Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lipscomb Academy

Private | PK-12 | 1316 students

Faith-based, college preparatory school that is operated by a university
 
 

 
 

Living in Nashville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $297,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

this school is not what I would consider a good place for a Christian environment.I was say it is designed mostly for the faculty of the college and Academy sons and daughter's to have dominion over children that arrive here from other schools.The campus is nice,but they have a selection of cliques that control the administration which is very destructive to the students by teaching them how to manipulate people through intimidation and discrimination.I am surprised by the lack of ethnic diversity here,the minority students seem to just take it and hold their tongues? I will be sending my student elsewhere for the remainder of her/his student career ad cant wait to leave .Very and un - Christian like, I pray for an intervention for this place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2014

TPAC's magazine said that Lipscomb Academy ("LA") is a school known for its academics - that is a joke. We have experience with Ensworth, FRA, USN, Percy Priest, Meigs, Hume Fogg, LA and numerous private schools and colleges in other cities. The good parts: There are a few good teachers and very nice staff, and good arts. However, the advertisements are untrue: there are not many AP classes, and an overplayed connection with the university. Narrow-minded and eccentric administration police off campus behavior as though it is happening in front of them, and take enormous offense. If you are a minority, don't know the Bible very well, or are not Republican, you will be rejected, and will be continuously put down for not being Republican. Families who are Church of Christ, donate money to the school, have been at the school for years, or are decent athletes have favored status, and are let off the hook for bullying and illegal activity. Anyone else is kicked out for any perceived infraction. Very pretty "mean girls" are not reprimanded; the veil of Christianity hides discrimination and retribution. LA will always be just average from medieval leadership, mindsets and dogma.


Posted May 17, 2014

I've gone here for 3 years.... I've hated the experience. I've been struggling with faith and after going here found a different form of "Christian." The school made me feel watched all the time and policed. If your child is a very country, sports or Christian person he will enjoy LA, but I did not.


Posted April 24, 2014

Lipscomb Academy has provided a wonderful academic experience for my child. He is challenged to meet his potential as a student, athlete, and as a Christian while feeling loved by those around him. The students appear to happy at Lipscomb, and the parents have been wonderful in welcoming us. I'm proud to be a Lipscomb parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

Lipscomb Academy has been such a blessing to our family. The academics are tough, but there has been an intentional focus on balance for our son. He plays sports, was in the play, and still enjoys school. I can't recommend it highly enough to anyone that is looking for a well rounded education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

We have been at Lipscomb for seven years. We have one child in the elementary school and two in the middle school. Our children enjoy school and love the learning experiences that Lipscomb provides. The teachers are the best around and they care about our children succeeding academically as well as spiritually. A child cannot leave Lipscomb without the confidence needed to excel in today's society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2013

My child is getting ready to finish her first year at Lipscomb Academy. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this school. As a result of the curriculum, great teachers and environment, my child has excelled beyond my expectation, both academically and spiritually. The environment at the school is very conducive for learning and expression, as well as inclusive of people from all backgrounds and faiths. The teachers truly care about the development of all the children and go above and beyond to make sure the children are excelling. I would recommend Lipscomb Academy to anyone who is searching for a place for their children to be loved and grow academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

My child was victimized by a horrible experience during a visit, so I advise caution. Had a great interview; she was offered a spot. Next day, Headmaster calls and recites a list of DLA student accusations which bordered on pornographic. ZERO such behavior in her background, many words not even in her vocabulary! As concerned parents we immediately got with all her educators, counselors, etc. at her existing school/were assured not a thing to worry about; she was not even capable of the accused behavior. But Lipscomb took the word of the fifth grade students over those of every professional educator in our daughter s life for four years. They even sent the Department of Children s Services to our home! The whole experience left our happy, bright girl feeling traumatized, betrayed, and sad. She has since visited other schools with zero such incidents and our lives are returning to normal. But the inmates are running the asylum at DLA. It was transparently clear to every adult except the Lipscomb faculty that the accusations were so over-the-top that they had to be made up. There s a bullying problem or something worse at this school that they refuse to recognize, so be careful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

Lipscomb is a wonderful Christian environment. Your experience depends on which teacher you are assigned. My son has attended this school for most of elementary. He excels academically with only As and Bs. This is the first year that I feel like Lipscomb is not the place for an African-American boy. His actions receive different interpretations than that of a non-minority. It has been extremely disappointing. It feels like the goal is not to teach children to be their best through academics and behavior, but to label your elementary child for childish behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

David Lipscomb is an excellent school that emphasizes the development of the entire person, spiritually, mentally and physically. The teachers are top notch and genuinely care about the students. The AP offerings and the opportunity to take college courses and receive college credit in high school is a huge plus. After graduating and going to college I immediately knew that I was better prepared for the transition that most of my peers. I am now a practicing attorney and owe a great deal to DL and the solid foundation that was built there. This year my daughter starts her first year there and after comparing, applying to and being accepted at several private schools in the Franklin/Brentwood/Nashville area Lipscomb was clearly the overall best choice. My wife graduated from a private school in Brentwood and it was our second choice. My recommendation would be to do what we did. Research the schools you're interested in, apply, tour the schools and meet the faculty and let your child shadow other students to get a feel for the typical school day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

It is a caring environment where parents are involved, and coaches and teachers take a personal interest in your child. On a spiritual level, Bible and Chapel are an important part of the day, and service projects are encouraged and initiated by the school and the teachers. The school offers great academic challenges for the child who wants to excel and also offers dual credit coarses as the college level for highschool students. The University occasionally joins with the campus school for even higher learning. There is a high standard there for the students academically but the character building of the student and expectations of behavior are the type of environment that I want for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

This is not a school for children who might actually need some instruction. Students who can teach themselves and do well without help do fine here. Teachers have to be the poorest I have ever encountered. There is no support from administration if you have a problem with a teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

My son began preschool this year at David Lipscomb. I am very pleased with the education and love from the teacher. The class size allows one on one attention, which is important for young children. We are truly blessed for our son to attend such a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

All three of my children graduated from David Lipscomb and we were very pleased with the education they received. They were well prepared to tackle the rigors of college. We were just as thrilled with the moral and ethical values that were taught and demonstrated by the faculty and staff. I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

I LOVED this school! I was here from 7th to 12th grade. Though I didn't fit in well, the education was amazing, the staff was nice and understanding, and the I enjoyed the extracurricular activities.


Posted September 16, 2008

this is my first year here as a freshman and i find it hard to fit in. alsp i do not find the teaching to live up to the tuition but i was i public school befor and this school my be right if you grew-up in private beacuse of the teaching method. many people realy like this school but i suggest if you are coming from a public school and do not have any friends going here to shadow a student first and deffnently look into other schools also.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2008

To over-simplify it, David Lipscomb Campus schools give you as much bang for your buck as any school in Nashville. I received a truly well-rounded education, and it has paid off early-on in my career.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2008

I have three children at Lipscomb...two in elementary and one in middle. I also have a child in the public middle school. So, I can compare directly. Lipscomb is a far better school overall than the public schools we are zoned for. Obviously the atmosphere is better quality. The parental involvement is huge. The christian environment is great. I appreciate being able to pray and read the bible at school...something you'll never see in public school anymore. It may not appeal to families who do not wish for christian principals to be taught or reinforced, or for families that do not want to be involved. But, for my family, it is perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2006

My child went to Lipscomb K-12. The school has excellent academics, athletics, and fine arts. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a safe environment that promotes christian principles, strong academics, and extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

I'm a former student at Lipscomb, attending between the 7th and 12th grades, so I know a little about the programs. Admittedly, things may have changed since I graduated in 2003, but my guess is that they haven't. Lipscomb is a school that emphasizes the social aspect of adolescence. I don't know if that's good or bad, but do not go to Lipscomb if your goal is to come out with the best possible education. Many of the students I graduated with have had and continue to have problems with University level courses (specifically English and especially those who attended Lipscomb Elementary). I'm not saying that there aren't good teachers at DLHS. Hagewood, Tracy, Smith, Lindsay are all great, but I've found that the supporting cast is less than sensational. I enjoyed my time at DLHS, but I really enjoyed the people more than the school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 67%
Black 3% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 7%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Medical
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical
Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Relationship with Lipscomb U
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Forensics club
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Mike Hammond
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Church of Christ
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCSA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Medical
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Relationship with Lipscomb U
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Forensics club
  • Girl scouts
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Founded in 1891, Lipscomb Academy is a faith-based college preparatory school and is the only one in Middle Tennessee operated by a university.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$9000 - $11000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Relationship with Lipscomb U
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3901 Granny White Pike
Nashville, TN 37204
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 966-6409

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Hillsboro High School
Nashville, TN


Linden Waldorf School
Nashville, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT