Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8
Public
Nashville, TN
Students enrolled: 480
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


I. T. Creswell Arts Magnet Middle School 3

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
ITC is a decent school. I like that the school offers a variety of art classes. If you are considering this school, I would suggest to stay on top of the all of the faculty. The teachers are very responsive. I have had great success by communicating with them via email.. Now, you may have problems getting a response from the principal. The office plays this "triage" game, which makes it a bit complicated to get a hold of him. And I would suggest for every parent to familiarize themselves with the District's Policy, because sometimes they seem to forget it. Putting all that aside, my child loves this school. I think there are issues with all schools, and if they are not addressed or properly escalated, it will just make matters worse.

I. T. Creswell Arts Magnet Middle School 3

Posted July 24, 2014
- a parent
IT Creswell is a school that is thriving towards excellence. I have been impressed with majority of the teachers and I really like the principal- Dr.Murcray. My only concern has been the treatment of the students by some of the staff. I have witnessed the staff belittling the students. This is a school not a prison!! I have agreed to let my daughter return this upcoming school year in hopes to see some improvements if not I will not let her return the following year. .


I. T. Creswell Arts Magnet Middle School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has thrived during her years at I.T. Creswell. To respond to an earlier comment: the audition and juries process has evolved significantly over the time that we've been with the school, and I have been very impressed not only with the reorganization process, but also with the teachers staff's ability to adapt. ITC seems to just get better every year - articstically AND academically - and the Nasvhille community is definitely taking notice! Now is the perfect time to be a Comet!

I. T. Creswell Arts Magnet Middle School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
I.T. Creswell is an amazing school! It has top notch teachers and administration. It is the perfect school for artistic or creative children, as they are nurtured, valued, and appreciated. Learning is very hands on, project based, and fun for students, making them want to succeed! I have a 6th grader there now, and I am so thanksful we get to be a part of the Creswell family for two more years!

I. T. Creswell Arts Magnet Middle School 1

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
I have had the worst experience sending my child to I.T.Crestwell because he has an IEP. I call the school, visited the school a couple time. I would call and ask for her assistance with my child grades, she would refer me to other teachers instead or taking care of the matter herself. She is in the same location as the teacher that I needed her to talk with about my son grades but she would not help me at all. My child grades being modified by the teachers. It is very heart breaking to meet with the staff and teachers face to face and still receive this kind of treatment about your child. I just wanted all the things that was outline in his IEP to be upheld by the school and the staff. I have left message after message for the Special Education teacher to aide me and my child with the modification of his grades. Here it is two days before school lets out and his grades have not been modified yet. If I'm having such a hard time with getting assistance from the staff. I can just imagine what kind of school year he experience with the staff at I.T. Crestwell.


I. T. Creswell Arts Magnet Middle School 4

Posted February 23, 2011
- a parent
This is a great school compared to the school my chilldren use to attend. Teachers are very nice.

I. T. Creswell Arts Magnet Middle School 5

Posted September 29, 2010
- a parent
This is my son's first year at Creswell. He is a 5th grader coming from a terrible elementary school. Ms. Greco in 5th grade has made a world of difference for my son and the communication is 100% better than his elementary school. I email her and she responds within 2 hours or less. I am very pleased so far with Creswell.

I. T. Creswell Arts Magnet Middle School 3

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
My impression of the professionalism of the staff is very positive. However, the biggest problem that I see is the fact that auditions are not required for admission. An arts magnet school should provide unique opportunities for students who are able to demonstrate some aptitude, or at least interest, in art. In my opinion, there are too many students who are there because they live close by and not because they are serious about art.


I. T. Creswell Arts Magnet Middle School 5

Posted November 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

I. T. Creswell Arts Magnet Middle School 5

Posted August 15, 2009
- a parent
I am excited about Creswell! Over the years, I have seen tremendous growth of the principal, teachers and staff. Everyone is involved in the instructional day of the students. I have come to recognize that the Arts schools seem to bring many different voices from various communities and there is a great effort made to accommodate everyone. While the school is predominately African-American, there is a community feeling there among the teachers and students, with extra effort given to helping impact the cultures of everyone. The 8th grade teachers assert particular efforts to help students prepare for high school. The teachers come with a vast knowledge of not only their subject matter, but they are equipped to handle additional needs of the schools. I love this school, the teachers and administrative staff. They are making a true mark on the community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

I. T. Creswell Arts Magnet Middle School
3500 John Mallette Dr, Nashville, TN  37218
(615) 291-6515
Last modified I. T. Creswell Arts Magnet Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
I. T. Creswell Arts Magnet Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top