Advertisement
Advertisement

Father Ryan High School

Private | 9-12 | 894 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Nashville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $297,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2013

Father Ryan is an exceptional school that provides a sense of community that goes far beyond the classroom. The different course levels offered academically help your child reach their full potential. The administration, teachers, coaches and counselors are all top notch I'm so glad two of my children had the opportunity to attend such a fine institution. Call and check out the campus .... you will not regret it !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

My son has attendended this school for a year now. This is probably the worst school you could possibly send your child to. It has little to no diversity in their students making "most" of them very similar. No one stands out in any special way. Just a bunch of preppy athletes as my son says. Some teachers single out students and make other students seem lower when everyone should be equal. Teachers dont follow policies by only applying them to some students. My son left and is now attending Hillsboro. Its not a good school and he loves it. Thats what matters. I highly recommend public school if your child isnt really having that great connection with a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

FRHS is an incredible school. I transferred there my junior year in 2006 and was astonished by the strong community and spirit of the school. Father Ryan focuses on producing well-rounded young adults and the things I learned there go far beyond the classroom. Also when I entered college I discovered we were far more prepared academically then the vast majority of our peers. I look forward to sending my children there.


Posted October 13, 2010

Its commitment to the students is outstanding!


Posted October 1, 2007

This is by far the best private school in Middle Tennessee. The teachers, personnel, and coaches are exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2006

Having a 2006 Graduate of FRHS, I have seen first hand what Father Ryan offers students. It not only offers a very solid education, it produces mature, responsible young men and women that can interact with adults in almost any situation. We have been so impressed with FRHS that it was our only choice for our second child, now a freshman at Father Ryan. *There are a lot of changes being implemented this year, including a new principle. With that in mind, my scores are based on what I have experienced up to this current school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2004

We have two children enrolled this year and both are brand new to Father Ryan. We are so happy with how well our children have been embraced by the Father Ryan community. The teachers, administrators, coaches, and students have been so accepting and welcoming to our kids. We've been impressed by the facilities and the teachers. We couldnt have made a better choice for our kids than to attend Father Ryan
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I am an alumni of Father Ryan and I feel that when I went to college I was more than prepared for what was ahead of me. It really is more than a school, it's a family as well.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2003

Fr. Ryan is a wonderful 'community'. There is so much love there and so many wonderful faculty members and students. It truly gets better every year. I feel very blessed to have graduated one child from Fr. Ryan and currently have another there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

I graduated from Father Ryan in 2000 and I am proud to call myself an alumni. Things have changed since I went there but we are still a family. They helped me so much when I was filling out my college applications. Now, I am a Psychology major.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

Just wanted to let everyone know that FRHS is absolutely the best high school in Nashville. I attended FRHS for all 4 years of high school and I too wouldn't want to have experienced high school anywhere else! FRHS keeps making building improvements that are doing nothing but making this school better! Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

father ryan is more than a school its a community you get what you put into it i cant say enough about it i wouldnt want my high school experience any other way
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 69%
Black 3% 25%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Hispanic 2% 5%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Nashville
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 Norwood Dr
Nashville, TN 37204
Phone: (615) 383-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Franklin Road Academy
Nashville, TN





Lipscomb Academy
Nashville, TN


River Road Academy
Nashville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT