Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hickman Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 541 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2014

NOT HAPPY! My daughter just move in the school zone. This is my grandson 1st year in school, and boy has he been excited! He makes good grades and love to learn. His mom has been preparing him for this change in school (Hickman)He was ready!!!Here we are 3 days in the new school and he don't want to go back...He's just a kindergarten. I am up at 2:53 a.m. concern with how my baby spirit is crushed! He is coming out of this class 1st thing in the morning. In hopes to get it right! The teacher gave me a bad perception when we entered her class... I understand it was in the middle of teaching, but nothing and I mean NOTHING was welcoming about that entrance... I was hoping it was me... But it wasn't and my grandson excitement about learning is way to important to us... I will be there in the morning changing his class...Oh by the way, if I didn't give his supplies to you to give to other students; that means They belong to him...the nerve of this teacher taking something from my baby and then give it to other students... That hurt his feelings... I know he is in "k" but you have already underestimated his intelligence. signed----> UNHAPPY GRANDMOM
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

HICKMAN HAWKS is an EXCELLENT SCHOOL! My daughter has attended Hickman since the beginning and she has loved all of her teachers. They care about the kids and ensure that they parents are aware of all activities going on with the school. The Principal leadership is outstanding. I could name certain teachers that are truly outstanding but without ALL TEACHERS it would not be a HICKMAN HAWK SCHOOL! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

I love Hickman Elementary, they take pride in knowing families as well as students. If you walk in and they never seen you before, they get concerned and find out who you are. Even when they know you they still ask for identification and that suites me just fine I'll show my ID a million times if it means I know my child and the other children are safe. Thank You
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

We moved into the Hickman zoning about a month before school started this year and had no knowledge of the school. My son has had excellent teaching and a good environment to make new friends, which can be hard as an incoming 4th grader. I haven't been involved as a volunteer this year, but any interaction with the office has been efficient and pleasant, and Dr. Critchlow is obviously a committed leader. We've been very happy and I feel fortunate to have had such a good experience as a parent of a new student - thank you, Hickman!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2012

Dr Critchlow, the principle is great. Most teachers are wonderful. My kids have never be in trouble but I have seen and heard certain teachers yelled at the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

My child loves this school and the teachers are awesome! Everyone there is nice and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2010

I am the parent of a former Hickman Student. He is now in Donelson Middle School and is doing GREAT thanks to all the hard work of the Hickman Teachers as well as the work ethic they invoke and expect of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

I love Hickman! It is more than a school, it is a family. My oldest son is in 6th grade now but he went to Hickman K-4. After K we actually based our move to Hermitage(3 miles away but new school zone) on if our son would get a special transfer. We got the transfer and our youngest son also got a special transfer and he is now in 2nd grade. The staff is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

My children have been going to this school for 3 years. We love it . Everyone is so kind and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

Great school!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is my grand-daughters 5th year,this is the only school she has gone to. She has had wonderful teachers every year. The staff are all great. She will leaving after this year to go into the 5th garde. I hope her next school is as great as Hickman has been. Thank-You all for my grand-daughters great education she has recieved. Darlene Horn
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2005

Wonderful school. Great faculty and staff. So happy with the education my son is receiving. Thanks for all you do. Angel Zaffino
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
21%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
29%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learners31%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students46%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners15%

Science

All Students65%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners46%

Social Studies

All Students90%
African American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learners85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students29%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students36%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students44%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students86%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 67%
Black 37% 23%
Hispanic 10% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

112 Stewarts Ferry Pk
Nashville, TN 37214
Phone: (615) 884-4020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tenn School For Blind
Nashville, TN


Holy Rosary Academy
Nashville, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT