Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5, 8-12
Private
Nashville, TN
Students enrolled: 158
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


40 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Davidson Academy 5

Posted November 12, 2014
- a parent
If you are looking for a great Christian school with teachers that care and a curriculum that's fulfilling, check out DA.

Davidson Academy 5

Posted July 30, 2014
- a parent
Davidson Academy provides a superior level of education and offers an outstanding curriculum. The students are offered several opportunities and I'm beyond proud of their achievement done so far since attending Davidson Academy.


Davidson Academy 5

Posted March 17, 2014
- a community member
I'm currently a freshman at Emory University, and I know for sure that I wouldn't be where I am had I not attended DA. I went there from kindergarten until I graduated last May, and I can honestly say I had the best time. I really feel that Davidson prepared me to attend a top 20 university.

Davidson Academy 1

Posted March 09, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been enrolled in Davidson for several years. During the past two years I have been extremely disappointed with the caliber of education and the bullying tactics of the principal. My daughter has been singled out in class and in the hallway and humiliated by the principal. My daughter and others have had numerous negative comments made her ability and her grades. It is very clear that money talks at Davidson Academy.

Davidson Academy 1

Posted January 03, 2014
- a community member
This review is from a student. I attended DA for the first semester of my sophomore year. The teachers did not particularly care about the students or our education, mostly giving out worksheets without going over the material. I am transferring after Christmas due to the lack of teacher involvement and the students. The students here are some of the most spoiled, entitled, and mean children I have ever met. DA was a toxic environment in which my younger sister (who is in eighth grade) was called a misfit and made fun of many times. Chapels consisted of the chaplain yelling at us for about forty-five minutes, with a few Bible verses slung in. PLEASE - do not send your children here without shadowing. When my parents and I toured, we were sold something completely different than what the school actually was.


Davidson Academy 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
Sending our kids to Davidson Academy has been a wonderful experience. They are getting a well-rounded education and really care for the families as well.

Davidson Academy 1

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
DA is not the school for any child that struggles in any subject. My son attended DA for only 3weeks. From the very beginning we were told the teachers were patient and were more than willing to provide extra assistance. This was not the case! Teachers teach the lessons with little or no instruction. Some even teach without a book with only written hand outs for assignments. DA only teaches one way with the philosophy that all children should look and learn the same way. We made the decision to remove our child from this uncaring setting. He is now thriving in another private school that really cares and realizes that all children don't learn the same.

Davidson Academy 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
Compared to our previous private school experience, Davidson Academy faculty and student body is much more friendly. Also, comparing the achievements of DA students with those students at other private institutions, Davidson Academy rivals anyone in excellence.


Davidson Academy 5

Posted July 01, 2013
- a parent
Our children's spiritual growth has soared since they have been attending Davidson Academy. They have worked very hard with them to provide, courses, chapel, and service opportunities which is great.

Davidson Academy 5

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
Our child was not performing well at another private school, and that's when we toured Davidson Academy. We instantly felt welcomed when we walked in the door. We really felt this private education would be an excellent change for our daughter and we highly recommend DA.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Davidson Academy
1414 W. Old Hickory Blvd, Nashville, TN  37207
(615) 860-5300
Last modified Davidson Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-5, 8-12
Davidson Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top