Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Oak Hill School

Private | PK-6 | 514 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Nashville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $273,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 30, 2014

This school has markedly gone downhill in the last several years. I have been so shocked & disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2014

Oak Hill School has gone downhill. As a parent of longstanding, I can tell you that the current headmistress is by far the worst. She demands complete control, even to the point of getting rid of families by whom she feels threatened. The Board of Trust is cowed by her. She has run off longtime, beloved teachers. Many families have left. She promotes faculty and (overpaid) administration based on a willingness to do her bidding. We received a letter last week from their development director that the school has yet to meet its annual fund goal. Oak Hill buses students across the street to a public high school for sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

Extreme lack of diversity among students and faculty. Christian environment not all that it preaches
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

I am a current Oak Hill parent and could not be more happy with our experience. I have 2 children who attend and they both come hope each day sharing stories about their day. They are challenged in the classroom, lead by professionals who love them but have high expectations and the christian values that they are taught are second to none. It is still the same sweet place it has always been!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

Oak Hill School has an incredibly talented and dedicated faculty and staff, from the head of school to facility workers. Families are welcoming, and lifelong friendships are formed. Each employee is well chosen, hard working, and kind. The academics are challenging, and the loving Christian environment fosters independence and creativity. Children are taught public speaking skills at a young age and continue to home those skills throughout the 6th grade. Serving others and being a good citizen and community member are important aspects of an Oak Hill education. Each year the 6th graders prove what a fine finished product Oak Hill produces. Don't just take my word for it, go to an Open House, or better yet, schedule a tour with their outstanding admissions staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

Oak Hill School produces, by far, the most well-rounded students in Nashville. Because of the current Head's leadership and the school's amazing teachers, academic standards have been raised and the Christian environment has been celebrated and deepened. Also, the school is becoming more diverse, which I am glad to see the school paying close attention to! I cannot imagine our children being in a more nurturing and academically challenging environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

Oak Hill School is our families biggest blessing. We are so thankful to have found a place that our children are challenged academically and nurtured spiritually. The faculty and staff know and encourage each child as an individual. The academics are rigorous yet grade appropriate. This is reflected year after year in the schools strong test scores. More importantly, Oak Hill has a solid character curriculum that is woven seamlessly and intentionally into every day. I cannot say enough about the wonderful families that call OHS home. It is so reassuring to know that the other families share the same core values and beliefs as our home and are raising great kids. We are fortunate to have found such a special place to partner with us in raising well-rounded, well-balanced children. I know that Oak Hill is preparing them not only for their next academic step but is teaching them skills and values that will serve them well for the rest of their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

The Oak Hill School has steadily improved its academic excellence in the past few years since the current head of school has taken over. We have been at the school for over 10 years and have experienced the leadership changes first hand. We are so pleased that the teachers are now collaborating on their curriculum between and across grades. The new head has made great strides to ensure excellence among the staff, and it has improved or weeded out those faculty that seemed satisfied with just being average. The increased focus on academic excellence has in no way affected the nurturing atmosphere and Christian character of the school. We have experienced an improved culture that is growing in diversity and acceptance. We are so pleased with the school's new direction and perspective. With gratitude for the current leadership, A parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

OHS is losing 13 faculty members this year. The trajectory of the school has significantly changed since the hiring of the current head of school in 2009. Christian principles and culture are primarily noted only in specific classrooms. Leadership's management style is questionable for a healthy school. Many master teachers have left. Academic standards have declined in many areas, as has the sweet nature of the school. Hiring practices for classroom teachers appear to not align with the Christian school's stated mission statement. In my opinion, Oak Hill's value has declined in recent years if your primary consideration is academic excellence in a Christian environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2013

I am a former student. Oak Hill was an awful school. it seems as if they discourage advancement or any type of diversity. my mother also taught there.she quit after one year due to the poor leadership by the administration. I left for public school and it has been the best decision of my life as it has more so prepared me for the real world. the public school education has also given me the opportunity to exams and grow into the person I want to be as opposed to the person I am modeled into. it is a waste of money. the only thing positive are about half of the teachers.


Posted April 23, 2012

Great teachers. Terrible Head of School. Teachers complain about her leadership and being over worked with work outside the classroom. The long standing Christian base has rapidly departing since this Head took over. Many families that have been there for over 20 years have and are leaving. I have two kids that graduated from OHS but we are now taking the others out of OHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2011

Don't know who the sour grapes people are but my experience of the Oak Hill School has been awesome. The teachers are so sweet and caring. The new head master, who is a wonderfully articulate woman, has brought accountability (and accreditation) to the school, which was long overdue. It indeed is a Christian oriented school where the kids raise the flag as a student body and a values lesson is given to start the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2011

I disagree with the recent marginal reviews of Oak Hill School. This school has always been strong in this community, and those traditions have been enhanced and brought up to date with this current administration. Keeping abreast of Best Practices in K-12 education takes a lot of work and initiative, and I believe this is happening well at Oak Hill. The school continues to maintain it's family-oriented feeling. The Christian teaching at Oak Hill is so crucial and continues to be strong. The strongest part of this school is the incredibly hard-working teachers who pour their heart and soul into our children academically, spiritually, and emotionally. A school is only as strong as it's teachers, and this is definitely a strong suit of Oak Hill. Our children are incredibly happy there and so are we. We wouldn't be anywhere else in Nashville. The Head of School is fantastic, and I disagree that she discourages opinions from families or faculty. Instead, she is a leader, she encourages other people's ideas and input, and takes her job to keep Oak Hill strong academically and spiritually very seriously. Change is hard, but necessary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

Correct Information Please: There have not been 4 or 5 Heads of School in the last few years or 15 years. There have been 3 which is completely normal since our current Head has just been at Oak Hill for the last 2 years. Sissy Wade was Head of School from 1994-2001, Claire Wilkins 2002-2008, and Jennifer Hinote 2009-present. What is also normal and wise is to have an Interim Head during the year of the search process: Bill Campbell. This information is from Google and my knowledge of being there through each one. I feel that each year Oak Hill continues to improve from a very good school to an excellent one. We love Oak Hill as well as the faculty and staff. I hope that anyone who is concerned will realize that any change is hard, and for the school to continue in excellence there will always be molding and remolding of every part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

I would have to agree with the precious 3 posters about the current state of Oak Hill School. The powers that be who select these heads of school just cannot seem to get it right. The new head wants to control every aspect of the school and does not value the school's traditions enough to keep them. In her attempts to "fix" what she feels is wrong with the school she has stripped the school of its identity. Parents may as well send their children to Ensworth or Harding...fine schools both. What made us stand out before was a rich Christian tradition that was in the forefront but not crammed down our throats. We had a certain sweetness and gentleness AND a commitment to academic excellence. Profession of faith has not totally left the building, but it is certainly in the periphery. And with 5 heads in the past 15 years or so no one on the board would dare dismiss her as it would be more poor PR for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

This school is a top flight institution with excellent facilities and a rich tradition. I have been very pleased with our experience thus far and this school is clearly among the top 3 schools of its type in Nashville. I do wish that the curriculum was more demanding, but the school walks a fine line between exacting studies and placating the wealthy parents of not so bright children. Parental involvement at the school is great and widespread, but often excessive from a number of helicopter parents. Again, a high wire act for administrators worried about getting on the wrong side of influential donors and power brokers in the Nashville community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2011

Wonderful teachers but they are asked to do too much for too little. With the exception of one interim Head of School they have had a very poor selection of Heads. The present head has no appreciation for the pass traditions of the school and is wonderful at intimidating teacher and parents. The number of teacher and staff resigning after working with the new head is unusually high. When you have over 12 teacher leaving in one year there is a problem. If a parent of teacher disagrees with the Head they are dismissed. There is no freedom of speech at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2011

In the past years OHS has been through four Head of Schools. The latest selection has been the worse. She has done all possible to destroy the warm family environment the school use to have. After asking a family to withdraw their children from the school just because the parents voice an opinion it is clear that parents involvement has declined. Until this person became Head the parent involvement was outstanding. Now parents are afraid to express any dislike of anything. There is a high rate of teacher leaving. Teacher and staff that had been at the school for 10 or more years have left or been asked to leave. Sad to see what was a wonderful school decline so rapidly. The warm fuzzy has departed this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

The great teachers, staff and Head of School along with the generous parents make this a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

The small classes Are lead by dedicated teachers who are surrounded by supportive parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 67%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Black 0% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 7%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4815 Franklin Pike
Nashville, TN 37220
Phone: (615) 297-6544

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Franklin Road Academy
Nashville, TN






Lipscomb Academy
Nashville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT