Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-6|Private
81 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Akiva School 4

Posted December 11, 2014
- a parent
2014 has been a total turnaround for Akiva. The new leadership has whipped the school back into shape! We are very impressed with the new head of school. It takes courage to turn the school around and for it to be lead in the right direction. We love Akiva and so do our kids.

Akiva School 5

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
I could not imagine choosing any other school in Nashville other than Akiva. The academics are outstanding, the teachers and faculty are so impressive and caring. My kids LOVE going to school and truly feel like Akiva is their second home. My oldest is graduating this year and scored off the charts on the private school entrance exam for his application to 7th grade. The dual-language curriculum of Hebrew daily along with English develops their brains and contributes to their sense of Jewish identity and confidence in incredible ways. Our school could only improve by more families choosing to send their kids to Akiva. I cannot say enough about the character of my kids and how Akiva contributed to that development in substantial ways.


Akiva School 5

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
Akiva is a very special school-- a hidden jewel among private day schools. Our daughter graduated from here and has gone on to make honor roll at a top tier private middle school. Our son is currently a student at Akiva--his ability to speak a second language fluetnly in 3rd grade was amazing. His ability to debate philosphoical biblical texts in 6th grade is just as amazing. The biggest testament to this school is the impact that Akiva alums have on their next school!

Akiva School 3

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
This school has been steadily going downhill in the past year and several months. Many incredible faculty members departed around the end of school last year. The rest of our children will not continue to attend unless a major change occurs very soon.

Akiva School 5

Posted December 17, 2012
- a parent
Great school. Doing a fantastic job for it's size. Caring teachers and professional staff. Problem-free? No, but neither are the other schools. Had (past tense here) bullying problem. Was addressed by staff and counselors and is for the most part gone. I would send my kid there again in a heartbeat.


Akiva School 5

Posted September 02, 2011
- a parent
Deciding on a school was one of the most difficult decisions I have made as a parent! Akiva not only met my expectations, it surpassed it in ways I didn't even know possible! The entire school knows my child's name, knows our whole family, and keeps us informed of what she's learning on a daily basis. Akiva teaches kids how to be independent thinkers and leaders. I cannot rave about Akiva enough...it is truly a very special school!

Akiva School 4

Posted November 12, 2010
- a parent
My children have attended Akiva for the past six years and it is an excellent school with a fabulous teacher to child ratio. They do have a bullying problem, however, which I believe the school is beginning to address.

Akiva School 5

Posted September 14, 2010
- a parent
Akiva is an excellent school. It provides good preparation for middle school. It needs to control bullying more and weed out kids with emotional problems. A good experience.


Akiva School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
Akiva is the only Jewish educational school in all of Nashville, it has excellent scholarship and deserves to receive whatever it can to keep it going.

Akiva School
no rating

Posted April 09, 2006
- a parent
My Child started at Akiva at 5 years old, in Pre-First. He will be in Fifth Grade next fall. I am absolutely thrilled with the leadership, educational skills and individual attention to each student's needs, both developmentally as well as educationally. They offer Advanced Placement in Math and Reading.The teachers and staff instill a level of confidence in each child, encouraging and motivating them to be their personal best.Dr Berk and his staff ARE top notch educators. My child is reading at a 6th grade level and above. He loves school. He will carry on traditions, and practice 'Tikkun Olam' throughout his life, by his involvement now. He loves the Literature Circles, after school clubs, Computer Classes, Science, Music, and Art. It was everything I could have hoped for, and so much more. Akiva is our home, away from home, not just our school. I give it an A plus!

Nearby schools

Akiva School
809 Percy Warner Boulevard, Nashville, TN  37205
(615) 356-1880
Last modified Akiva School is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Top