Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sylvan Park Paideia Design Center

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

I love this school , loving teachers especialh miss Gerson, my douther is very happy at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Very pleased with our sons transition to public school. The Paideia learning method is nurturing to these young minds. We couldnt be happier. Our son is in 1st grade and has Miss Gerson, but the whole first grade team is awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My nephew attends and my family is very pleased with his progress. Nothing but praise to be said, the staff is grade A with parents and students. submitted by Kyle A.


Posted September 16, 2013

I was truly shocked to see any negative reviews of this school! I currently have a second grader enrolled here and his older brother (currently 7th grade at Meigs) attended before him so I have been involved with Sylvan Park for a very long time. I simply could not be any happier!!! Both of my children have excelled due to the wonderfully caring and dedicated faculty and staff. Parental involvement is amazing. It is truly a neighborhood school with high standards for both students and teachers. Any negative experience resulting from enrollment here could only come from the parental side. There is NOTHING negative to say from the faculty or administrative side. Walk in the door and you will be greeted by smiling, happy staff and find smiling, happy children who are well prepared for middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

We have really enjoyed this school, My son is in first grade and has Miss Gerson. I must say she is grade A with the children, very nuturing. Kindergarden and first grade are the pillars to reading and writing. She comes up with ways to make it fun and learn. I also love!!! the new principle Miss Blankenship. Very down to earth and easy to engage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

We absolutely love this school. The teachers and PTO are incredible. They do so many fun, hands on projects, and if you compare metro schools they rank in the top academically. Couldn't ask for a better kindergarten experience than what we've had with Ms. Riddle at Sylvan Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

This school is excellent! We relocated to Nashville from Northern California a few months ago with a child in kindergarten. We were looking for a small school that's (a) public, (b) academically excellent, and (c) culturally diverse. We certainly found it in Sylvan Park. The kindergarten teachers are all excellent, and principal is a legend in Nashville education circles, and the parents care and are all involved. I love that I can walk into the school each day to see what's going on. This really is a strong community, and the Sylvan Park Paideia Design Center really is a lovely school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

My daughter started kindergarten this year, and her teacher is Ms. Manns. Ms. Manns is an absolutely wonderful teacher, and thanks to her, my daughter can practically read just halfway through the school year. I'm not completely comfortable with the school's curriculum, since a lot of what the kids do is over their heads and seems to be a waste of time, but Ms. Manns keeps a healthy balance of doing what the school requires and using her own wonderful methods of teaching to get great things accomplished. We'll see how next year goes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2012

Horrible! My daughter cried almost everyday. Now she's happy she is out of there and never wants to see mrs Wanda again.. They lost a highly gifted student. They need better staff. If it wasn't for Ms. Mann she would have had a worse time there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

My son is currently attending kindergarten at Sylvan Park (and has Mrs. Allinder for a teacher). I couldn't ask for a more nurturing, loving and educational environment for him. The "special" (Spanish, Music, Art and PE) really round out the entire experience. The more involved you are, the more you will love the school. It's a real community experience. The teachers, the staff, and of course the amazing Mrs. Cheadle (principal) make it the place to be. I adore this school and Mrs. Allinder is amazing with teaching the children, loving thelso making each feel special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

Our daughter went to Kindergarten here and she was miserable!! Very little help. I spent the whole year defending her behaviors. Now she is in a Montessori school excelling and happy!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

Our daughter just finished her Kindergarten year at Sylvan Park and we were very pleased with our experience. Communication between the teachers, principal, and parents was great, and there was a lot of parent involvement. Our daughter thrived socially and academically and I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Great teachers, great principal, great kids. A well rounded, diverse school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2010

The paideia philosophy believes in parent involvement. It introduces music and art, and foreign language at an early age. It is a positive environment for our children. Character building is part of the curriculum. It is just a fun school and my daughter loves it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

We love Sylvan Park. My first grade son is thriving. The staff is warm and makes me feel welcome all the time. My son is high strung but has felt loved by all the teachers there. And because of this, he enjoys learning. The parent involvement is above par as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

THey have the best staff and PTO! My three sons have enjoyed their experience there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

i got one word for you horible
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2008

What a great community school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

I love Sylvan Park. The teachers and the principal are the best and are really interested in your child and their success. They strive to maintain teachers with different styles to help find the best fit for individual success. They have PE everyday and recess most days which seems to be unusual these days but is very important. They also have a strong music, spanish, and art programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
29%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
39%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students62%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students80%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students88%
African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students57%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students64%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students84%
African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 67%
Black 25% 23%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Green School (2005)
  • Paideia Design Center (2003)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 a
School end time
  • 3:00 p
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Evalina Cheadle
Fax number
  • (615) 292-5154

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4801 Utah Av
Nashville, TN 37209
Phone: (615) 298-8423

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






The Ensworth School
Nashville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT