Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Franklin Road Academy

Private | PK-12 | 54 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Nashville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $273,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 20 ratings
2013:
Based on 16 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

61 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 28, 2010

Wow, what a terrific school! I have two children currently attending FRA, both of whom are blossoming. The best part about FRA is that everyone can be somebody. Opportunities abound in art, athletics and academics. The culture at FRA is wholesome integrity matters. I do not believe there is a better college preparatory school in middle Tennessee.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

The academics were above average when I was a student there from 8th-11th grades (2003-2007). Most teachers were kind, caring, and willing to help students outside of class. I found many of the parents and students to be snobby, condescending, self-absorbed, very cliquish, and extremely materialistic. I left the school after my junior year because I was subjected to so much bullying and mistreatment. In my opinion, the whole "Scholars with Integrity and Balance" thing is a farce; most of the administrators (esp. the Head of School) are interested in nothing but money and prestige. The tablet PC program was introduced my sophomore year of high school. In some ways, the laptops improved learning (especially for writing & research purposes), but they also made learning more difficult in math & science classes.


Posted February 11, 2010

The most impressive school .... amazing teachers and you can tell the kids are happy by the smiles you see on their faces everyday...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

Not only a parent, but an alum as well, FRA is like no other. A student can truly go anywhere and do anything and know that they are prepared for every opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

It's not great. I'm definitely getting out of there as soon as I can. You aren't welcome if you've been there for a while. There are cliques, and they are very unfriendly. I would not recommend it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2009

Very supportive, kind, nurturing and loving environment along with top notch teachers and academics! Kudos to all at FRA for giving our recent graduate a top notch education!! We love ya'll
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

I love my school i feel in a safe loving and learning environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 8, 2009

My teachers are always available if I need help, and really seem to care about my sucess. I have plenty of course options. The arts department is excellent. No school is perfect, but FRA has provided me with the education needed to be accepted into more than one of the top twenty universities in the country.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2009

Great School--wonderful teachers very helpful and kind to my child-very kind and caring for all students and parents. Great Head Mistress Sissy Wade is a talented and smart lady. SHe is well liked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

Simply outstanding. Great balance of academics and extra-curricular activities. College-like administration and college-level instruction. Oh, by the way, this school has a moral compass and character matters. We could not be any happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

FRA's teacher are simply outstanding. They are caring and dedicated professionals who not only do a great job of preparing each child for the academic rigors of college; they also develop meaningful relationships with students to mentor and guide them to grow into adults who will reach their potential while also looking beyond themselves to serve as leaders in college and in their careers. Our children have greatly benefitted from having gone to FRA; they attended challenging universities throughout the country, and they have all excelled there academically, athletically, and socially. We attribute much of the their success to the foundation that was given them by the teachers at FRA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

FRA has been a wonderful experience for our family. My boys have been here since Pre-K4 and are now in the 7th grade. The things we wanted were a Pre-K through 12 program and Christian environment, loving teachers. Things we didn't expect that make us love this school: FRA wants to help every student find out what they excel at doing, they're best school in the area for student/school wide technology, it is very much a family environment and there is opportunity to get as involved as you'd like, the opportunity to 'be there'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

FRA is the best of the best in mid-TN. Academics are outstanding, strong Christian morals are stressed, their leadership development program is incredible, and athletics are amazing--they are among the top 5 schools, I think, for state championships won in a variety of sports. Their fine and performing arts are also outstanding--many colleges do not have the high caliber talent that regularly graces the stages of FRA. The technology is tops in the entire state. The most important thing, coming from a parent, is that each child receives personal instruction and is nutured, challenged, and encouraged in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2008

The Middle School at FRA is incredible; the leadership of the middle school is incredible and the teachers are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

FRA is wonderful in many different ways. It's academics are on a high level, which is a great credit to its teachers. The athletics are outstanding, and games are very fun. The arts at FRA are amazing. The level of talent is ridiculous. Even all this would make FRA a great school, but there is one more thing that truly puts it over the top. The relationships with teachers and coaches is incredible. Teachers are willing to help you with any question you may have, and they truly enjoy their job. You can joke around and make fun of most any teacher, but be prepared to be made fun of yourself if you make fun of them, all in good fun of course!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2007

This school has very many great things about it and is wonderful in geting your child ready for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

Nothing but positive things to say about this school. Our son loves going to school everyday, we get plenty of feedback and information from the teachers and administration and the FRA staff really loves the kids! Parents can be involved as they want to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

FRA has a great christian environment and has many wonderful teachers. I never want to leave this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2006

FRA is a great school, high academics, strong athletics, good christian values, excellent fine arts program, and a beautiful campus. FRA is definatly an excellent choice to send your child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2006

This school is incredible. I have two students enrolled currently, a 6th grader and 4th grader. The academic standards are extremely high. The sports programs are fantastic. The arts and music program are some of the best in the city. I think overall, FRA is the best value of all the private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Italian
Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:00 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Margaret W. Wade
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (615) 834-4137

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Parent's association and parent ambassador programs are very active parts of the fra school community.
More from this school
  • Each student - 100% - of FRA graduates are accepted to the finest colleges and universities throughout the country each year, including: Baylor, Boston College, Colby College, College of Charleston, Cornell, Darmouth, DePaul, Duke, Emory, Furman, Georgetown, Johns Hopkins, MIT, NYU, Northwestern, Notre Dame, Princeton, Purdue, Rice, Samford, Tuland, UNC, U.S. Naval Academy, University of Michigan, University of Southern California, University of Virginia, Vanderbilt, Wake Forest, Washington University, Wellesley College, West Point, and Yale.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4700 Franklin Pike
Nashville, TN 37220
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 832-8845

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Oak Hill School
Nashville, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT