Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
495 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Harding Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Patti Wright is the best!!! Thank you for all that you do. You bring out the best in each child.

Harding Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
The faculty and staff are exceptional. They are experts in their fields. All faculty are full time.


Harding Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Homework is thoughtful and appropriate by grade level. Middle schoolers have exams at the end of semesters.

Harding Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Athletics is a great place where students are taught to keep trying as well as have grit. All students can participate at the JV level to try a sport as well as learn about it. The Varsity level provides competition at another level. Additionally, students are constantly given vigorous academics (yet nurturing) that develop determination.

Harding Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Students are encouraged to be their best self and encourage that in others. Students cheer for students who participate in chess matches, compete in math tournaments, perform the violin in front of the whole school, win the wrestling tournament, perform in a play, get an art award, or succeed in athletics. Accomplishments are celebrated by all.


Harding Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
From my child's first day of school, a middle school student asked to walk my child to her class. When she drops a book, another student offers to pick it up. Students care about one another, help each other on the sports field, and connect across grade levels with the buddy program and House activities.

Harding Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
The school believes in values with its community code, Olweus program, and leadership development. Harding Academy makes thoughtful citizens both in and out of the classroom.

Harding Academy 5

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Harding Academy, an elementary school in Nashville, TN balances a nurturing environment with strong academics. My child's curiosity is encouraged in the homeroom, in special areas, in competitive athletics, and in the strong arts department. The House system, community code, and buddy program create a warm environment where students encourage each other across grade levels. The faculty are incredible and know my child beyond her grade level. We are so fortunate to be at Harding Academy. We know that our child will be prepared for a lifetime of learning in high school, college, and beyond.


Harding Academy 5

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
Harding is a wonderful school. We chose Harding because we were immediately struck upon visiting at how it felt warm, caring, supportive, and fun. Since our children have been at Harding that initial impression has only been confirmed over and over again. Teachers are loving, responsive, and experienced, and do an excellent job understanding what each child needs and challenging them individually. My children have SO many opportunities to participate in arts, sports, music, theater, science - the depth and variety of experience they are exposed to is just fantastic. I have really enjoyed the Harding community also - generally the group of parents has been low-key, friendly, and unassuming. I couldn't recommend Harding highly enough!

Harding Academy 4

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
Teachers are warm, caring, and effective. The teaching method is traditional and a needs to be more "hands on". But I don't doubt that my kids are receiving a good education. The parents are very cliquey, though. Not good assimilation for new parents. Hard to fit it as a new family.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harding Academy
170 Windsor Drive, Nashville, TN  37205
(615) 356-5510
Last modified Harding Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Harding Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top