Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Donelson Middle School

Public | 5-8 | 781 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2012

The teachers are what make Donelson Middle School great in the capacity that many of them have been teaching there 5-10 years. The downfall to this school is the Administration or Leadership. They keep putting newer principals or leaders in this school when what it needs is someone who is well seasoned and knows how to interact well with the community. The principal is artificially friendly and has no real people skills. The behavior at the school is out of control and I fear for the safety of the students and the teachers at Donelson based on my own personal observations and what I hear from students. There is little to NO parent involvement at Donelson and not even a PTO/PTA. Donelson is an exceptional community with lots of great community leadership, yet Donelson Middle has done a poor job of reaching out and drawing in the community support. There is really no exceptional middle school in the McGavock cluster, but Donelson Middle is one of the better ones which is not saying much at this juncture. Look into charter schools is my advice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2012

All of the the teachers my child has had are fantastic. However, there is no sense of community. The Ptsa, if it exists, does very little. Parents and visitors are not welcome in the building during the school day. My child tells me that students get away with horrible behavior and it makes it difficult for the teachers to teach. In the 4 years my child has been there I've wanted to remove them a few times. It's the teachers that have kept me there. The administration provides no structure, no discipline, has very little to do with the students, and is not encouraging. As a matter of fact, they are down right unpleasant. It seems every year more and more extracurricular sports and fun events have been cut. If the students don't have fun events in school, then they won't enjoy being there! When is metro going to wake up and get an amazing administration in this school? We need our COMMUNITY SCHOOL to represent the community. Some of us have younger children moving up into middle school. It sure would be nice to not feel like we have to look for another school for our children. I , for one, do not feel comfortable sending another child through that enviornment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

It amazes me that my child who is in the 6th grade this year 2010-11 at DMS never has any homework. They give them class time to do their homework, but the teachers should be teaching during their class time not giving them free time every day. I appreciate them giving them a little time at the end of the day to work on homework, but they should have some homework or book reports, something to reinforce what they have learned. The teachers overall are good, but the discipline at the school could be better. Bullying is a realy problem at DMS, but I guess that is at every middle school. The PTSO is not active, and if the parents are not involved then the students are not going to be either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

This is not your average hand a kid a book and they will learn kind of school. This school is better for kids that need to learn out loud. My child went to Two Rivers for two years then Donelson for two and despite test scores learned more at Donelson. It is not a good school for kids that need quiet. It is very disorderly and easy to lose site of goals. It's my job to keep my kids focused and their job to teach. They do teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

Teachers are unfriendly, lack of empathy, unclean and students are disruptive. My child is changing schools asap.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2008

We are very disappointed. Although the music program is outstanding (band and strings), there are deficiencies in the quality of the curiculum across most of the subjects, especially math and reading. We hope that the administration will also make strides to improve or enforce their discipline guidelines. The disruptions in the classroom from lack of control of the children is I think the largest reason the school's performance has not improved over the last few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

I am shocked to see the parents in this school give 4 out of 5 stars to this school. This school has been under 'improvement 1' for the past 3 years. Parents,please, do your homework! Poor performance was attributed to 'low income' and 'minority' and yet if you look acroos to another part of town where some 70-90% are minorities, some of these schools have out performed Donelson MS.


Posted February 23, 2008

Great teachers and very nice school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

No discipline for students from the administration
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

I went to dms for two years it was a great experience. I had realy good teachers , but the best teachers were in the 8th grade and there names are ms.Johns, ms.Souder, ms.Mitchell, mr.Patterson,and mr.Heim. They made my last year there the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2008

This school is very good. I fell in love with the 8th grade teachers. They really make my child feel comfortable in school it means a lot to me Mr. Patterson, Ms Mitchell, Mrs Newcomb, Ms Johns, you guys are the best at what you do. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

I can't say enough good things about the 8th grade at Donelson. Ms Johns is the best dressed teacher I've aver met. I particularly like here sleeveless dresses. Mrs. Newcomb is the most knowledgeable Language ! teacher in the school. Dr. Souder teachers grammar like nobody's business and Ms. Brown contacts parents so often the 9 button doesn't work anymore. Add to that the mathematics genius the eminates from 100 (Ms. Mitchell) and the overall greatness that is 109 (Mr. Patterson) this 8th grade is the anchor to a school that has served the Donelson community for the past 7 years. Thank you Donelson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2007

I am now interring my fourth year as a parent at Donelson Middle School. At the starting of my daughter's 5th grade year there I was pondering wether to let her go there, but with the experiences she has had and the friends she has made I don't know why I ever thought twice about letting her go there. I have to brag on the teachers they spend time explaining and helping every child until they get it and for that I am truly thankful. Another thing I love about Donelson is the music program. My Daughter has been in Band since day one and loves it. Thank you so much Sam Oliva and Keith Heim for giving our kids the gift of music. As my daughter is sad to let Donleson go, We are very proud and eager to pass on this Wonderful School to more students. THANKS DMS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2007

Its great there are alot of cool ppl and we have awesume dances and spring flings and our principal roxxxx! from Bethany Okeke
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2007

This school is the worst school for having subs. My son has had sub throughout the whole school year at least 2-3 different subs a week. Deviating from the lesson plans each time there is a sub hurst our childrens ability to learn their assignments effectively. Lack of supervision of these kids is hurting the kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2007

Donelson Middle has some good points but I am concerned over the administration lack of control and school discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
27%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
26%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
15%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
31%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
21%

2010

 
 
26%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
3%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
31%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
37%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

174 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White53%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students39%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
White46%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students38%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
White51%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students74%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
White54%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learners8%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students40%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students34%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
White51%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learners8%

Social Studies

All Students74%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities48%
English language learners50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students36%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students70%
African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students65%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students16%
African American9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
White21%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students26%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
White32%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students38%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
White48%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students64%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
72%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students76%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 67%
Black 40% 24%
Hispanic 11% 6%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Fencing
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

110 Stewarts Ferry Pk
Nashville, TN 37214
Phone: (615) 884-4080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Holy Rosary Academy
Nashville, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT