Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Donelson Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 73 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Nashville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $117,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 11, 2007

I'm a former student of DCA and now a parent of a student in 2nd grade. During football season their only focus is on football, during basketball season it was always about basketball.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

My child attended for only 1/2 of a full school year because we were not happy with the behavior of some of her class mates which were influencing her. Academically, my child was not challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

My child has attended DCA since K5 and will be entering 5th grade this school year. DCA is great school as far as Christian leadership. Keep in mind that DCA is a christian and not a college prepratory. Seniors have had difficult times getting into big universities, but the school has had a 98% placement rate since my daughter started there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

We have seen a great improvement over the last 13 years concerning safety and discipline. There are a few (very few) teachers that should not be teaching at any school, but we have found 95 to 98% of the staff are top notch and truly go the extra mile to help the students excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2006

DCA is a good choice for children interested in either sports or marching band, but academics are not a high priority. In general, it is above the other local schools, but it is not the best in the region. Also, while parent involvement is incridible, it can be difficult on working parents.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 7, 2006

This is decent school for children who are very sports minded. Not an incrediibly strong school for children who are interested in attending higher level universities, or for children interested in the music. Great marching band program, but no other music programs available. If you're all about Football, football, football, then this is the place for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

Our child attended this school for K4 and K5 and will be attending this fall for 1st grade. We have been extremely pleased with DCA and all that is has to offer. Parent involvement is stressed and appreciated! The sports departments are A+ and I have been told that the curriculum is a grade-level above what public schools in our area are working on. That's great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2004

This school is a good school if you want a safe and educational environment. It is not for the musically talented because it is definately an athletic school. Overall I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 67%
Black 6% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Danyacrest Drive
Nashville, TN 37214
Phone: (615) 883-2926

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Tenn School For Blind
Nashville, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT