Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
933 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Father Ryan High School 1

Posted January 05, 2016
- a community member
The school campus is beautiful but the staff is overwhelming unqualified. They DO NOT follow state guidelines for teachers being certified in their areas of study. They do not do adequate searches for qualified personnel. They hire friends and relatives whether they are qualified or not. TRUTH PEOPLE! Could be a great school but the administration has to go or grow up! Very few scholars come out of this school. If you only care about social you will be semi ok. Sad wasted place!

Father Ryan High School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
Feel part of a community that instills faith and morals. Great education by teachers that are caring and involved. Strong administration that is accessible. A school where everyone is known and can find their niche. Highly recommend to even those students whom are not Catholic. Teachers and coaches that mentor your child and prepare them for college. Loved having the block schedule and various leveled choices in core classes. Teachers always giving the extra time for your child to succeed. Beautiful campus and outstanding leadership team.


Father Ryan High School 2

Posted June 11, 2014
- a student
The school? Very nice. The students? That's a different story. After moving across the country, my family decided to send me to Father Ryan. It was very unwelcoming. I tried to be friendly and talk to people everyday, but it just felt like the students ignored me. I just felt like I didn't fit in. At my old school, I had nice, caring friends. Here I didn't ever even make one. It made me just feel lonely and depressed. I don't recommend this school for people who aren't from Tennessee. It seems like nearly everyone went to Elementary school and Middle school together. Therefore, they already had there group of friends and didn't want new meet new people. Hopefully this problem can be fixed for future students, because I would hate for others to have the same experience I did.

Father Ryan High School 1

Posted February 18, 2013
- a parent
My son has attendended this school for a year now. This is probably the worst school you could possibly send your child to. It has little to no diversity in their students making "most" of them very similar. No one stands out in any special way. Just a bunch of preppy athletes as my son says. Some teachers single out students and make other students seem lower when everyone should be equal. Teachers dont follow policies by only applying them to some students. My son left and is now attending Hillsboro. Its not a good school and he loves it. Thats what matters. I highly recommend public school if your child isnt really having that great connection with a private school.

Father Ryan High School 5

Posted November 02, 2010
- a community member
FRHS is an incredible school. I transferred there my junior year in 2006 and was astonished by the strong community and spirit of the school. Father Ryan focuses on producing well-rounded young adults and the things I learned there go far beyond the classroom. Also when I entered college I discovered we were far more prepared academically then the vast majority of our peers. I look forward to sending my children there.


Father Ryan High School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
Its commitment to the students is outstanding!

Father Ryan High School 5

Posted October 01, 2007
- a parent
This is by far the best private school in Middle Tennessee. The teachers, personnel, and coaches are exceptional.

Father Ryan High School 5

Posted August 11, 2006
- a parent
Having a 2006 Graduate of FRHS, I have seen first hand what Father Ryan offers students. It not only offers a very solid education, it produces mature, responsible young men and women that can interact with adults in almost any situation. We have been so impressed with FRHS that it was our only choice for our second child, now a freshman at Father Ryan. *There are a lot of changes being implemented this year, including a new principle. With that in mind, my scores are based on what I have experienced up to this current school year.


Father Ryan High School 5

Posted October 07, 2004
- a parent
We have two children enrolled this year and both are brand new to Father Ryan. We are so happy with how well our children have been embraced by the Father Ryan community. The teachers, administrators, coaches, and students have been so accepting and welcoming to our kids. We've been impressed by the facilities and the teachers. We couldnt have made a better choice for our kids than to attend Father Ryan

Father Ryan High School 5

Posted February 23, 2004
- a student
I am an alumni of Father Ryan and I feel that when I went to college I was more than prepared for what was ahead of me. It really is more than a school, it's a family as well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Father Ryan High School
700 Norwood Drive, Nashville, TN  37204
(615) 383-4200
Last modified Father Ryan High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Father Ryan High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top