Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Nashville, TN
Students enrolled: 185

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Linden Waldorf School 1

Posted November 07, 2014
- a parent
Don t be fooled. Linden Waldorf School is deceptive and harmful to children and families. My family's experience here was nightmarish and included orchestrated emotional and psychological abuse by teachers, overt shunning and shaming of students and families, rampant unchecked bullying, and poor quality teachers. Before choosing this school, you should thoroughly investigate its religious underpinnings. Google search Waldorf beliefs, Waldorf criticisms and Waldorf scandals. The uninitiated should understand that Waldorf education is based on anthroposophy, a spiritual science created by Austrian philosopher Rudolf Steiner. Anthroposophy revolves around spiritual advancement through reincarnation and karma; a central idea is that souls progress from dark-skinned races to light-skinned. The purpose of Waldorf schools is to guide the reincarnation of children s souls. Most parents don t realize it, but anthroposophy determines EVERYTHING that happens here, from how children are assessed to the superstitious avoidance of technology to the color of paint on classroom walls. Cleanliness and safety are ignored, classrooms are roach-infested, and secrecy is paramount. Bad karma.

Linden Waldorf School 5

Posted July 09, 2013
- a community member
Linden waldorf school is a wonderful school. I am a current 8th grader. i have been going to this school since 5th grade. LWS has truly loving and caring teachers who take time to make sure that each student truly understands the material. My teacher is wonderful teacher. she is the best teacher I've ever had. I love this school so much.


Linden Waldorf School 1

Posted March 17, 2012
- a parent
This school should be avoided if you are truly looking for a loving, inclusive, globally conscious school. The culture is stated as being child centered, globally inclusive, heart focused, spirit oriented. But it is not the actual culture. Rather it is excluive, rigid, authoritarian, occult, isolating. While my children attended I witnessed a new student, a kind, sweet child with a family that seemed very loving was ostracized, bullied, treated in a most hateful manner because they were unique. That was the final straw for my family. We were never told of the culture of openness meant only open to what they think and nothing else. They say, advertise, pretend to be holistic, creative, loving but rather they are anything but unless you meet their exact specifications. And those occult, Wiccan expectations are and were never discussed. If that is your thing, then peace, love, and hopefully your children will be happy. But if not your children will be abused and made to feel very unwelcome.

Linden Waldorf School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2010
- a parent
wonderful community, the kids love to learn at this school, atmosphere if awesome

Linden Waldorf School 0
no rating

Posted September 27, 2010
- a parent
Great model that gets kids out of their heads and back in their bodies to instill a real love of learning that lasts!


Linden Waldorf School 5

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
Simple - My 8 year old have been at the school for 5 plus years. Along with her great reading, math, and social skills, she looks forward to seeing her teacher and friends every day. She is highly motivated and loves nature and learning in a trusting and nurturing environment. She has just published - yes I said published her 1st book, and we are looking for many great things to come of her. The Linden Waldorf School has also place all if its graduating classes in top notch schools around the city and region and they have been performing at the top of their respective classes. Great place to visit. Check out Visitor Wednesdays and or attend our annual Elve's Faire November 6, 2010.

Linden Waldorf School 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
The school and its approach to learning (waldorf education) is an excellent environment for children to learn, develop a strong foundation and self confidence. Along with multiple languages, string instruments and art. My kids love school.

Linden Waldorf School 5

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
Our small school is a real community. The Waldorf curriculum brings new challenges at just the right times in the right ways. My daughter was deeply immersed in stories before she ever began to read, and she incorporated an understanding of numbers through rhyme and rhythm before she ever wrote out a math problem. She spends time outdoors each day (rain or shine), has learned recorder and a string instrument, and she knows how to use her hands, whether knitting and crocheting, woodworking, watercolor painting, or writing beautiful cursive.


Linden Waldorf School 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
Linden Waldorf is an exceptional place where children are challanged not just academically, but personnally as well. There is an open and accepting atmosphere, and a fostering of creativity. Students are encouraged to be accountable for their actions and empowered to make changes in the world.

Linden Waldorf School 5

Posted September 20, 2010
- a parent
Linden is a beacon of light in today's waters. This holistic approach to education is based on the teachings of Rudolph Steiner. Children are educated through oral teachings, art, and music. Handwork and play are a part of each day - from preschoolers to the 8th grade. Character building is taught through the pedagogical use of myths, legends, fairy tales and more. I cannot imagine my children growing up in with any other form of education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Linden Waldorf School
3201 Hillsboro Pike, Nashville, TN  37215
(615) 354-0270
Last modified Linden Waldorf School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Linden Waldorf School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top