated from Humes Fogg and they have had no trouble going on with the rest of their life in a very productive way. While I cannot give Humes Fogg all the credit, I do believe they they supported the academic standards that my wife and I set for our girls in our home.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
98%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
99%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
96%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students92%
African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 67%
Black 22% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 2%
Hispanic 5% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 Broadway
Nashville, TN 37203
Phone: (615) 291-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Keystone School
Nashville, TN



Wallace Academy
Nashville, TN


Hermitage Hall
Nashville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT