Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stratford Comp High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Ms craig is a great teacher. My child is learning math at this school because of ms Craig.

Stratford Comp High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
The student ambassadors wear suits and introduce new students to the school. They look very professional and well groomed.


Stratford Comp High School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
Excellent new math teacher this year. She really cares about her students and always goes the extra mile. Ms Craig is the best math instructor my child ever had!

Stratford Comp High School 4

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
Still a little ways to go but faculty, staff, and community are doing everything possible to make this a great school. We love Stratford!

Stratford Comp High School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
This was my son s high school, and it is doing fine work in a very mixed, partly inner city neighborhood. He got a good education and made good friends.


Stratford Comp High School 4

Posted June 21, 2008
- a parent
I'm a parent that have one child that just graduated in 2008, and another one that will complete in 2010. I'm not a teacher or a counseler. I help out at the school, and can be found there almost everyday of the week. I feel that this school trains any child that goes to it how to honestly compete in the real world today. I'm very pleased with the support that me and my children have received from this school. The teachers and staff has always been on hand and imformative in any thing my self and children have needed. I help with the sports program s at Stratford,and i must say that i am completely satisfied in the progress my children have made there. My 2008 son passed his act in his 20,s has a2.9 and a scholarship. Bad rep on stratford comes from deadbeat parents in any school.

Stratford Comp High School 2

Posted July 09, 2007
- a teacher
Stratford like many other high schools has had its share of problems. MNPS has worked hard to change and correct problems here. SHS has come along way and the Principals...takes more than one..have worked every hard to get a na handle on this school.

Stratford Comp High School 4

Posted May 17, 2006
- a student
Stratford is on of the best schools in Nashville. I feel that the lack of parent support and pre-conceived notions on the school makes Stratford look bad. Granted, there are some very bad individuals at the school, but that is only because they have not had the proper home training and were allowed to act like buffoons at other educational institutions. Negative criticism, such as those I have been reading in this forum and seeing on the news, is not helping to improve the school's rep, nor is it motivating the students to do better because they are already labeled as failures. Positive encouragement from parents and the commuinity is what is needed to better Stratford. If the students have the community and parents behind them, supporting them in extracurricular activities and the development of better academic programs,there is a better chance of improvement in the school.


Stratford Comp High School 2

Posted February 09, 2006
- a teacher
The leadership in this school is a joke. There are many highly qualified teachers that are there trying to make a difference with the kids. Unfortunately, the total lack of discipline and accountability by the students makes the learning environment all but impossible. The best thing Metro could do is get rid of the principal and put a new principal who will actually require the students to behave and do their work. There needs to be something done and fast before the place becomes nothing more than a war zone between those who actually want an education and those that are just killing time.

Stratford Comp High School 2

Posted November 23, 2004
- a student
I attended this High school for about one year. It does need some work but is an overall ok school. It's not my first choice for a school to attend. If I had the choice I would only go back for my friends, not the acedemic part of it all. Although they have a fairly good IT academy.

Nearby schools

Stratford Comp High School
1800 Stratford Avenue, Nashville, TN  37216
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (615) 262-6730
Last modified Stratford Comp High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top