Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John Overton Comp High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2013

I love John Overton. My child is a Senior there this year. We have had our share of troubles but he is a typical teenager. I think the teachers and principals punish the kids for the "crime" but do not over do it. The teachers look for new ways to communicate with the kids and use social media to connect with them, remind them of homework, etc. The Executive Principal truly cares about the kids and it shows. Parent involvement could be better but has grown more and more over the years. Like all schools, Overton is what you make of it. If you are involved with your children and their school I think you will be pleasantly surprised with Overton. The academies prepare kids for the real world and offer lots of AP courses for advanced students. Overton requires more credits to graduate than the average high school in TN, meaning more classes, more learning. The counselors work with kids on an individual basis and structure classes specific to their interests which continues to keep our kids engaged in learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

This school year I was a freshman at Overton. The first day I walked in to the school I noticed how old and run-down it was and how crowded it was. It's ridiculous. You can barely get to class on time. Overton is a very diverse school, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. But the amount of diversity gets to be a problem regarding fights. There are fights all the time. I almost got hit walking in the hall to class. I didn't feel safe in my own school. Overall, students don't care about the actual "school" part of school. The curriculum here is way too easy. Even my honors' classes weren't a challenge. I couldn't tell a difference between my standard and honors' classes. Also, I've had problems with the teachers here, which has never happened to me; I'm generally a good student. One teacher accused me of plagiarism in front of the whole class for no legitimate reason and another told me she didn't want me in her class next year because I wasn't "enthusiastic enough" and I "didn't care at all" about the class which was not true. Because all of this, my mom said she's not letting me go here next year. I can't blame her. I wouldn't want my child going here either. This school is a joke.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2013

Horrible school!!! If you can move, do it but don't put your child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

johs is a terrible school. They do NOT take bullying seriously. I had a child that told on a student about bullying and nothing was done & enabled the bully even more. They do not punish fairly. They don't care about the students. They don't discuss college things for seniors. They are terrible faculty!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2012

What can I say about John Overton High School.... It's definitely not like what it was back in the 1990's when the school was considered as a model school for Metro Public Schools. At the time, the school had an excellent sports program and of coarse, the famous Overton Marching Band that had won many state championships.The PTO did everything they could to support the school therefore when funding was down, the parents had chipped in to help their children's school.(Not like they needed much funding back then). Therefore, teachers were determined to educate the students for college preparation and for their future work. Nowadays, John Overton H.S is a very diverse setting with students from all over the world and from all walks of life. What used to be a Caucasian dominated school is now one of many races etc. With the changing of demographics, the once strong PTO shifted to minimal PTO involvement and with that, the school required Title 1 funding. With the diversity building , the atmosphere at Overton began to change and school fights began to happen more and more frequently. The teachers then had to deal with that type of behavior which caused many of them to give up..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

I do not like any of the public schools that are in Davidson County the teachers do not want to be there to teach. Some teachers do care but they are the minority in the schools for the most part public schools do not challenge children. The classroom ratios are to many children to one teacher therefore learning is diminished. Discipline was taken out of the school and the children do what they want with little or no punishment for their actions. Teachers are afraid of some students and no respect is had between the teacher and students.Principles and teachers will tell the parents one thing and do another.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2011

This school continues to withhold my report card for unknown reasons.It is also very crowded.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2011

I have a Junior that attends Overton. We love the school. She has been challenged academically and some of the most amazing Honors and AP teachers. Besides teaching her just the academics, they teach her other life lessons as well. I appreicate the communication from Dr. Pelham. My daughter is in the band so I am at the school quite frequently. I must say I believe that I have seen him about 95% of the times that I have been there. He speaks to me every time he sees me in the halls. The guidance counselors have been very helpful and have worked with us personally on my daughter's schedule and her goals for getting into college. The opportunities for a great education are available at Overton just like any other school. The students must also take some of the responsibility for making the most of that opportunity as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

Overton is a good academic school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

I think Overton is above average for the Nashville area, which says very little considering Davidson County Schools are probably well below national averages. My son is a Junior and the amount of interaction and feedback received from the principal is dismal. I am at the school at least once a month and I have never seen the principal visible in the open areas. My experiences with the guidance department has been favorable. I never have an issue reaching the guidance counselor or receiving feedback for important issues. The teachers are average: none of them really put themselves out for the benefit of the student. For the most part this school does not have to deal with a lot of disruptive kids, so I don't understand why this school is not able to do more with its resources. Maybe it has to do with the Resource Manager!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

Overton does not have a lot of parent or teacher support. most of the teachers are their for a pay check instead of the needs of their children. there is no parent/teacher relationship. we need a strong team of teachers, parents, principal and guidance counselor. some of the teachers our child have do not even show up for class they always have a substitute. Sad to say but we don't believe in our kids just going through the motion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

I am a student at John Overton High and it is a excellent school. It is very diverse and gives students a chance to meet new people and learn manu things from them that you normally would not have the chance to do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2008

I have a daughter who is a Junior at Overton. She loves everything about Overton. As a Junior we are finalizing college decisions. My son will be attending next year as a Freshman. He is very excited to be attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

I have a senior currently at Overton and I must say, I am disappointed with the direction the school has gone over the past several years. The school is over crowded. No one has taken the time in 4 years to discuss college with my child. I have another child who will be going into high school next year, but they will not be attending Overton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

The teachers really do care (well some of them). I love the school sprirt in the school, even though we have had to wear SSA this year that has not stopped us from getting invovled in every Pep Rally and everything possible. Our new principls is also pretty amazing. He really seems to care and even though there will always be ''bad apples in the bunch'' he always has a positive attitude to make us (the ones who do follow rules and care) feel appreciated. So if your child has to go to a public school JOHS is the one !
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2004

I loved this school very much. I loved being in the marching band, and participating in being a wrestling cheerleader. Being in the activities at school really helped me become who I am today. Thank You John Overton for all you have helped me accomplished.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
30%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
14%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

376 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
45%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

461 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
47%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
50%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
15%
U.S. History

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students35%
African American30%
Asian26%
Hispanic31%
White47%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners9%

Algebra II

All Students18%
African American13%
Asian24%
Hispanic16%
White21%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students34%
African American37%
Asian20%
Hispanic20%
White52%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students45%
African American61%
Asian20%
Hispanic34%
White59%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students45%
African American45%
Asian27%
Hispanic40%
White59%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students23%
African American19%
Asian11%
Hispanic16%
White36%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Asian69%
Hispanic94%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities85%
English language learners67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 37% 67%
Black 25% 23%
Hispanic 25% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4820 Franklin Rd
Nashville, TN 37220
Phone: (615) 333-5135

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Franklin Road Academy
Nashville, TN



Lipscomb Academy
Nashville, TN




River Road Academy
Nashville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT