Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Head Middle Mathematics / Science Magnet

Public | PK-K, 5-8 | 618 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

My daughter started school in 5th grade and she did not really like it. Now she is on 6th grade and moving to MLK. She loves her school. Some teachers are well prepared, friendly and encouraging. One teacher in 5th grade was rude and not very supportive. Despite this my daughter had advanced TCAPs. My daughter had a challenging 6th grade and talks very positive about her teachers this year. She has the opportunity to be in the math team too. most likely she will be ready to take algebra in 7th grade. This is not an academic magnet school like Meigs. The main difference is that this school takes neighborhood students that sometimes are not well prepared. Those students with advance or proficiency TCAPs move to MLK. We got a letter and it seems that next year qualifying students will move to MLK until the end of 8th grade instead of the end of 6th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

Im looking forward to going there next year my cousin goes there and I have heard amazing things about this school and looked the school up like 100 times I really like that the time is 8:00 to 3:00 which is awesome and because I saw how many activites they have and how Vanderbilt scholars come every week to help in science which is my dream college so I am looing forward towards this experience.


Posted September 24, 2013

My child is in 5th grade and the last couple of months have been great. She has moved from a good elementary school to this school and is performing equally good because of great teachers. I am glad she is in this school. The new principal Ms. Williams (started this year with my child) is equally efficient. Parents are equally involved with the activities in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2013

Head Magnet Middle school is a good school, but like every other school, they have some negatives. I am currently in 6th grade at this school. They stress math and science a bit more than the other arts unlike Meigs Magnet. VSVS ( a group of students from vanderbilt ) comes every week and does hands on science activities with us. For math, we enter numerous math competitions. I recently participated in a math competition (MBA) because i was on Head Magnet's wonderful math team. Not all teachers are very good. Some don't teach, don't even have lesson plans, and don't enforce the skills enough. They also offer an encore program ( I enroll in it) which is for the gifted students. Academically, we do okay. We do a lot better in sports than in academics. The school is not excellent...but okay....


Posted October 13, 2010

Because it gives challenging opportunities to pre-teens who need it the most.


Posted August 15, 2009

My son is starting his second year at Head Magnet and we have been very pleased. The principal Dr. Carr is really on the ball. If there is a problem, she handles it right away. Ms. Nishimoto is the best science and math teacher in Nashville! Looking forward to another great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

Head is one of the best schools.I go to Head next year MLK.I've learned alot from my teachers.Head has a lot of fun activities.Ban,strings,spanish,drama,art,and others.I love my school and i play 1st clarinet in the head middle band.You should try this cool school!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2009

We are finishing our 5th grade year at Head Middle. It has been a great year. The curriculum is challenging and the kids are excelling. My son was in advanced classes and in band. He has made new friends and adjusted to the middle school well. Our math and science teacher was in especially good and did lots of fun experiments with the kids. Vandy students came to the science class as well. Facility isn't the greatest... nor the grounds... but what's going on inside is very good. Consider this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

I am currently a 7th grader at HMS and I think its a great school. The academics are very challenging which is good for a student if the like to be challenged. All the teachers are mostly nice and really like to let the students learn in positive and fun ways.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2007

Head Magnet is a truly superior school. We left private school for middle school at Head. They recognize and cultivate the talents in each student. He is nurtured, but not coddled and the classes are academically challenging even for the brightest kids. I am very, very pleased with the quality of teachers. I am certain that my son will be well prepared for a vigorous college education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2007

Head is a terrific school,you learn a lot a the teachers are very nice!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2006

Head Middle Magnet is a good school its filled with good teachers and a good principle. Head has a lot of academic programs like encore for younger kids in the 5th and 6th grade for children in upper class as in 7th and 8th grade they will be able to work on their high school credit.Head qualifies you to go to Martin Luther King if your tcap scores are high. Head has many extracurricular activities for your child to be in.Like Band,Orchestra,Chorus,Art,Computer,Lab,Forensics,Gym,Cheerleading,Volleyball,Football,Basketball,Dance team,Wrestling,Soccer,Track. So I hope you pick the right choice because head is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2005

I am a current 7th grader of head and i think that it is one of the best schools in Nashville.They do a very good job in balancing academics,discipline and extra activities.I would definately recommend this school to anyone.The only problem might be that it is in the bad area of nashville but overall its pretty safe.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
0%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
31%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
35%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
African American39%
Asian79%
Hispanic50%
White74%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students77%
African American62%
Asian95%
Hispanic80%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students82%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students86%
African American77%
Asian86%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students91%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students55%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students79%
African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
African American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students59%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students78%
African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
95%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 58% 23%
White 31% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 2%
Hispanic 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1830 Jo Johnston Av
Nashville, TN 37203
Phone: (615) 329-8160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Vincent School
Nashville, TN


Lead Academy
Nashville, TN



The Keystone School
Nashville, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT