Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Nashville, TN
Students enrolled: 592
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Nashville Christian School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers have high expectations of the students and the students are taught to be good stewards of the school and the blessing they have.

Nashville Christian School 5

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Our kindergartener is loving school. She is learning through play and small group instruction. Teachers in other grades are already taking an interest in her and she is looking forward to chapel tomorrow morning. It feels good to know that the teachers build her up and model what it looks like to be a light for God everyday.


Nashville Christian School 1

Posted April 10, 2015
- a community member
The schools policies create a big problem amongst parents and students alike. For example their cell phone policy is outrageous, first time offense (having it out in class) constitutes a 5 day confiscation of the phone. If it's on a Friday they keep it OVER the weekend until the next Thursday, they bear no sympathy for anyone who tries to retrieve the phone. If I was a young parent this would be an automatic NO for me.

Nashville Christian School 4

Posted April 09, 2015
- a parent
Overall we're very pleased with NCS. It's the big picture you must consider in addition to, this is a CHRISTIAN school. Some attend because this is a more affordable private (as compared to others in the area) or because the public system is so awful. Still, the focus here is on growing strong Christians and that's very evident in our child's behavior. Like in public school during the 2013-14 year we experienced a not-so pleasant environment. Yes NCS has disruptive children, some average teachers and probably not the best facilities in Nashville but again, it's the big picture which we support. Their athletic department is VERY strong and evident in the college recruiting efforts. I would tend to believe some who've had difficult experiences either (a) didn't research the school, (b) don't value a Christian school or (c) would probably have issues no matter where they attend. We've enrolled in again for Middle School and looking forward to being apart of the NCS family and growing along with them.

Nashville Christian School 5

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
This is our second year at NCS. I have a student in High School and in Middle School. Nashville Christian has given our children an opportunity to learn and grow not just in an academic setting, but spiritually, athletically, and through extra-curricular activities. We have seen first hand how teachers at NCS invest in our children s lives. The teachers, staff and coaches have all been supportive, encouraging, available, understanding and kind. I believe Nashville Christian will help prepare my kids for college and most importantly give them a foundation for helping and serving others.


Nashville Christian School 5

Posted December 15, 2014
- a parent
This is our first year at Nashville Christian. We moved from out of state and, as soon as we visited the school, we had no doubt that it was where we wanted to be. We were impressed with the curriculum and the focus on values and principles. But the thing that has stood out the most to us is the spirit. There is a joyfulness here that starts at the very top and pervades the entire place, all the way down to the kids and the parents. We have a kindergartner and a 4th grader and we'll be here until our kindergartner graduates high school.

Nashville Christian School 4

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
Nashville Christian is a WONDRFUL, family-friendly environent. We transferred from public school and have found everything at NCS that we were lacking in the public system. Small class sizes, a loving faculty, and teaching outside the traditional text book have all been encouraging and a breath of fresh air! School is fun again and there's no fight to get out of bed in the morning! Woo hoo! Is this a perfect school? Of course not! However, if you can find one that is, I would love to hear about it......because it doesn't exist. So, for my family, NCS is the best fit! My child is safe, educated, encouraged, and active. The opportunities available to all students through athletics, fine arts, and after school acitivities are awesome! Thank you, NCS, for providing an educational institution that supports my daughter, our family and most importantly - our faith! Go Eagles!

Nashville Christian School 1

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
Prospective parents or students should be aware of a new catch phrase in some of the classes. It is called "interactive journaling". Basically this means that you get no textbook for the subject, instead you child is given copies of worksheets that they must first assemble by cutting and pasting. Then they get to fill in the blanks with the answers, but the work is not checked for accuracy. Instead it is sent home for you to decode while you try to help your child study for the test. Ask to see an example when you visit. It is laughable.


Nashville Christian School 2

Posted January 05, 2014
- a parent
Have been extremely disappointed the last few years. I have an elementary and middle school student. The elementary continues to be academically weak while the middle school contains teachers that Obviously doesn't care.

Nashville Christian School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
The school's mission is to demonstrate the love of Christ. That is exactly what I have experienced through my children's classroom experiences at Nashville Christian. Dedicated, passionate, and loving teachers provide excellent educational opportunities for rigor and academic growth. Our family has been blessed by our experiences and would recommend Nashville Christian to anyone.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nashville Christian School
7555 Sawyer Brown Road, Nashville, TN  37221
(615) 356-5600
Last modified Nashville Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Nashville Christian School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top