Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Norman Binkley Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2014

I love this school! I went here K-4, now my son goes here and is in 2nd grade. They have done a lot of great expansion since I went here! Very excited for the years to come
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Norman Binkley is awesome! Principal Urquhart and his staff have done an amazing job turning this school around. There has been huge improvements in test scores and parent engagement. The renovation and new addition allows everyone to see how great this neighborhood treasure really is - inside and out!


Posted April 28, 2014

Norman Binkley is an elementary school where the teachers care about your children. They want to see each and every student in their classes make as much academic and emotional growth as they can. The school is very diverse and all of the teachers are trained in teaching students whose first language isn't English.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2014

Norman Binkley Elementary School is a hidden gem in the MNPS schools! We are a small school, staying with a student population around or right below 500 students. It's not too big so the teachers get to know the students in their grade level, along with getting to know the other kiddos too. The students see that the teachers truly care about each other and it shows with the relationships/friendships that you see throughout the building. The teachers and students work extremely hard here at Binkley! We might have a diverse population, but they become solid students academically. Not only are we teaching them academically, we're building life-long learners who want to learn with great positive attitudes!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 27, 2014

Our school is being renovated. It should be complete by August 2014. This building is going to be amazing. We will have a model MNPS media center, art room, new classrooms, computer lab, a community room, and a new music room. Our technology will be updated with iPads and interactive whiteboards in every classroom. Our "new" building will accommodate our wonderfully diverse multicultural population. Our faculty will continue to encourage our students to strive to meet individual academic goals, as well as embrace different cultures at our school. Although our building is new, our vision remains the same: to develop life-long learners who are prepared for college and career.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 27, 2014

Norman Binkley is the best school in Nashville! I have visited several schools over the years and can honestly say that Norman Binkley has such a great sense of community with hard working teachers and staff! I can't imagine a better place to be.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 27, 2014

Norman Binkley is a great little school. The faculty and staff care about all the students. They make a great effort to get to know each child!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

My daughter is a student at Norman Binkley Elementary and we LOVE it! All of the teachers are highly qualified and they take the time to give her the individual attention she needs. The staff at the school plan fun activities outside of school that involve the entire family. The front office staff is always friendly and courteous and very helpful. The school is newly renovated, bright, clean and very inviting. I am proud to be the parent of a Binkley Blue Jay!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

This is a great school! Very lovable, talented teachers! My son attended pre k in this school. We all are so happy about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2011

As a former admisitrator at Norman Binkley and an educator for 40 years (in 8 different Metro Nashville Schools), I can honestly vouch for the high quality staff and vigorious educational standards that are present at Norman Binkley. A good little school, with good kids, good teachers, good parents, in a good community!


Posted October 1, 2011

We are one of the best kept secrets in Metro! Norman Binkley teachers and staff work diligently each day to provide an exceptional learning program for each student. Although, like all schools, we have a few issues such as space constraints, we manage to keep our focus on our students as our top priority. While we have many portable classrooms lined up in the back of our park-like setting, it remains an extremely safe and secure school. New leadership has proven to be positive for the students, teachers and families of Norman Binkley. We are a data-driven school that is dedicated to providing an exceptional learning environment and program for each individual student at Norman Binkley Elementary through best teaching practices and technology.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 1, 2011

This is a great school and you will find a sense of community as soon as you step in the doors. The faculty and staff are amazing and they do what's best for the students. The students come from all backgrounds which presents challenges, but the teachers are well equipped and ready to help these students. The teachers build a sense of community in their classroom and the students can feel comfortable to be themselves and learn. This school is an older school, but it has great character!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 1, 2011

Norman Binkley is a great school. Both of my children attend here. They are both a special transfers. We decided to send them here because of the small size and experienced and dedicated faculty and staff. My oldest son is now in 4th grade and began Kindergarten at Binkley. He has received a quality education with teachers that care. My younger son is now in 1st grade at Binkley. His teachers have been wonderful and worked hard to give him a solid foundation. If you want quality, well-educated, and caring teachers, you need look no further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2011

This school is a wonderful school. The teachers are caring, competent, and provide strong instruction daily. It does face some challenges, however great efforts are being made to continue to make Norman Binkley the best school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 22, 2010

This is the worst school any of my children have ever attended. Most of the children in our neighborhood have been given special exceptions to other schools due to substandard education and care this school provides.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
19%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
20%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
19%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities92%
English language learners54%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students53%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners27%

Science

All Students58%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learners19%

Social Studies

All Students79%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learners50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
White57%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners17%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students34%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
White43%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learners11%

Science

All Students39%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learners11%

Social Studies

All Students88%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learners72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 45% 7%
White 30% 67%
Black 18% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4700 West Longdale Dr
Nashville, TN 37211
Phone: (615) 333-5037

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Franklin Road Academy
Nashville, TN


The Oak Hill School
Nashville, TN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT