Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Isaac Litton Middle School

Public | 5-8 | 310 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

isaac litton middle school My daughter attends this school and Mr. Bruno I love. I have known him for a few years since my son also went there. He is really passionate about the students learning and he has always had a open door policy. The 6th grade teachers are great and last year the 5th grade went out of their way to teach the kids. Overall a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

This is our first year at Isaac Litton and we have been thrilled. As a parent I feel confident everyday when I drop my daughter off that she is in a nurturing environment where she is being challenged and given the opportunity to grow and learn. Not only am I happy there, but more importantly, my daughter is happy there. She has a great first year of middle school thanks to Mr. Bruno and the 5th grade team!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

We choose Isaac Litton for my daughter for 3 reasons: 1) the class size is much smaller than the average Metro class. My daughter's class has 19 students in it vs. the 30 allowed in many 5/6th grade classes in Metro. 2) the STEM curriculum is truly integrated into each students experience. There is a STEM "elective" that students take at least once a year. Students do small group STEM projects each 9 weeks. And a VU staff person visits the school every other week to teach a hands-on science lesson during the science class. 3) We can't say enough about the principal, Mr. Bruno. He is engaged-- personally meeting w/ each 5th grader to set DEA goals for them. He is hands on, very present in the school, and has established a culture where bad behavior is swiftly dealt with and good behavior is rewarded through initiatives such as the LION program. He understands the need to raise TCAP scores but also understands the "whole" child--- evidenced by things like the garden that was planted on school property so that students will have the chance to take fresh produce home and enjoy good nutrition. The teaching staff handle classroom management well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

Our son is a 5th grade student at Litton. Like many parents we were nervous about the transition from elem. to middle school. We have been so thankful for the seamless transition we have experienced with starting middle school. Mr. Bruno & his staff have done a wonderful job of introducing appropriate opportunities for independence as well as added responsibilities. In addition to the positive environment we experience when we are in the building we have also been pleased with his teachers. They have done an excellent job of determining where he is at academically & have worked to provide him with work that is on his level & challenging. Mr. Bruno has met with him (as he does all 5th graders) to talk about goals for the year as well as ways he can improve & grow. The highest vote of confidence we can give is to say that while our son has the grades to allow him to apply to the academic magnets we have chosen to keep him at Litton. There is genuine care for all the students at Litton as well as our larger community that is not to be taken for granted. We truly feel as if we are partners with the staff in our sons education & we are thankful to be at this school in particular.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

Isaac Litton Middle School is a well-maintained, smaller school. The few hundred students interact well with one another, yet they have enough 'space' to develop their own personalities. This can easily be seen with policies (such as the demerit system) throughout the school. To go along with that, the children are rewarded (which they enjoy) for their good behavior. As a parent, I am able to see what my children are learning and that they are learning up to date material at school. The main area I believe that there is room for growth in is Physical Education. It would be helpful if more/other options are presented to the children as to not single them out. - All around, this is a good school if any effort is put forth to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

Litton is a great middle school. For years, this was not the case. But under the positive leadership of Mr.Bruno, this school has been totally transformed. I have two kids here, and they love going to school every day. The principal is personally involved with every student in the building, and is incredibly responsive to parent concerns. He always makes himself available. The teachers are also very involved. Many often go to their students' out of school sports events and activities on weekends! Students are given tons of incentives to behave, and they are motivated to do their best, rather than being threatened and coerced. Mr. Bruno has the rare ability to facilitate a very orderly environment while still being extremely positive. Kids are respected, and they give respect in return. I have a middle school teaching background, and this is, by far, the most socially and emotionally healthy middle school environment I've ever seen. Skills are taught to mastery, which means students are given chances to retake assessments until they have learned and succeeded. This is a lot of extra work for teachers, but they do what's best for kids. Parent involvement is low, but rapidly growing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

This school is not focused on students academics, it is more focused on behavior. THis is not the school for a child that is trying to learn and succeed academically. This principle nor any of the 6th grade teachers has the childs best interest at heart. They have a serious lack in communication when it comes to parent teacher involvement, instead of offering all the help they can to kids for them to learn and make good grades they just allow children to fall by the waist side. THey do not inform parents of issues with their children, and then blame the parent when they dont know what is going on. THe principle and assistant principle have alot of parents fooled. They will treat your child one way in your face and then the total opposite when your gone. PLEASE PLEASE reconsider sending your child to this school, unless your only looking for a day time babysitter and not a education for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2013

This school is not for a child who loves to learn. I feel bad for the handful of kids who are missing out on a good education. This school is filled with kids who love bad attention. They're disrespectful to their teachers and kids around them. The teachers have to go over and over and I mean over the same stuff in class because 90% of the kids are interested in being cool and to them being cool means being disrespectful and not paying attention to the teacher and so the handful of good kids have to deal with these issues and they aren't learning a thing. The principal says he changed the hallway issues but that's not 100% true. There's still issues in the hallways. BUT most importantly he needs to changed the classroom issues!!! My child has learned nothing new so far at this school. If your child wants to learn I'd advise you to not go here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

ILMS is a great school and it is due in large part to the great administration. Not only has Mr. Bruno set the tone of excellence in the school, he knows where every child is academically and personally sets goals with them so they are encouraged to be their best as well. This is a community school where good things are happening because parents, students, faculty, and staff are all working together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

Last year my daughter was in the 5th grade at Litton. It was a great year. I don't know about this year yet, we will see once they have been in a few weeks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

Litton last year was over the top. The teachers for 5th grade was excellent and the prinicipal Mr. Bruno is exceptional. I don't know what 6th grade will be like but we will see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

I went here for 5th grade and this this school pitiful. I have been made fun of by students and teachers(ms.Jennings). Ms.Russell doesn't even teach. Well, just say if you want your kid to be able to write the pledge forwards and backwards send you kid here because they will make you write it tell your hand hurts.


Posted April 22, 2013

I have been teaching at Litton since 2008. I'll admit, in 2008, LMS was not a good place to be. However, in 2009, Mr. Bruno became the assistant Principal and turned everything around. He has instated a discipline plan that uses demerits (so small misbehaviors are dealt with instantly). It gives constant feedback for bad behaviors and gives positive consequences for good behaviors (students earn intramurals by not getting demerits.) As a result of bad behaviors being dealt with, learning is the main focus at LMS. Check out our scores! We keep improving by leaps and bounds.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 18, 2013

My daughter is a 5th grader at Litton. First of all I want to start off saying how great the school and the there staff are. The teachers and Mr Bruno go out of their way to teach your children. My son had went there and his 5th grade was horrible. They had different administration and basically they didnt care. But as my sons 6th grade year Mr. Bruno came in as the vice principal. It was getting better already. By the time my son went into the 7th grade Mr. Bruno had been promoted to head principal. The changes started to happen. Now since my daughter is there, Mr Bruno has hired new teachers and the non deserving teachers are gone so Litton is at its high peak again. Litton used to be great a long time ago and now it is back. Great Job Mr Bruno and Staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

The principal at Litton is awesome. He does not take anything off from the students. He is fair and always has a open door policy to students and parents. Since he has been head principal, you can go visit the school during class change and you would not even know this is what was happening. The teachers are great in the 8th grade as well as last year for the 7th. Mr. Bruno has been head principal since last school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

I miss the old Litton Middle for my oldest, I miss some of Metro's great teachers that were at Litton, I miss extra-curricular activities like Chorus. The atmosphere changed this year and so I changed school for my oldest to East Literature Magnet School. I hope there will be a change for the better...soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

this is a wonderful school my two older childern went there and i want my younger child to attend there also
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
11%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
20%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
14%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
12%

2010

 
 
7%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
23%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
16%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
7%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
11%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
18%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
14%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
0%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
8%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
38%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students36%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students38%
African American19%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students75%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students20%
African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students38%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students26%
African American16%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students64%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students20%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students20%
African American19%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White19%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students25%
African American19%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students58%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students15%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White9%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students24%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students31%
African American10%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students72%
African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
40%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 23%
White 42% 67%
Hispanic 6% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4601 Hedgewood Dr
Nashville, TN 37216
Phone: (615) 262-6700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Gra-Mar Middle School
Nashville, TN





Metro Christian Academy
Goodlettsville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT