Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Nashville, TN
Students enrolled: 2,280
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


39 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mcgavock Comp High School 5

Posted August 22, 2012
- a student
I'm a new student hear at McGavock but so far the school has been amazing and the teachers and principals are great.and almost all the students hear are friendly and help you if you need help. its truly a great school

Mcgavock Comp High School 4

Posted April 29, 2012
- a parent
I have had two sons graduate from McGavock 10 years apart. Both had typical high school experiences, without any incidents and revieved a good education and went on to good careers. The teachers were great and cared about the students. The key ingredients to any student success at any school is parent involvement and the postive role models they have in their lives.


Mcgavock Comp High School 4

Posted February 26, 2012
- a parent
Reading the reviews below and parent comments are almost comical. I had two children graduate from McGavock. Both were part of the band proram and spent the majority of their time involved with band functions. The school system as a whole is flawed, each and every school in Davidson county will have issues and things that need to be improved. The experience each student has during school, regardless of where they attend, is up to each student and parent. Parents need to remain involved. Just because our kids are in high school doesnt mean mom and dad do not need to know what is happening. Regardless fo what activity your child wants to participate in make be there and be involved. Keep them involved. Students who are involved tend to score higher on standarize test and stay out of trouble. It is ok to get to kow your childs friends and know what is happening in their classrooms. The teachers can only build on what starts at home.

Mcgavock Comp High School 1

Posted May 30, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is suppose to be attending MGHS next year and as a parent, I'm reading all of these comments these students have written and their spelling, grammar, and punctuation are terrible. I guess that really doesn't say much about the education, does it?

Mcgavock Comp High School 5

Posted February 01, 2011
- a student
Although the school does have a good number of students that don't care about their education, there is a "silent majority" of students that do care about their academics, and the school offers programs that most others don't have yet. For instance, they offer an Air Force JROTC program with great instructors, they have a new Aviation department courtesy of MTSU, we have teachers that treat us like young adults and not little children, and the list goes on and on. So, before you look at the negatives of this school, first look at the opprotunities that it offers.


Mcgavock Comp High School 5

Posted December 05, 2010
- a community member
i am going to this school next year and all my siblings have gone here all 4 years and i have 5 brothers and 6 sisters.

Mcgavock Comp High School 5

Posted April 16, 2010
- a community member
So far as band and its director mr. Beckman...They are tops and his way of discipline is much admired.

Mcgavock Comp High School 4

Posted April 01, 2010
- a parent
I have had two children attend McG and both were part of the band program. The band program is excellent--no doubt. Students can get the educaiton they allow the staff to provide. Each student has the opportuity to get a quality education, the new principal Mr Wall is doing good things at McG. He is trying hard to ensure every student who desires a quality education gets it. The academy program allows students take classes facued on their interest and professional goals. I cant say that every teacher my children had were dedicated and had the students interest in mind. I dont think any school can say this. I am thankful my children had the opportunity to be a part of the band program and receive their education at McG.


Mcgavock Comp High School 0
no rating

Posted February 23, 2010
- a teacher
After reading the parent's comments and those of the students, and after experiencing the lack of effort on the part of a vocal minority of those attending classes here, it's easy to see why the school gets a bad reputation. I see a daily lack of respect for self, community and classmates. Some students refuse to do assigned work, and play with cameras, cell phones, or other toys, and chatter with classmates despite my best efforts to rein in the noisy ones. They throw garbage on the floors every day and generally disrespect the classroom. What are these students taught at home? Do they throw chip bags, soda containers and wrappers on the living room floor at home? Probably....

Mcgavock Comp High School 0
no rating

Posted January 10, 2010
- a parent
The band and music programs are fantastic. The student body is highly diversified. The quality of education that you desire is available for all. I now know several students attending MTSU, Ut, Knoxville, Ut Chattanoga,and various schools of higher learning. These students understood the meaning of education and were motivated and inspired by many on the McGavock staff. I also know of some real failures. The quality of education begins in the home environment. It is difficult to teach a person who is not properly motivated by encouraging parents, friends, and relatives. McGavock is not a school that replaces parental responsibility. If you expect the teaching staff to do more than baby sit your young folks, you must be involved in the students life.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcgavock Comp High School
3150 McGavock Pk, Nashville, TN  37214
(615) 885-8850
Last modified Mcgavock Comp High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mcgavock Comp High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. Top