Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christ Presbyterian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 1181 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Nashville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $390,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2014

We have been at this school for just one year, however, my daughter can't stop saying how much she loves attending here. She loves the teachers, the class size, chapel, everything about it. I was a little hesitant to spend the money on private school, however, once I went to orientation, I knew this was exactly the school we were looking for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

We have three children in the elementary school and have come to love it primarily because of the people who pour into our children like no other school we have attended. Our kids are thriving academically, emotionally, and spiritually. I have found the academics to be dynamic in that they are constantly seeking best practices and strongest curriculum. The Academic Dean seeks out to understand the research behind what's taught and the methodology for teaching. But most of all, the foundation in faith is solid, and the school loves and teaches our kids to live and love authentically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2013

I currently am in high school at CPA. I have been here since second grade and have not been able to make a connection. The environment in my grade is causing me to switch schools. I see many kids,including myself, being made fun of because they are different, and the teachers just stand by and watch. Plus, the things the girls do in my grade are nothing close to being "Christ-like". So, in the end, a good CPA experience depends on the type of people that are in the grade.


Posted May 14, 2011

After two of my Grandchildren came to live with us, I enrolled both of them in Christ Presbyterian Academy. One of them has been there two years and is graduating this year (May 2011), the other one just finished the eight grade and is beginning high school this fall. Both of them have done great in school and are averaging A's and B's. The teachers are wonderful and the administration is determined for each child to graduate from there and be able to get into any university their goals dictate. The Christian Education is strong and balanced for their life that is ahead of them. A new High School building will open this fall and is truly built with the latest technology with the maximum class size of 20 so the teachers can spend the maximum time with each student. The elementary and middle school buildings are being totally renovated this summer and will brought up to "new" status. My wife and I feel regardless of money that could not be in a better educational school even though there are many more expensive schools in the Nashville area. We are totally satisfied with education and environment at Christ Presbyterian Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2010

CPA provides outstanding, godly teachers, administrative leadership, and parental involvement. In addition, the MS and HS curriculum is geared for college preparatory, and the class sizes are small, allowing for students to have a personal relationship with each teacher. The community feel is outstanding, and extra-curricular activities strive for excellence but still make room for every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2010

CPA isn't immune to typical school issues. There are amazing teachers and average ones; bullying which is often tolerated or ignored, cliques and mean kids. The academics are definitely NOT superior to Williamson County schools. Too much homework for the upper elementary school grades and some of the work was so irrelevant to my child's world that it made him disinterested in school and didn't reinforce a desire to learn. Administration is often arrogant and prideful- a complaint which I hear often drives families to leave the school. Discipline is often punative and not Biblical. Seems like this school has changed its vision and is more interested in becoming a competitor with other Nashville private schools with solid academic reputations. Some amazing families at this school- that's why people love the school. In a nut shell- people love this school or hate it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

My son graduated from CPA last year went to a very competitive college with 20 hours of advanced placement credit and was awarded a sizable scholarship. I thank CPA for this. He was challenged by his incredible teachers to a level of excellence and rigor that has well prepared him for college and beyond. Thank you CPA for a top-notch education in an environment that cared about him as an individual and encouraged him to be who God intends him to be. We couldn't be more pleased. I highly recommend CPA for academic rigor, excellence in the arts and athletics, and an environment that makes Biblical Truth relevant to students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

I moved my son to CPA in the 4th grade and it was the best thing I could have ever done! It has made a world of difference in his self-confidence. Now that we are in middle school, I love that he can play football and be in the fall musical at the same time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

I go to CPA as a student in 8'th grade. I was new this year and totally was welcomed from the first day. I am very blessed to go to a school that challenges me academically and spiritually. Thanks CPA!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2009

Our family has been to 8 different schools and I have a teenage daughter that strugles with the girl drama and every school she has been to has been all about the nasty materialistic girls there but when my daughter got there I was amazed about how sweet these girls are, you could not find another school with the least drama as Christ Pres!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

The best private school in Nashville without a doubt. Super administration, teachers, athletics and great families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

Almost all of the CPA teachers are top-notch. The athletic programs are excellent, Fine Arts is probably the best in Nashville, and the student body is great. However, the administration is a serious problem. In my opinion , many families have been hurt by over-zealous discipline, and the leadership does not follow scripture in resolving things. I would rather send my kids to a public school in this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

In every aspect, CPA has become one of the most outstanding schools in Nashville. Teachers are well trained and challenging. Fine Arts offerings rival programs in any school anywhere. Biblical worldview is a part of all that is taught and practiced among teachers and students, in every area of the school. I am extremely grateful for a school that prepared my child so well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

One of Nashville and the State of Tennessee's top private school for academics, athletics and building a Christian foundation for any child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

Williamson County is well known for its abundance of top-tier schools. In determining where to place our children, we looked at many public and private schools. However, after looking at a public school that was free, 5 minutes away from our home which afforded public transportation, and CPA which is 25 minutes away and costs $8,500, it was an easy decsion based on educational opportunities, academic excellence, and spiritual formation. We are so happy with our decision, and have even considered moving to be closer to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

CPA has a very kind, compassionate and caring faculty and student body. As a parent, I have nothing bad to say about CPA..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

I went to this school from kindergarten until i graduated. Although it has it's perks ( drama and art program) it has many downfalls. Education wise, it is not as strong as the other local private schools. Religion is always over education in any situation, and sometimes that should not be so. Some of the teachers are absolutely amazing and leave you with things that you will never forget. Overall, CPA could be a lot better, if you want a school that is more like church, this is it, but if you want education for the money, go somewhere else.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 29, 2006

The CPA high school has no actual principal at this time and the current leadership is not acceptable. Unbeknownst to most visitors, CPA has its fine share of bullies. Of course all schools do, but in the local sports world, CPA is most known for its cruel taunting of opposing teams. Taunting, making fun of, and singling out are very real problems with CPA. Many teachers at CPA are brand new out-of-college teachers and sports coaches are also a main part of the teaching faculty. This review is an honest opinion and is by no means meant to bash CPA.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2005

There are many strong private schools in Nashville. Christ Pres is a relatively new school; it just celebrated its 20th anniversary. In that 'short' period of time it has become one of the top-tier schools. It has strong academic programs for children from kindergarten to seniors in high school. It has awesome fine arts and athletics programs as well. This school proves that a Christian worldview and rigorous academic standards can exist in one outstanding program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2004

I have 3 children at CPA. There are many good schools but none that I know of have Christ so firmly set at the front and center of everything. The culture is one of excellence; academics, arts, athletics but most of all 'living and thinking Christianly' which is a key phrase in CPA's mission statement. It is a wonderful community not only for the kids but for the parents and teachers as well. Since my children have started there, they have changed. They are much more concerned about their schoolwork, they are determined to develop themselves in music and athletics but best of all God is very real and very personal to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 7%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2323 Old Hickory Boulevard
Nashville, TN 37215
Phone: (615) 373-9550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Currey Ingram Academy
Brentwood, TN


Akiva School
Nashville, TN


Ensworth School
Nashville, TN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT