Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mcgavock Comp High School 1

Posted January 26, 2016
- a parent
School does not work with parents unless students are athletes. Inexperienced principals, teachers, and other staff encourage fighting and suspensions of students after one tardy. Faculty does not care and is inappropriate.

Mcgavock Comp High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
Robbin Wall is great! He is direct which I like and believes all kids should be involved in some extracurricular activity.


Mcgavock Comp High School 4

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
Are daughter attends McGavock High School, and her mother and I have been very impressed with the school and the leadership of principal Robbin Wall. Being new to Nashville, we heard good and bad stories about McGavock and we are glad we gave it a chance. It is a big school filled with diversity and culture, but we are grateful our daughter is being introduced to what the real world is like and being able to foster relationships with people of all different shapes, colors, and ethnic backgrounds. Like all schools your child will get out what they put in.

Mcgavock Comp High School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
My twins attend this school and they love it. We moved from Murfreesboro and the school curriculum is just as challenging as Rutherford County Schools. I love the diversity because the kids are able to socialize with everyone regardless of their race. I'm originally from MI and I was skeptical about moving to TN, but I'm impressed with the schools so far.

Mcgavock Comp High School 4

Posted May 09, 2015
- a parent
For a city the size of Nashville it is a remarkably good school. The academies in specific educational disciplines make the experience good for each student. McGavock is not without its' challenges, but, we have had a very positive experience with teachers making regular phone calls to discuss student progress, excellent extra curricular activities and good communication with the administration. (as of the date of this review my son was a Junior at this school)


Mcgavock Comp High School 5

Posted August 22, 2012
- a student
I'm a new student hear at McGavock but so far the school has been amazing and the teachers and principals are great.and almost all the students hear are friendly and help you if you need help. its truly a great school

Mcgavock Comp High School 4

Posted April 29, 2012
- a parent
I have had two sons graduate from McGavock 10 years apart. Both had typical high school experiences, without any incidents and revieved a good education and went on to good careers. The teachers were great and cared about the students. The key ingredients to any student success at any school is parent involvement and the postive role models they have in their lives.

Mcgavock Comp High School 4

Posted February 26, 2012
- a parent
Reading the reviews below and parent comments are almost comical. I had two children graduate from McGavock. Both were part of the band proram and spent the majority of their time involved with band functions. The school system as a whole is flawed, each and every school in Davidson county will have issues and things that need to be improved. The experience each student has during school, regardless of where they attend, is up to each student and parent. Parents need to remain involved. Just because our kids are in high school doesnt mean mom and dad do not need to know what is happening. Regardless fo what activity your child wants to participate in make be there and be involved. Keep them involved. Students who are involved tend to score higher on standarize test and stay out of trouble. It is ok to get to kow your childs friends and know what is happening in their classrooms. The teachers can only build on what starts at home.


Mcgavock Comp High School 5

Posted February 01, 2011
- a student
Although the school does have a good number of students that don't care about their education, there is a "silent majority" of students that do care about their academics, and the school offers programs that most others don't have yet. For instance, they offer an Air Force JROTC program with great instructors, they have a new Aviation department courtesy of MTSU, we have teachers that treat us like young adults and not little children, and the list goes on and on. So, before you look at the negatives of this school, first look at the opprotunities that it offers.

Mcgavock Comp High School 5

Posted December 05, 2010
- a community member
i am going to this school next year and all my siblings have gone here all 4 years and i have 5 brothers and 6 sisters.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcgavock Comp High School
3150 McGavock Pike, Nashville, TN  37214
(615) 885-8850
Last modified Mcgavock Comp High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mcgavock Comp High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. Top