Advertisement
Advertisement

Holy Rosary Academy

Private | PK-8 | 359 students

Our school is known for Honor, Responsibility, and Achievement.

 

Living in Nashville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $117,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, April 11, 2014

I would not recommend this school. While there are some wonderful teachers at this school, there are also a couple of teachers that have no business teaching. I cannot support a school that allows teachers to abuse their power over students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

get the daddy's out of sports give every child a chance the daddy's on the line of any sports need to be removed standing on the line dosn`t mean they know the game they are there to make sure their child child plays two or three coaches are the most you need in any sports( do your job) GET THE DADS OUT OF SPORTS GIVE EVERY BODY A CHANCE IN SPORTS FOR A BETTER SCHOOL IF YOU ARE SCARED OF THE DADS GET OUT OF COACHING


Posted June 11, 2013

I agree with the parent who complained about the sports situation at Holy Rosary. If your child is not a star athlete who can score a gazillion points per game, they are going to be on the bench. Sometimes there are too many players and the coaches play the same players over and over because they think they are better than the others. There was one coach who had a daughter on the team: she played every minute of every game, every time, even when she screwed up repeatedly. Meanwhile, all the parents who drove 45 miles to the game ended up watching their kid on the bench. One day the team my child was part of spent 7 hours after school at tournament games where she played a grand total of 60 seconds, and some played not at all. I know we are not alone in having these experiences: I imagine it is quite common in a lot of middle school sports. My advice is to skip the sports at Holy Rosary and spend the time doing more useful activities. Unless you are going to coach or co-coach the team, your child will not be given the practice/play time to improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

HRA is challenging academically which is good, but if your child struggles a bit they are made to feel not up to par. It's like this.....if your child is a "cookie cutter" child with no issues then great you will have no issues with this school. If they aren't what I call "cookie cutter" children then you will be frustrated at this school. Also I must tell you that in sports, IT'S ALL DADDY BALL! The teams aren't that great but your child doesn't have much of a chance to excel if you yourself are not friends with the coach(which is always a dad), or your child isn't friends with the coach's son. These daddy ball parents crack me up and upset me at the same time b/c they really think they are something. It's pathetic and hard to explain to a child. Unfortunately, this is what happens when you rely on volunteers. While I realize this happens at a lof of schools, this school of alumni parents takes the cake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2013

Great school! More demanding academically than public schools but your child's abilities will be increased because of that. My child is doing work that his friends in the grade above him in public schools are not doing yet. Cross country running and tennis are available to all students beginning in kindergarten. Spanish starts in kindergarten and continues every year. Visit the school. You will not see kids running and pushing in the halls. They are taught morals and manners as well as religion. Worth every penny I have spent and more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

Our first year at Holy Rosary Academy has been a huge success. The devotion of the staff/teachers/parents is evident. I believe that Holy Rosary encompasses all the qualities/tools that contribute to the academic and social success of it's students. There has been a focus on academics, public speaking, physical fitness, and community. We are a highly academically focused family and carefully researched HRA before choosing this school for our children. HRA has exceeded our expectations and we are impressed with this past school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

I have two children at Holy Rosary Academy currently and they both love it. They are encouraged every day to do great work and the entire faculty and staff provided a great atmosphere and environment for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2009

We love this school! The teachers made the kindergarten transition painless for our daughter. She never shed a tear and loves going to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

My daughter attended Holy Rosary Academy and it was the finest school she or her sister had the privilege of attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

Its ok, yeah there arent alot of help for children with disabilitys, but it is a great school for your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2003

There is an emphasis on rote learning, no help for children with disabilities, and preferential treatment for familial ties. Academics are geared towards middle/high children.


Posted August 26, 2003

My child loves to go to school. he comes home happy and loves to learn. Holy Rosary Academy is a wonderful school. the teachers work great with the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 69%
Asian 7% N/A
Hispanic 4% 5%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Black 1% 25%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School social worker/counselors(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • U.S. Department of Education Blue Ribbon School (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Betty Reynolds, Ed.D.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • The mission of Holy Rosary Academy is to support and encourage the development of each child's unique set of God given talents by providing a Catholic education grounded in Gospel values and committed to excellence.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
80
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
100
Students typically come from these schools
Metro Nashville Public Schools
Wilson County Public Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Father Ryan High School
Pope John Paul II High School
Area magnet high schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

190 Graylynn Dr
Nashville, TN 37214
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 883-1108

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT