Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tom Joy Elementary School 1

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
they need to get a program for students that has reading issues, because my son has reading issue and they waited until now to do something about it.

Tom Joy Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2013
- a parent
Judging by the previous posts, Tom Joy has come a long way. Except for the sloppy dismissal, it's a great school. My daughter is doing better there than some children I know from some of the higher rated schools. My daughter is above her reading level and she is an E student. Her 1st grade teacher, Mrs. Buchanan, is more than I could ever ask for. I don't know what these ratings are based on but Tom Joy is definitely on a much higher level than 1.


Tom Joy Elementary School 4

Posted February 23, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is a second grade student at Tom Joy Elementary. I love the school and she has enjoyed her experience there thus far. My child's teacher is very loving and goes above and beyond. The principal is very supportive and visible as well. I get to speak with her almost daily at dismissal as she is out front participating with dismissal duty most days. The school has a very welcoming atmosphere and dedicated teachers. I hope that everyone's experience is as good as my family's has been.

Tom Joy Elementary School 2

Posted December 02, 2008
- a community member
The' teachers does not have enough patience with the kids, they are quick to suspend 5 and 6 yr olds without trying to fix the problem, they just don't want to deal with the issues.. The Principal does not appear to have time, they don't have enough extra activities for the kids..

Tom Joy Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Tom Joy Elementary School 2

Posted April 02, 2008
- a parent
Very below the standards that I expect in a school for my child. Very unprofessional attitude of some of the teachers and unwillingness to put in extra effort with children.

Tom Joy Elementary School 1

Posted February 04, 2008
- a parent
My son goes to Tom Joy elementary, I am very unhappy with him going here. He is a A+ student , but the excel classes aren't there like his previous school. Too many children and not enough teachers, Also I don't feel like the students are given the attention they deserve.

Tom Joy Elementary School 4

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
dissmissal i still very unoraganized, teachers need to be more patient and not in a rush t teach there leason plans, need to week or so on one leason plan


Tom Joy Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 27, 2007
- a parent
Tom Joy is a great school. Much higher than the three. Most of the teachers are good and care about the students . If a child is taught to listen and behave at home they will do it at school.

Tom Joy Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 30, 2004
- a parent
I agree with the first review. Not all the teacher's, but the majority seem very stressed and are unproffesional. The dismissal procedure is very unorganized as well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tom Joy Elementary School
2201 Jones Av, Nashville, TN  37207
(615) 262-6724
Last modified Tom Joy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tom Joy Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top