Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lipscomb Academy 5

Posted December 08, 2014
- a parent
I have two children at Lipscomb Academy, and I have been extremely impressed with this school. The teachers are very involved and care about the academic, social and spiritual development of all the children. The character building Lipscomb Academy has given my children is priceless. The school is a Church of Christ school, but it is very inclusive of all faiths and backgrounds. I would recommend this school to any parent who is searching for a place for their children to build strong character that will last a lifetime.

Lipscomb Academy 1

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
this school is not what I would consider a good place for a Christian environment.I was say it is designed mostly for the faculty of the college and Academy sons and daughter's to have dominion over children that arrive here from other schools.The campus is nice,but they have a selection of cliques that control the administration which is very destructive to the students by teaching them how to manipulate people through intimidation and discrimination.I am surprised by the lack of ethnic diversity here,the minority students seem to just take it and hold their tongues? I will be sending my student elsewhere for the remainder of her/his student career ad cant wait to leave .Very and un - Christian like, I pray for an intervention for this place.


Lipscomb Academy 2

Posted October 03, 2014
- a community member
TPAC's magazine said that Lipscomb Academy ("LA") is a school known for its academics - that is a joke. We have experience with Ensworth, FRA, USN, Percy Priest, Meigs, Hume Fogg, LA and numerous private schools and colleges in other cities. The good parts: There are a few good teachers and very nice staff, and good arts. However, the advertisements are untrue: there are not many AP classes, and an overplayed connection with the university. Narrow-minded and eccentric administration police off campus behavior as though it is happening in front of them, and take enormous offense. If you are a minority, don't know the Bible very well, or are not Republican, you will be rejected, and will be continuously put down for not being Republican. Families who are Church of Christ, donate money to the school, have been at the school for years, or are decent athletes have favored status, and are let off the hook for bullying and illegal activity. Anyone else is kicked out for any perceived infraction. Very pretty "mean girls" are not reprimanded; the veil of Christianity hides discrimination and retribution. LA will always be just average from medieval leadership, mindsets and dogma.

Lipscomb Academy 1

Posted May 17, 2014
- a community member
I've gone here for 3 years.... I've hated the experience. I've been struggling with faith and after going here found a different form of "Christian." The school made me feel watched all the time and policed. If your child is a very country, sports or Christian person he will enjoy LA, but I did not.

Lipscomb Academy 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
Lipscomb Academy has provided a wonderful academic experience for my child. He is challenged to meet his potential as a student, athlete, and as a Christian while feeling loved by those around him. The students appear to happy at Lipscomb, and the parents have been wonderful in welcoming us. I'm proud to be a Lipscomb parent!


Lipscomb Academy 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
Lipscomb Academy has been such a blessing to our family. The academics are tough, but there has been an intentional focus on balance for our son. He plays sports, was in the play, and still enjoys school. I can't recommend it highly enough to anyone that is looking for a well rounded education for their child.

Lipscomb Academy 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
We have been at Lipscomb for seven years. We have one child in the elementary school and two in the middle school. Our children enjoy school and love the learning experiences that Lipscomb provides. The teachers are the best around and they care about our children succeeding academically as well as spiritually. A child cannot leave Lipscomb without the confidence needed to excel in today's society.

Lipscomb Academy 5

Posted April 08, 2013
- a parent
My child is getting ready to finish her first year at Lipscomb Academy. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this school. As a result of the curriculum, great teachers and environment, my child has excelled beyond my expectation, both academically and spiritually. The environment at the school is very conducive for learning and expression, as well as inclusive of people from all backgrounds and faiths. The teachers truly care about the development of all the children and go above and beyond to make sure the children are excelling. I would recommend Lipscomb Academy to anyone who is searching for a place for their children to be loved and grow academically and spiritually.


Lipscomb Academy 1

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
My child was victimized by a horrible experience during a visit, so I advise caution. Had a great interview; she was offered a spot. Next day, Headmaster calls and recites a list of DLA student accusations which bordered on pornographic. ZERO such behavior in her background, many words not even in her vocabulary! As concerned parents we immediately got with all her educators, counselors, etc. at her existing school/were assured not a thing to worry about; she was not even capable of the accused behavior. But Lipscomb took the word of the fifth grade students over those of every professional educator in our daughter s life for four years. They even sent the Department of Children s Services to our home! The whole experience left our happy, bright girl feeling traumatized, betrayed, and sad. She has since visited other schools with zero such incidents and our lives are returning to normal. But the inmates are running the asylum at DLA. It was transparently clear to every adult except the Lipscomb faculty that the accusations were so over-the-top that they had to be made up. There s a bullying problem or something worse at this school that they refuse to recognize, so be careful.

Lipscomb Academy 3

Posted February 18, 2013
- a parent
Lipscomb is a wonderful Christian environment. Your experience depends on which teacher you are assigned. My son has attended this school for most of elementary. He excels academically with only As and Bs. This is the first year that I feel like Lipscomb is not the place for an African-American boy. His actions receive different interpretations than that of a non-minority. It has been extremely disappointing. It feels like the goal is not to teach children to be their best through academics and behavior, but to label your elementary child for childish behavior.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lipscomb Academy
3901 Granny White Pike, Nashville, TN  37204
(615) 966-6409
Last modified Lipscomb Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Lipscomb Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top