Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Linden Waldorf School

Private | PK-8 | 149 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Nashville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $390,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 9, 2013

Linden waldorf school is a wonderful school. I am a current 8th grader. i have been going to this school since 5th grade. LWS has truly loving and caring teachers who take time to make sure that each student truly understands the material. My teacher is wonderful teacher. she is the best teacher I've ever had. I love this school so much.


Posted March 17, 2012

This school should be avoided if you are truly looking for a loving, inclusive, globally conscious school. The culture is stated as being child centered, globally inclusive, heart focused, spirit oriented. But it is not the actual culture. Rather it is excluive, rigid, authoritarian, occult, isolating. While my children attended I witnessed a new student, a kind, sweet child with a family that seemed very loving was ostracized, bullied, treated in a most hateful manner because they were unique. That was the final straw for my family. We were never told of the culture of openness meant only open to what they think and nothing else. They say, advertise, pretend to be holistic, creative, loving but rather they are anything but unless you meet their exact specifications. And those occult, Wiccan expectations are and were never discussed. If that is your thing, then peace, love, and hopefully your children will be happy. But if not your children will be abused and made to feel very unwelcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

wonderful community, the kids love to learn at this school, atmosphere if awesome
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Great model that gets kids out of their heads and back in their bodies to instill a real love of learning that lasts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

Simple - My 8 year old have been at the school for 5 plus years. Along with her great reading, math, and social skills, she looks forward to seeing her teacher and friends every day. She is highly motivated and loves nature and learning in a trusting and nurturing environment. She has just published - yes I said published her 1st book, and we are looking for many great things to come of her. The Linden Waldorf School has also place all if its graduating classes in top notch schools around the city and region and they have been performing at the top of their respective classes. Great place to visit. Check out Visitor Wednesdays and or attend our annual Elve's Faire November 6, 2010.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

The school and its approach to learning (waldorf education) is an excellent environment for children to learn, develop a strong foundation and self confidence. Along with multiple languages, string instruments and art. My kids love school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

Our small school is a real community. The Waldorf curriculum brings new challenges at just the right times in the right ways. My daughter was deeply immersed in stories before she ever began to read, and she incorporated an understanding of numbers through rhyme and rhythm before she ever wrote out a math problem. She spends time outdoors each day (rain or shine), has learned recorder and a string instrument, and she knows how to use her hands, whether knitting and crocheting, woodworking, watercolor painting, or writing beautiful cursive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

Linden Waldorf is an exceptional place where children are challanged not just academically, but personnally as well. There is an open and accepting atmosphere, and a fostering of creativity. Students are encouraged to be accountable for their actions and empowered to make changes in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Linden is a beacon of light in today's waters. This holistic approach to education is based on the teachings of Rudolph Steiner. Children are educated through oral teachings, art, and music. Handwork and play are a part of each day - from preschoolers to the 8th grade. Character building is taught through the pedagogical use of myths, legends, fairy tales and more. I cannot imagine my children growing up in with any other form of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

It's a great place for learning and creativity for children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Gentle and idealistic approach to education. All is about beauty and truth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

My daughters loved it. They are in high school now and are very thoughtful and aware citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Linden Waldorf School is a school where children are taught to find the joy in learning. They are allowed to enjoy the great outdoors and learn to use their hands as well as their hearts and minds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Curriculum for each grade corresponds with the child's development. Children are given a variety of opportunities to use theri artistic and thinking skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Because it's a community and a great curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

amazing environment where creativity is nurtured and applauded
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

A beautiful atmosphere that allows children their childhood.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 20, 2010

Linden is the best place to let your children be children and they learn a great deal along the way!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Linden Waldorf School nurtures the child holistically, in all aspects of his/her development. A magical environment that cherishes childhood and releases compassionate and thinking young adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

It is difficult to explain how great this school is. We have four children going to Linden Waldorf and all four children are not only learning a great deal more than their previous school, but they love it. They no longer associate school with stressful, repetitive work and have regained their love of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 69%
Asian 6% N/A
Hispanic 4% 5%
Black 2% 25%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • CBE

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Waldorf
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3201 Hillsboro Pike
Nashville, TN 37215
Phone: (615) 354-0270

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Bernard Academy
Nashville, TN



Lipscomb Academy
Nashville, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT