Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Martin Luther King Junior Magnet- Pearl High School 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
We feel very fortunate that our daughter is able to attend MLK. She has had an outstanding experience so far. It's very pleasing that there's a school that is challenging for exceptional students. Meeting every need of these high achieving students!

Martin Luther King Junior Magnet- Pearl High School 5

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
Both my son's graduated 2013 and 2006. This is a wonderful school. Both did very well. The teachers and principle are the best. They were well prepared for college.


Martin Luther King Junior Magnet- Pearl High School 5

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
I.ve done my studing on the school and to me it is offering a lot and students are pleased to be attended there. So hopefully my daughter will be attened this environment of happiest this fall.

Martin Luther King Junior Magnet- Pearl High School 5

Posted July 22, 2012
- a parent
Great academics, wonderful extra curricular activities. Parental involvement could be better, but a really great school for bright students. Great leadership.

Martin Luther King Junior Magnet- Pearl High School 5

Posted April 28, 2011
- a community member
i am going to this school and i am thoughoughly impressed with its staff and sense of entilement they have for their school... Cant wait to go to MLK!


Martin Luther King Junior Magnet- Pearl High School 5

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
Outstanding students and teachers. The students are so kind and dedicated at this school that they barely even notice that the building is crumbling around them. There is tremendous camaraderie at this school among the students and the teachers. However, there is very little support from the administration at MLK. Students have to be in charge of their eduction because the administration is not capable of advising the students. The college counsellor is wonderful, but she receives very little support from the administration. The students and parents need more support before the kids reach their Junior year of high school in order to prepare for college application. MLK is an inner city school that consistently out-performs most other high schools in the country, and it's remarkable because they have so little support from their administration and their community. Nashville should be proud of these students who continue to strive for the top, are accepted into the nation's top schools, and earn fabulous scholarships for college. Come on Nashville: Let's support this school and these amazing students and teachers!!!

Martin Luther King Junior Magnet- Pearl High School 3

Posted March 19, 2011
- a community member
MLK is a very unusual system for educating your children. The children are expected to working at least two grades above their age and totally self sufficiently in terms of getting assignments and getting the work done and preparing for tests. The kids at each grade level are treated like they are in college and the pressure is enormous. If your child does not have the self discipline to function this way or the maturity to behave in that environment with that level of freedom then think twice before sending them there. Be aware that keeping up the school standards is a top priority not assisting with your child's individual needs for successful adaptation into this culture. If you child was not in the feeder magnet for this school be aware that success is absolutely impossible unless they hit the ground running and are already for college at 12 years old.

Martin Luther King Junior Magnet- Pearl High School 0
no rating

Posted October 19, 2010
- a parent
MLK Magnet is a wonderful academic magnet school that is one of the most diverse (socio-economically and ethnic-wise) schools in the Davidson County, TN, system. Wonderful administration and teachers, and students who set the bar high for their peers. My son graduated from this school and has gone on to UT-Knoxville with great success and my daughter is a junior at this school. The parent support for this school is great; however, the older, historic school building / facilities are in dire need of attention and this would be a great boost to the wonderful learning that goes on there to be able to attend to some of the physical needs of the school with these funds!


Martin Luther King Junior Magnet- Pearl High School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
Great school, great preparation for college, and great teachers

Martin Luther King Junior Magnet- Pearl High School 5

Posted September 28, 2010
- a community member
It has been an inspiration for my Grandson in his goal to excel as an engineer. 5 shout outs for Nashville's Martin Luther King Junior Magnet-Pearl High School

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Martin Luther King Junior Magnet- Pearl High School
613 17th Ave North, Nashville, TN  37203
(615) 329-8400
Last modified Martin Luther King Junior Magnet- Pearl High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Martin Luther King Junior Magnet- Pearl High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top