Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
717 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
89 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (9 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (10 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (9 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (7 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (8 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (7 responses)
characters left.
There are 161 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Franklin Road Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
Take a look- you won't find students like this at just any school. FRA is special and it is a privilege to be a part of the community there!!! Copy and paste the link below to see for yourself: https://youtu.be/vc83DBK9Yc0

Franklin Road Academy 1

Posted December 27, 2015
- a community member
The lower school has lost several of their more tenured teachers and the teachers with 2-3 years of experience are not yet qualified to teach at an independent school.


Franklin Road Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a community member
Through their Christian influence, FRA teaches kids all about honesty, integrity, and fairness. One thing I love is that FRA balances competitive athletics with these values. Students play sports with integrity and fairness, and most importantly, they have a great time being part of a team. This combination instills crucial values in their students that they wouldn't learn from simply playing a sport.

Franklin Road Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a community member
Through the relationships between teachers and students, students truly learn how to respect others, because they feel respected. Students can have real friendships with teachers rather than feeling inferior. I was shocked the first time I was on campus to have fifth grade boys holding the doors open for me!

Franklin Road Academy 5

Posted December 04, 2015
- a community member
I have been involved in the FRA community for four years, and I was immediately amazed by what the school is doing. The faculty welcomed me so kindly, and went well out of their way to help me. The values they are instilling in students are admirable, and they are so noticeable. Students are learning so much more than just academics at FRA. They are learning how to be thinkers, believers, friends, advocates, and active members of society.


Franklin Road Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 14, 2015
- a parent
The inclusive Christian community and focus on service learning at FRA help the students develop compassion, caring and empathy. FRA’s Center for Philanthropic Studies is very unique, and its programs have truly resonated with my son. The Center integrates service programs into academics, spiritual life, and student activities at every grade level through community service, philanthropy, education and service learning opportunities.

Franklin Road Academy 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a community member
I attended FRA for seven years, and I am proud to call myself an alumna. The arts department at FRA helped me discover my passion for design, and because of my educational experiences, I was able to attend one of the top design universities in the country. FRA will always be considered home, and the friendships I made there are lifelong ones, particularly my teammates from the '02 and '04 state championship soccer team!

Franklin Road Academy 2

Posted November 07, 2015
- a community member
FRA is a school of academically low expectations. The students are unmotivated when push comes to shove and rude to their teachers and classmates. They are pretty much given this right by the administration which allows them to get away with everything and be disrespectful to the faculty. Also, FRA's programs are just plain mediocre from the athletics to the arts. Their programs and academics do not compete with other academics in Nashville. The positive write ups below are misleading. I pulled my daughter from this school and sent her to Ensworth, where she is loving it now! She is no longer bullied by FRA students and administration. Think twice about selecting this school.


Franklin Road Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
FRA has a unique program called "Hear to Heart" for students with down syndrome and the effect these students have on the entire student body cannot be measured. This program adds a dimension to FRA that you will not find at other schools in Nashville. Our family has been blessed by these students and our lives have been touched in a special way. The compassion and caring that I have seen by students in every division has floored me. FRA promotes putting others before yourself and I see this modeled by the faculty on a daily basis. FRA gets an A+ in this department!!!

Franklin Road Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 05, 2015
- a parent
One thing I love about FRA is that it is truly an extension of our family. Our kids spend countless hours at school and I could not be happier with the adults that are there to shape and nurture them. The entire faculty and administration are hands on and genuinely interested in what the students are doing whether it be the robotics competition, debate team or a football game. Every student has a place at FRA and the opportunities to get involved and thrive are endless. It has a small school atmosphere with all the opportunities that a larger school has to offer. Most students are fully engaged in several aspects of the school and somehow they all support each other! Our experience has been tremendous and you really need to experience FRA to truly understand the feeling of family within the community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Franklin Road Academy
4700 Franklin Pike, Nashville, TN  37220
(615) 832-8845
Last modified Franklin Road Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Franklin Road Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 161 reviews. Top