Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hume - Fogg High Academic Magnet

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 29, 2013

Welcome to Hume-Fogg High School- where the pressure to succeed is high and grades define your intelligence. The academic environment is centered on one type of student- the kind of student that is able to learn at a rapid pace but still keeps his or her sanity. I'm not exaggerating one bit; this school provides every student with a rigorous college prep curriculum. I'm a junior at this school, and honestly my time here has been less than ideal. Despite my setbacks, however, I believe that any student can succeed at HFA if he or she is motivated and works hard. The opportunities here are tremendous, and at the end of the day I am grateful to one day be able to call this school my alma mater.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2005

As 2010 graduate of Hume-Fogg, I can say first hand that it is a great school, and I am a proud alum. I attend a top 20 university, and although it can be a bit difficult, Hume-Fogg has prepared me with the knowledge, study skills, note taking, and other skills that my fellow peers here lack. You may even here some alums say college is easier than Hume-Fogg. In addition to wonderful academics, Hume-Fogg's extracurriculars are top notch as well. The theater, band, visual art, and choral department are notorious around the country for their achievements. A large portion of student are involved in sports as well as many other extracurricular activities. The teachers are some of the best in the state, I have grown close to many and have befriended them outside of the classroom. If you have the opportunity to attend Hume-Fogg do so, it's wonderful, however, it is not for all. It is academically challenging, but if willing to do the work, it is definitely worth it. It was honestly the best four years of my life to date.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2011

HFA is an loutstanding school for the academically PREPARED student. It is an Optional, College Prep school and is NOT a school for the average student by design. The curriculum is rigorous, but the kids still had lots of fun. As an active member of the PTO, I chaperoned many dances, attended band performances and competitions, etc. My son graduated from HFA in 2002, he aced the Math SAT and was highly recruited by top knotch universities. He is an engineer and has never had any difficulty finding employment. If you have a child who has shown that he/she can academically perform at a high level, you will not find a better school (public or private).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

This school is absolutely incredible. I'm a senior at Hume Fogg, and I love my teachers. I have many friends that graduated last year, and most of them tell me that college is a breeze compared to Hume Fogg. The teachers are amazing and love their areas. They are so easy to talk to, and it is not uncommon for them to give out their phone numbers for us to call them with any issues. If you have the choice to come here or send your child here, please do so with no regrets. It is definitely worth it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2010

I am currently a sophomore enrolled here, and it can be a bit overwhelming at times. But, It is a great school with some awesome teachers and a wide range of subjects. I would not trade it for ANY other school. And to make it better the building is a million years old with a sick basement.(sick in a good way)
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2010

Hume-Fogg is a college preparatory school, and its curriculum is mirrored as the recommended curriculum on selective college web sites:4 years of math, 4 years of science, 4 years of language (hopefully the same one); 4 years of English lit/composition, and history/government. H-F also requires a semester of economics. While this leaves room for fewer electives, a college preparatory curriculum is designed to give students a solid foundation tn many disciplines, so they're ready to specialize once they start college. H-F also offers a huge advantage many public schools are sadly lacking: Students are there because they want to learn, and teachers are there because they want to teach intellectually engaged, capable students. H-F is a United Nations of good students. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a solid college preparatory education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2010

I spent my entire school career in the Metro Public school system in Nashville, and this school is a God send to the county. The teachers and curriculum challenged me in a way that no other school was able to achieve. Hume Fogg prepared me so much for college that most of my freshman classes were easier than those I took in high school.


Posted August 14, 2010

I'm an alumni of Hume Fogg Academic Magnet High School. Hume Fogg has excellent teachers, guidance counselors, and principal/vice principal. The enriching environment and classes are very conducive for learning and college preparation. As a college freshman, I felt much better prepared (not only academically, but also mentally and emotionally) than did most of my classmates.


Posted February 23, 2010

Hume Fogg was a big help for college and I made life long friends. The teachers are all fully dedicated!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2009

I didn't want to come to this school in the first place, but I am so glad that I did. The teachers are super amazing because they actually teach, and they actually know what they're teaching. They make it fun and easy to learn/relate to. The people here are very respectful, and I feel more secure here. I admit that this school is pretty tough and that sometimes people feel like it's not fair. Well, it is fair because it has almost everything to prepare students for college and reality. If people bail out of this school, that's their choice. If they can't take the heat from Hume-Fogg, then there's probably some place that will better suit them. However, the difficulty at Hume-Fogg is like another way to challenge a student. I think it's best to face it than take the shortcut out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2009

I am a freshmen at HFA this year and I absolutely love it! It is definitely the best school I have ever been too, and I am sad about leaving this summer. I have made great friends and had great experiences. It not only has great academics, but has awesome sports and amazing talents in singing and acting. In short: best school ever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2008

I have just graduated from HFA this past spring of 2008. I was just looking up for a decent middle/elementary school for my young sisters to attend as I stumbled upon this site. As I have realized, through both personal experience and others' reviews, that most regular public middle schools in Davidson lack the academic rigor and care for its students, which worries me tremendously. Now, as I look back upon my fours years in this marvelous institution, I am truly grateful for everything it has provided for me - its caring faculty, its brilliant, talented, and diverse student body...this is a place where one can call HOME.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2008

You can't get any better than this. Teachers TEACH at this school, don't just grade it to make him/her look good. God Bless everybody here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2008

I'm currently a sophomore at Hume-Fogg and I love it, but it's not perfect (no high school is perfect, of course) as people might think it is. It has a great environment compared to other schools and the academics are challenging, but rewarding. I have a lot of friends and I just know that I'll be prepared for college. However, to all the parents, if your child doesn't wanna go to HFA or wants to drop out and go to his/her zone-school, then let him/her because he/she will cause problems for the school and will definitely not do well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2008

Hume-Fogg has a great reputation for academics and while this is mainly deserved, Hume-Fogg falls short on several other things. First, the curriculum is very structured leaving little room for any real electives. For the studnet that does not thrive under these conditions, there is little to no support. HFA would prefer those students to leave the school even if it is in the middle of their senior year. Hume-Fogg fosters a very elitist atmosphere and does not want to acknowledge it has faults little less adress those faults. If I had another chance, I'm not sure I would have sent my children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

I am currently a sophomore at Hume-Fogg. I must say that Hume-Fogg is not for everyone, and in fact I have been in the magnet system since middle school. I do think Hume-Fogg is an excellent school. Note that Hume-Fogg is difficult. Freshman year is a breeze and teachers still baby the students. prepared whatsoever. I am in an AP and believe me it is one of the hardest classes I have ever taken. I do realize AP classes are difficult, but the problem is that some teachers just give you the work and do not do anything but teach from the book. And the person speaking on math is completely right. I am a 3.5 student, but my average has gone downNow, in my second year I have felt I have not been because of this. I think Hume-Fogg opens doors, but be prepared to have difficulty with the knobs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2008

Hume-Fogg, while a strong school, is hardly the 'be-all-and-end-all' of academic excellence it likes to present itself as. It's a good school for a certain 'type' of student: the type who equates grades with intelligence and for whom academics is life. It favors a classical education over creativity, and if you don't fit the mold you won't likely enjoy your time there. Or, your time there won't be very long, as the school will often 'strongly encourage' students to go elsewhere, even up to the second semester of senior year. The school also takes a very 'figure it out yourself' approach to math, with most math classes featuring the teacher writing the material on the board and the students copying it down. It's also highly elitist, not simply in academics but in the attitude as a whole: 'We're better than you,' is the general sense. This is not to say that it is a bad school per se, and you do get opportunies there that are hard to find elsewhere (although not impossible), but I would suggest thinking long and hard about whether or not it is the kind of atmosphere where you want to spend four years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2007

it pretty awesome here. the learning experience has been great so far! ;)
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2007

Both my sons were fortunate to be accepted at Hume-Fogg. Neither wanted to attend; I made them. After a few short weeks, they realized the prestige and glamour of attending Hume-Fogg. Their circle of friends expanded. They were exposed to classrooms, teachers, and students who thrived on excellence where achievement was lauded rather than castigated by fellow students. They were more than prepared for their first year of college and received credit for some of their classes. I am a proud mom who relished the other parents, their involvement and the attention to academics found at Hume-Fogg. Even the physical 'old' school was endearing to me. My sons, graduates of the University of Tennessee and one, a banker and the other, an Army officer, are proud to say they are alumni of Hume-Fogg.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2006

I graduated from Hume Fogg in 2005, after finishing my first year at the university level, a rigorous university at that, I have been made fully aware of the preparation Hume Fogg provided me with. Bluntly, my first year was a breeze, especially in comparison to my scholastic schedule at Hume Fogg. I was even encouraged by my general studies english teacher to
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
98%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

243 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
99%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
96%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students92%
African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 67%
Black 22% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 2%
Hispanic 5% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 Broadway
Nashville, TN 37203
Phone: (615) 291-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Keystone School
Nashville, TN



Wallace Academy
Nashville, TN


Hermitage Hall
Nashville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT