Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Cecilia Academy

Private | 9-12 | 265 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Nashville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $332,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2013

I'm a graduate of St. Cecilia, a practicing attorney in the Nashville area and did not grow up Catholic. This school is a wonderful gem of a school for young women who are interested in getting a great education, and making friendships of a lifetime. There are a host of activities for girls who aren't athletic and quirky like I was. The sisters all care very much about the students and don't push Catholicism on the non-Catholics. Every race and socio-economic group is represented and many students receive financial aid. If you're looking to escape the pretentious nature of some of the other private schools, this is the place for your family.


Posted October 13, 2012

We have a freshman at the school and, so far, we love it. Our daughter is very driven academically. She has been pleased to find academic rigor on par with what she perceived was available at other competitor schools. As a parent, i love having the school as focused on the girls finding joy as well as good grades and high SATs. In a world where girls are bombarded with conflicting messages, St Cecilia Academy offers a home base for considering one's goals, dreams, likes and dislikes-indeed, they are helpiing our daughter form a personal philosophy to live by while teaching her all the science and math and English she can absorb. It's a great balance. The community is wonderful and a real reflection of the Nashville community inside the Davidson County boundaries and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2012

Saint Cecilia not only provides an incredible basis for education, the staff does an excellent job at getting to know their students. As a former student there, I could honestly say that SCA provided me with an education that adequately prepared me for the outside world, relationships that gave me confidence and life long friends, and a sisterhood of students.


Posted January 7, 2010

I am halfway through my first year at St. Cecilia and couldnt be happier. The school is welcoming and inviting, and I know every girl in my grade. The couh ses really push you to your potential, and everyone wants you to succeed. This really is a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2010

As a former student, I value the education I received at St. Cecilia, and use it every day. The staff is so caring, and will work with you outside of class to make sure you truly grasp the taught concepts. The curriculum is challenging, but prepares each student well; my first year of college was a breeze.


Posted December 8, 2009

an amazing school! although there are restrictions because the sisters are stringent, you can really find yourself at SCA and explore more then just the superfically norms that most highschool students are acustom too. You have a chance to find yourself because you dont have to conform to the clicks or the other pety high school drama. I went there and even though I disagreed with the religious aspects, I found that I could explore a deeper meaning to life and search for my own truth. Also there are benefits to going to an all girls school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2009

I am a freshman at SCA and cannot imagine myself anywhere else. The courses are plentiful and extremely challenging. I have already signed up for 5 clubs and am playing on a varsity sport. The opportunities at SCA are endless...the Sisters are sooo sweet, the classes are really hard, and the faculty consists of people that want you to succeed. I can go in for help at anytime and the teacher will stay with me for however long I need her to. Also, going to an all girls school means there are no distractions. I know that if I push myself hard at SCA, I can go anywhere in life.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 69%
Black 4% 25%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Nashville
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4210 Harding Rd
Nashville, TN 37205
Phone: (615) 298-4525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Harpeth Hall School
Nashville, TN



The Ensworth School
Nashville, TN



Hillsboro High School
Nashville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT