Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Savior Lutheran Academy

Private | PK-8 | 125 students

Recognizing student strengths and developing the whole child.

 

Living in Nashville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $273,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2014

My school offers small class size and personalized teaching to children of all skill levels. OSLA is a wonderful Christian school where students and parents are treated like family. It has all the newest technology and is very safe...my children feel very secure every day they go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

I have a son in Kindergarten and a daughter in preschool this year and I am so grateful that they are here in this school. The teachers and staff are genuine, caring people. They truly live to glorify the Lord and spread the gospel of Jesus Christ. The teachers let me know if there is any problem with either of my children and I feel like the lines of communication are always open. My children both have healthy friendships with other kids who come from great families and I couldn't be happier with what is happening here socially and academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2014

OSLA is a loving Christian school that provides a strong education. The teachers take the time to get to know every student, and the small class sizes helps every child thrive. OSLA has such a warm and welcoming environment; the kids love coming to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

OSLA is a wonderful environment for educating my child. I give thanks to God each day for the love and learning my child does there. My child went from struggling and being behind grade level in reading to loving it and is now above grade level!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

OSLA is centered on Christ and His holy Word. The students are taught by teachers who use research based methods and effective and meaningful lessons. Where other schools may use typical methods of teach, test, then move on, OSLA focuses on the students' needs by discovering learning styles and working to bring out the best in each and every student. I love being able to share Christ openly and freely as well as listening to students talk about their faith as well. OSLA is a phenomenal school based on Biblical truth and foundation (Ps. 11:3). It is truly a wonderful place to receive a great education and be a part of the Lord's work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 24, 2013

We have been involved with Our Savior Lutheran Academy(OSLA) since 2009. There are a lot of private schools in the area with strong academic programs like OSLA; however where OSLA stands out is that it is also an extremely nurturing environment. As a working parent that is important to me. I know my boys are not only learning but are also receiving love and support throughout the day. I trust the teachers and support staff implicitly. The small class sizes means my children receive individual attention from their teacher everyday. This allows the teacher to meet each child at his or her level so the struggling child is never left behind while the high achiever is never held back. Then there is the simple fact that my boys actually get upset when we pick them up early from After Care. They love the school! And I love that they are not just learning academics but core values as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

I am so very thankful for OSLA. From the moment you walk into the door, you can feel a positive enviroment for children. The staff are always helpful and provide attention to each child individualy setting the students up for sucess. The advancement of technology is remarkable for being such a small school. The board wants children to be kept up to date with technology and make sure that each student from Kindergarten to 8th are knowledgeable for their future. I'm so very greatful that we found OSLA and look forward to many years there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

My middle school child attended OSLA for four years. The teachers, office staff, and principal were instrumental in providing a loving environment. I was most impressed with the teachers willingness to help each child grow academically and emotionally. OSLA offered a variety of opportunities that helped increase my child's self-esteem. Those opportunities were in - sports, drama, art, academics, clubs, bible, and a loving environment. My child enjoyed taking educational fieldtrips with her school friends and teachers. My child enjoyed group trips with her school friends and the OSLA church youth group. The atmosphere is one of total acceptance. When we started at OSLA my child was unsure of herself, I guess middle school is a challenged for most kids. I had the opportunity to place my child in a bigger, more expensive private school. I decided OSLA would be a better fit for her. Middle school can be tough for most kids. I didn't want my child to deal with a new school environment, and a large classroom all at the same time. This fall my child will be attending the largest private school in Nashville. She is prepared because I made the right choice to send her to OSLA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

I could not be happier with Our Savior! I have 2 boys that attend and the attention that our family has been given, from both the teachers and administration, has been second to none! The school is is so advanced in technology offering personal laptops to all students, second gtrade on up and smart boarnds in every classroom! Academically my boys are challenged and continue to hit heights I never dreamed possible at their age, and spiritually, their lives have been so enriched! Could not recommend this school more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2009

This school has made a tremendous difference in my son's life as well as our entire family's life. We couldn't ask for more!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

I have three kids that are currently attending OSLA. All 3 love the school and as parents we couldn't be happier with OSLA. They have Smartboards in every classroom, laptops with 2nd graders on up, and have been ahead of the curve technologically the whole time we have been there. The teaching staff has never been stronger and the church has been incredibly supportive of the Academy. What are you waiting for? Get your kids enrolled!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

OSLA has proven itself to be a loving, nurturing, Christian environment with top-notch teachers and curriculum. Our daughter has shown remarkable growth in both personal character development and in academic success. It truly is Nashville's best-kept secret! We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

Wonderful Staff and environment! My daughter loves going to school at OSLA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2006

I am increasingly amazed by the quality of education that my two children are receiving at OSLA. The teachers are so caring and the small class sizes have helped my kids excel in their studies. This school is definitely the best kept secret in Nashville.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 67%
Black 5% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 7%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Wendy Morris
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Fax number
  • (615) 833-3761

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • AHG
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
115
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
135

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$2000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
factstuitionaid.com

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lipscomb Academy
Franklin Christian Academy
Father Ryan
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5110 Franklin Pike
Nashville, TN 37220
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 833-1500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Oak Hill School
Nashville, TN



Franklin Road Academy
Nashville, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT